We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #61 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in an excellent location”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I like JW Marriott Hotels as I always find them to be high quality and was not disappointed with the JW Marriott New Orleans during my two night stay. The hotel is very well located and a short walk from the French Quarter, the waterfront and Harrahs Casino.

The room was modern and very nice with a view overlooking the city and Jackson Square.

I did not eat in the restaurant, but had a few drinks in the bar which was very pleasant.

The hotel was in good condition but a little dated in places and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

If I were to visit New Orleans again, I would stay at the JW Marriott depending on the room rate.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyJsy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    824
    305
    96
    48
See reviews for
368
698
73
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

One again, my wife and I spent our annual Memorial Day visit to NOLA at the JW Marriott. It's clean, comforable and relatively quiet for such a large building. Marriott beds are great! My wife loves hangin' out by the pool. I find the staff to be exceptional. (So many of them asked me how I feel, or tell me to have a nice day.) The workers at the reception area, William Jenkins and Janerio V. will go out of their way to find you information or help you check in/out. (Yes it's their job, but they really seem to enjoy what they do.)
One morning,I had the breakfast buffet dounstairs at Shula's. There were only a few customers. Since I ordered the buffet, I basically waited on myself, got my own coffee...etc. When I asked for a check, the waiter told me that the breakfest was "no charge". When I asked for an explanation, he apologized for "not giving me enough attention." I was amazed. It's an indication of how this hotel values customer satifaction. I love staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Readyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Convenient location near Bourbon Street. Everything within walking distance. Trolly stops out front and around the corner. We spent five days in a great room on the 29th floor with an incredible view of the Mississippi river and the French Quarter. The room had a comfortable bed, was nicely decorated and had a LCD TV. Good water pressure & A/C. The elevators were fast, never had to wait longer than 30 seconds. On the downside, there is no WiFi in the room, only wired access. Wifi is only available in the lobby area. No guest fridge – mini bar only. There is only valet parking available and the entrance is behind the building on Common Street. The cost is $32 but that is to be expected in a city with limited parking space availability. The only problem that we encountered was with our bathtub. It was recently reglazed but it wasn’t done properly so it was peeling off like a bad manicure. It didn’t bother us because it was so hot in New Orleans that we just wanted a shower. The front desk seemed surprised when we informed them about it. We were told that they were going to look into it and get back to us. Have yet to hear anything from the hotel management.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LostTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This hotel is in right on Canal Street, two block from Bourbon street. This is a very nice hotel with very comfortable beds. We were on the concierge floor with access to the club room. Unfortunately, the club room was closed on Sunday. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Came to this hotel with a friend for Jazzfest. Nice location, beautiful hotel, great staff. Only wished they had a hot tub to soak our aching feet after walking so much. We dipped our feet in the rooftop pool. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joynceddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute
Level Contributor
126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This hotel is right off Canal street, just a block or two from the French Quarter. Room service was good and there are local restaurants that will deliver food to the hotel if you don't feel like going out. There was no minibar fridge in the room. The front entrance to the hotel sits on a side street, but the shuttle bus actually picked us up at the Sheraton which is in the next block on Canal. I found housekeeping a bit slow as I returned from the morning session of my meeting to find the room had not been service yet. The decor was very pretty throughout the hotel. The beds were comfortable and the rooms quiet. I was disappointed that the WiFi in the room was not free so I had to lug my laptop down to the lobby to connect to the internet. There was a computer station available for printing boarding passes but again it was inconveniently in the front lobby and it was somewhat problematic. All in all a nice hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmbakerphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We had a room on the 30th floor, over looking the French Quarter and the River. You do not need to stay any closer to the French Quarter, you basicall walk across the street! (Canal).

Great room, frig in room. ONLY complaint is NO wifi!!!! What??? It was a
PAIN IN THE REAR to have us both on the web, we took turns. We had just left
a 100 year old hotel that had FREE wifi! So....THIS WAS NOT GOOD.

I would stay here again but they need wifi!!!

We didn't eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 162 in New Orleans
3,380 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#83 of 162 in New Orleans
2,186 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing