We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for Jazzfest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #48 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for Jazzfest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Came to this hotel with a friend for Jazzfest. Nice location, beautiful hotel, great staff. Only wished they had a hot tub to soak our aching feet after walking so much. We dipped our feet in the rooftop pool. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joynceddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    728
    248
    77
    33
See reviews for
304
609
67
571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute
Level Contributor
126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This hotel is right off Canal street, just a block or two from the French Quarter. Room service was good and there are local restaurants that will deliver food to the hotel if you don't feel like going out. There was no minibar fridge in the room. The front entrance to the hotel sits on a side street, but the shuttle bus actually picked us up at the Sheraton which is in the next block on Canal. I found housekeeping a bit slow as I returned from the morning session of my meeting to find the room had not been service yet. The decor was very pretty throughout the hotel. The beds were comfortable and the rooms quiet. I was disappointed that the WiFi in the room was not free so I had to lug my laptop down to the lobby to connect to the internet. There was a computer station available for printing boarding passes but again it was inconveniently in the front lobby and it was somewhat problematic. All in all a nice hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmbakerphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We had a room on the 30th floor, over looking the French Quarter and the River. You do not need to stay any closer to the French Quarter, you basicall walk across the street! (Canal).

Great room, frig in room. ONLY complaint is NO wifi!!!! What??? It was a
PAIN IN THE REAR to have us both on the web, we took turns. We had just left
a 100 year old hotel that had FREE wifi! So....THIS WAS NOT GOOD.

I would stay here again but they need wifi!!!

We didn't eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I travel a lot for business. But at made a trip that was purely pleasure. And what a pleasure it was! We love New Orleans and decided to get married during Jazz Fest 2011 in what I consider one of the most amazing cities in the world. Everything about the JW Marriott was fabulous! Starting with the amazing staff (especially William). It was great to always be greeted upon our return to the hotel with such a warm welcome. The front desk staff were always professional and very helpful. The rooms were large and comfortable - and always cleaned to perfection, the hotels common areas (lobby, bars ...) were a great place to sit and relax and the location couldn't have been more perfect. The location was close enough to all the wildness of Bourbon Street to walk in less than 8 minutes, but far enough away to be able to relax and have some quite. We are surely planning on staying at this specific Marriott again and would recommend it to our friends and family

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JilleefromPhilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stay for 3 nights at the JW Marriott for the second weekend of Jazz Fest. The lobby are of the hotel is very attractive as are the rooms. However, it was the staff that really made our stay at this hotel enjoyable. Upon arriving at the hotel we were checked in and up to our room within 5 minutes. We heading out to the French Quarter to wander around for awhile. A couple of hours laters we returned to the hotel to get ready for our dinner reservations. We stopped by the front desk to see if we could get a key for the mini bar, they said there actually wasn't a mini bar in our room but they could send up a refrigerator for us to use. We said that would be great and headed to our room to change for dinner. Within 5 minutes a refrigerator was delievered and plugged in, so we headed to dinner. We had a leisurely dinner and some time on Bourbon Street before returning to our room. When we got into the room, about 5 hours later, we checked the refrigerator and discovered it hadn't gotten cold at all. We called the front desk and within minutes they were there with another refrigerator. It was delievered by the same employee, David as the first one. He apologized several times and said the new refrigerator should be cooling down quickly. Rather than leaving right away he waited a few minutes to see it the fan on the new refrigerator came on, it didn't. So he called the maintence office who sent someone else up to see what was going on. Turns out the electrical socket was bad and after switching sockets the fan on the refrigerator came on instantly. David again apologized and insisted on sending up a cheese tray and bottle of wine for the inconvience. We finally agreed and about 10 minutes the cheese tray and bottle of wine were personally delievered by David. This was not something that had to be done but we really appreciated it and this is one of the reason we will stay at the JW Marriott next time we are in New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svoluse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This place has a great location on Canal St, just steps from the Quarter. The bedrooms are spacious and well appointed, everything is clean, and the beds are very comfortable. Staff was nice and attentive. However, the internet service was the biggest disappointment. We were told the--way overpriced--charge of $14.95 was good for 24 hours. However both days the connection ended at noon. Since check-in starts at 3 pm, there is no way you can ever get it for 24 hours (we actually checked in late in the evening so it was only good for a few hours). Moreover, the "self-service business center" is a joke. You "rent" computers and pay 49 cents for each minute online. Quite ridiculous for such a big hotel where I'm sure many conferences and business meetings are hosted. Aside from that it's a great choice if you don't need/want to be online.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

The JW Marriott is clean and quite. All personnel we had contact with were friendly and helpful. Location is great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMcCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#67 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,906 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing