We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott New Orleans
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$179
$153
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$117
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$140
$117
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$249
$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$137
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$99
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$138
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$197
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,527)
Filter reviews
2,528 results
Traveler rating
1,104
891
352
113
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,104
891
352
113
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanal streetgreat locationthe executive loungecorner roomfrench quartercommon streetlobby barbourbon stfitness centervery nice hoteljazz festvalet parkingthe entire staffmardi grastwo blocksgarden districtjackson square
Filter
Updating list...
2,197 - 2,202 of 2,528 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This hotel is right off Canal street, just a block or two from the French Quarter. Room service was good and there are local restaurants that will deliver food to the hotel if you don't feel like going out. There was no minibar fridge in the room. The front entrance to the hotel sits on a side street, but the shuttle bus actually picked us up at the Sheraton which is in the next block on Canal. I found housekeeping a bit slow as I returned from the morning session of my meeting to find the room had not been service yet. The decor was very pretty throughout the hotel. The beds were comfortable and the rooms quiet. I was disappointed that the WiFi in the room was not free so I had to lug my laptop down to the lobby to connect to the internet. There was a computer station available for printing boarding passes but again it was inconveniently in the front lobby and it was somewhat problematic. All in all a nice hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmbakerphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We had a room on the 30th floor, over looking the French Quarter and the River. You do not need to stay any closer to the French Quarter, you basicall walk across the street! (Canal).

Great room, frig in room. ONLY complaint is NO wifi!!!! What??? It was a
PAIN IN THE REAR to have us both on the web, we took turns. We had just left
a 100 year old hotel that had FREE wifi! So....THIS WAS NOT GOOD.

I would stay here again but they need wifi!!!

We didn't eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I travel a lot for business. But at made a trip that was purely pleasure. And what a pleasure it was! We love New Orleans and decided to get married during Jazz Fest 2011 in what I consider one of the most amazing cities in the world. Everything about the JW Marriott was fabulous! Starting with the amazing staff (especially William). It was great to always be greeted upon our return to the hotel with such a warm welcome. The front desk staff were always professional and very helpful. The rooms were large and comfortable - and always cleaned to perfection, the hotels common areas (lobby, bars ...) were a great place to sit and relax and the location couldn't have been more perfect. The location was close enough to all the wildness of Bourbon Street to walk in less than 8 minutes, but far enough away to be able to relax and have some quite. We are surely planning on staying at this specific Marriott again and would recommend it to our friends and family

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JilleefromPhilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stay for 3 nights at the JW Marriott for the second weekend of Jazz Fest. The lobby are of the hotel is very attractive as are the rooms. However, it was the staff that really made our stay at this hotel enjoyable. Upon arriving at the hotel we were checked in and up to our room within 5 minutes. We heading out to the French Quarter to wander around for awhile. A couple of hours laters we returned to the hotel to get ready for our dinner reservations. We stopped by the front desk to see if we could get a key for the mini bar, they said there actually wasn't a mini bar in our room but they could send up a refrigerator for us to use. We said that would be great and headed to our room to change for dinner. Within 5 minutes a refrigerator was delievered and plugged in, so we headed to dinner. We had a leisurely dinner and some time on Bourbon Street before returning to our room. When we got into the room, about 5 hours later, we checked the refrigerator and discovered it hadn't gotten cold at all. We called the front desk and within minutes they were there with another refrigerator. It was delievered by the same employee, David as the first one. He apologized several times and said the new refrigerator should be cooling down quickly. Rather than leaving right away he waited a few minutes to see it the fan on the new refrigerator came on, it didn't. So he called the maintence office who sent someone else up to see what was going on. Turns out the electrical socket was bad and after switching sockets the fan on the refrigerator came on instantly. David again apologized and insisted on sending up a cheese tray and bottle of wine for the inconvience. We finally agreed and about 10 minutes the cheese tray and bottle of wine were personally delievered by David. This was not something that had to be done but we really appreciated it and this is one of the reason we will stay at the JW Marriott next time we are in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

This place has a great location on Canal St, just steps from the Quarter. The bedrooms are spacious and well appointed, everything is clean, and the beds are very comfortable. Staff was nice and attentive. However, the internet service was the biggest disappointment. We were told the--way overpriced--charge of $14.95 was good for 24 hours. However both days the connection ended at noon. Since check-in starts at 3 pm, there is no way you can ever get it for 24 hours (we actually checked in late in the evening so it was only good for a few hours). Moreover, the "self-service business center" is a joke. You "rent" computers and pay 49 cents for each minute online. Quite ridiculous for such a big hotel where I'm sure many conferences and business meetings are hosted. Aside from that it's a great choice if you don't need/want to be online.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews