We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans 26th wedding anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lafitte Guest House
Ranked #23 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This place was awesome. Rooms were very nice and well kept. I like to old style hotel rooms. Each room has it's own theme. The art gallery was beautiful. It was in walking distance to the French Quarter. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in New Orleans.

Room Tip: I think anyone is good.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Shane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh S, General Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you so much for those kind words, we loved having you with us as well, keep us in mind your next visit to New Orleans :)

Thank you,
Christina Claunch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for Lafitte Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 568 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and I decided to get away for a few days this month and decided to hit NOLA for a couple days. We literally hopped on a plane and grabbed a cab to Bourbon, without any idea of where we were going to stay. With suitcases in tow, we rolled into Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop (not affiliated) across the street and started searching online for a place. Parked the hubby w/ a beer and walked over to Lafitte Guest House; I was immediately welcomed with a smile and a great rate for the night. The staff took wonderful care of us, especially Dash and Billy. They were truly wonderful, even when we added a couple days to our stay. New Orleans is a hard place to leave and Lafitte's Guest House is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toshi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh S, General Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us during your trip to NOLA, we enjoyed having you as our guest and thank you for the wonderful review, keep us in mind on your next travels to NOLA.

Thank you,
Christina Claunch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I had always wanted to visit New Orleans and stay at a romantic bed and breakfast, and Lafitte Guest House perfectly fulfilled that wish. The location is ideal, at the quiet end of Bourbon (didn't hear any noise at all from the street in my Courtyard room) but just a minute from all of the action. The staff is super friendly, and the location is secure with a code to get in both day and night. The house is beautiful, and is really an art gallery with so many beautiful works surrounded by wonderful antiques. We spent quite a lot of time viewing the art- our favorite was the Tim Burton style shadow box at the top of the second floor landing. Our courtyard room (35) was large and very comfy, with nice artwork and an awesome view from the shared balcony in front of the courtyard rooms-- the Quarter plus the New Orleans downtown skyline. For late night snackers the 24 hour access to the kitchen with water, soft drinks and snacks was a real plus. Yes, it is not cosmetically perfect, and the bathrooms are small, but you have to remember that this is a house from the 1850s. A sign at the front desk said that you have to wait a little for the water to warm up, but I had plenty of hot water almost right away. The breakfast is serve yourself packaged snacks and coffee, but the balcony view is nice and if you don't want that Cafe Du Monde is waiting just a few minutes away. The romantic old world feel can't be beat. This was my first but will definitely not be my last stay at the LGH.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EconMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh S, General Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you so much for that wonderful review, we enjoyed having you with us as much as you enjoyed staying, and yes please keep us in mind on your next travels to NOLA.

Thank you,
Christina Claunch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I must apologize, as this review is a bit late, but I had to let management know how awesome they made my wedding rehearsal and stay before my big day. As soon as my husband and I saw the picturesque courtyard at Lafitte's we knew it was the perfect spot for our wedding rehearsal in early Nov 2013. We had guests coming in from out of town and the spot was so uniquely New Orleans, we were certain our guests from the midwest would love it. (They did!)

We worked with management who was AMAZINGLY helpful and rented out the courtyard and two adjacent rooms. We even took our "first look" photos there before the wedding the following day. Thanks so much to the staff here (especially Amy!) for being so easy and flexible and making a stressful time a thousand times easier. The hotel is fantastic! Great little area upstairs for coffee and food prep and the rooms are incredibly charming.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh S, General Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you so much we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will hold memories for a life time with our Guest House apart of it.

Thank you,
Christina Claunch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here over the weekend Saturday-Monday! Everyone here was VERY friendly and helpful. If you want to stay on Bourbon Street then this place is where you want to stay! No, it's not your Big Chain hotels but it's Clean and Private and not far from the action. We arrived at 10am on Saturday and they let us park our truck and called when our room was ready....we walked everywhere so no big deal about parking and leaving. I absolutely LOVED how private our room was we stayed in Rm 35. The beds here are awesome...and this one goes to the ladies who clean this guest house....your linens smell AMAZING!!....and you both were always so friendly and helpful!! It was just like being in the comforts of your own home...kitchen was always open and we never even knew anyone else was staying here!! Only complaint and it's really no big deal is that we didn't have a remote....but we only stayed in our room when we were sleeping! I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for an affordable place on Bourbon Street!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh S, General Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and we enjoyed having you as our guest, keep us in mind on your next travels to New Orleans as we would love to have you stay with us again.

Thank you,
Christina Claunch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was an excellent choice to stay at. It is at the far end of Bourbon Street, so it was quiet most nights. Friday night we heard a little noise from the bar across the street, but it was minimal. Our rooms were very nice and always clean. The beds and pillows were so comfortable, that I wish I could have taken them home. There was a small kitchen for guests with continental breakfast and afternoon snacks, which we appreciated. The General Manager and her staff were all very pleasant and very helpful. The only issue we had, was that the smoke detector in our room started chirping our last night there, then it would stop and start up again an hour later. It took us a while to figure out where it was coming from, they removed it, then an hour later the chirping started again, turns our we had 2 smoke detectors in our room, so the had to remove the 2nd one so we could get some sleep. Absolutely loved this Guest House and would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends. There are no Safe's in this Guest House, that was the only drawback, but we managed ok without it. Also note, there is no swimming pool or exercise room, but that was ok with us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoriAT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh S, General Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review about us and we loved having you stay with us as well. I do apologize about the smoke detectors chirping, but I'm glad to hear we took care of the problem. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the French Quarter.

Thank you,
Christina Claunch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I've stayed here about 2-3 times a year over the past few years. This is not to be expected as a luxury hotel. It is an old converted mansion on Bourbon St. I usually choose this place because when I'm visiting it is during an event, so room rates in New Orleans and around the French Quarter are really high and availability low. Here, the prices are usually well below event time rates, when you would pay $400+ for the cheapest you can find in and around the Quarter, they are around $200+, again depending if you want a private balcony or just a place to sleep. You have options of the courtyard, which are small rooms, or rooms in the main part, usually with a balcony. The staff has always been helpful and nice. This past trip, St Patrick's Day 2014, I proposed to my gf on one of the private balconies that they arranged with the people who had that room for me to have access. The hotel staff and manager were great and helped in any way they could. The amenities are not that great, but that is not even a consideration staying here. It has a great location across from a popular bar, easy walking to anywhere in the Quarter. The beds are comfortable and linens always clean. The only complaint would be the $30 parking per night. Driving in, if you don't mind walking or taking a cap, park by the riverfront while you are there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh S, General Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and congratulations on your new engagement, it was our pleasure to make your proposal great. And Thank you for being a loyal repeat guest and well see you again next time :) Have a lovely day.

Thank you,
Christina Claunch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#57 of 165 in New Orleans
589 reviews
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#29 of 165 in New Orleans
582 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#32 of 165 in New Orleans
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
#140 of 165 in New Orleans
53 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Maison de Ville
Hotel Maison de Ville
#107 of 165 in New Orleans
137 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#13 of 165 in New Orleans
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafitte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafitte Guest House

Address: 1003 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $180 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafitte Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 19th Century roots this fourteen room mansion was originally the private home of the Galiese Family. Now, over a hundred years later we're dedicated to providing the best boutique hotel experience in New Orleans. We're located in the residential area of Bourbon Street & the French Quarter. Guests enjoy both the sights and sounds of Bourbon Street as well as a retreat into their own personal French Quarter home. With 14 expertly appointed guest rooms, balconies overlooking Bourbon Street, and a gorgeous and serene courtyard, Lafitte Guest House is the perfect place for friends to gather, travelers to rest, adventurers to explore any time of year and any day of the week. Rooms are spacious and uniquely decorated with antiques and reproduction art from around the world. Staying with us is like staying in a private French Quarter residence. Look no further for the greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Lafitte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafitte Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing