We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lafitte Guest House
Ranked #24 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Charming, luxurious, friendly and unique is the best way to describe Lafitte's Guest House which is actually a Mansion located on the quieter end of Bourbon. Each room in this mansion is decorated beautifully and like in all the old mansions, each room is sized and layed out different than the next. Poster beds, antique and vintage chandeliers, marble fireplaces, private balconies and fresh flowers in your room are the norm here. It's an upscale, shabby chic - meaning no shabbiness but vintage chic. New owners have replaced all the beds with new ones that you'll find hard to leave. Fresh coffee and biscuits made from scratch await you each morning and you'll not find friendlier owners and management anywhere else in the Quarter. Conveniently located directly across from Lafittes Blacksmith Shop and just down from the Clover Grill - the location is perfect - and it's just a few blocks to Cafe DuMonde, too. Rooms with private balconies facing the Blacksmith Shop will give you a prime viewing spot for the many carriages and ghost tours plus the fun of the Blacksmith Shop. A bonus is sitting on the balcony at dawn experiencing the sun washing over the old roof tops of the Quarter and lightening up downtown. We've visited 5 times, each time choosing a different room and each time delighted with our choice. This is a wonderful experience for those not wanting a chain hotel.

Room Tip: Visit the website where you'll see photos of the many different rooms where you can decide on pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tastypet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subwaysubs, Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us recently ! We strive everyday to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay and a marvelous time in New Orleans. Thank you for taking time to share your positive experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 571 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lisa (my wife) and I found the Lafitte on our honeymoon almost 21 years ago. We have now been there through 4 owners and we are really excited to see what Hugh and his staff have in store for the Guest House. We traveled with 7 others and had a wonderful time. The staff is one of the best at the Guest House in the last 21 years! We look forward to many, many more years with Hugh, Eddie, Joann, and the rest of the folks at the Lafitte Guest House!! You won't be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: Stay in rooms 21 or 31 for large balconies overlooking Bourbon St. 40 is a great room for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Napatraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subwaysubs, Owner at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your business and great
reveiws. It was an honor to have you stay with us
on your 21st wedding anniversary . I loved
Hearing the stories of previous visits to New
Orleans. It was great meeting you and we hope
To see you, your lovely wife and entire group
again very soon.
Thanks, Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I recently visited NOLA in October and stayed at the Lafitte Guest House. It was a wonderful experience and I am so glad we chose this as our accomodations for our trip. This was our 25th wedding anniversary trip so we wanted to enjoy new Orleans, but we also wanted a comfortable but special place to spend some time together. This was the perfect place. My husband's brother had stayed at Lafitte a few years ago and suggested it - we viewed the website and were enticed enough to book 4 nights. It was the best part of our trip. While the city is a fun place to be with lots going on and lots of noisy tourists, the Lafitte was an oasis right in the heart of it all. Our favorite part was sitting out on the balcony at night - great place to soak in the city with a glass of wine! I should also mention the wonderful staff - they were very friendly and provided all the comforts of home. This was an all-around great experience and when we return to NOLA, we will definitely book a room at the Lafitte. We will be recommending it to all our friends as well.

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony access - great view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lafitte Guest House is an absolutely charming hotel. The staff couldn't be nicer or more attentive. This place has character. It's old, and in need of a few repairs, but they're getting there. Great location (on Bourbon Street, but at the tail-end of all the crazy partying).
So why not four stars? Our bathroom was very tiny, and you almost don't have room to sit on the toilet. There were light bulbs missing, and some holes in the dry wall. Yes, it needs some updating. But it is long on charm and character.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGP6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subwaysubs, Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Lafitte Guest House for your recent stay here in New Orleans! We want you to know that we value your comments and hope to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guests, as we are close to completing our renovation process, which I'm sure you will be most impressed !

Thanks again for your continued patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stopped here on our way to Florida. It was on a whim and we had never been to New Orleans. We tried checking out a hotel just outside of the quarter to save money but the "small" rooms were the size of our van. So we checked out Lafitte Guest House and were in awe as soon as we walked in.
Amy greeted us and checked us in. She was from the same town as us so it was nice to have someone to talk to that was "family" in a sense. She showed us where the great Louisiana restaurants to eat at were and the things to do while in town.
Our room was on the second floor and upon walking in to the renovated antique styled room we knew it was going to be a good stay. It was clean and white with views of Bourbon street and the courtyard at Lafitte. And after walking all over the French Quarter, coming back to a giant bed was just what we needed. Our matress was just what we needed, we sank in and didn't want to ever get out!
There is a full kitchen on the second floor for the guests at the hotel. In the morning there is a complimentary light breakfast and throughout the day snacks are set on serving trays in the kitchen. Another guest did not like the wine they had so it was left for the guests of the hotel to share a glass in the kitchen. From the kitchen you can walk out onto the balcony and sip your wine or coffee and watch the French Quarter come alive every morning.
Out of curiosity for such an old building, I asked another employee if the building was haunted. She said there is only one ghost that she knew of, but not to worry since it had not ever harmed or frightened anyone.
The staff were all very friendly and courteous to each guest and their wants. After staying a few nights we had to check out and then met JoAnne who told us a little more about the town and last minute places to eat for a nice lunch. We squeezed in a walk to the French Market and then made our way to lunch at Port of Call on Esplanade.
I HIGHLY recommend a stay at Lafitte Guest House! It can be pricey, but you can't beat the location and convenience alongside the great boutique style of a renovated old original French Quarter building. Each room is different in appearance and that makes it that much more unique of a stay.
Thank you to the staff of Lafitte Guest House for making our first trip to New Orleans a memorable one. We guaruntee a trip back will be happening again and with more people!

(We are a gay couple and though this is not a "gay hotel" it is gay-friendly and we truly appreciate being treated like valued guests!)

Room Tip: For a quieter sleep try to get a higher and further north room. People don't stop partying in NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CowboyTy214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I visited NOLA for the first time this past October and stayed at The Lafitte Guest House. We could not have asked for a better stay, experience and home away from home. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We received a bottle of wine and strawberries in our room upon arrival (they knew it was our 1yr wedding anniversary) and we were also upgraded to a suite with a private balcony at no extra cost because it was available (we asked). The staff members are all locals so getting directions, advice and recommendations on restaurants, attractions and sightseeing was easy and very helpful. The facilities were clean, well kept up and comfortable, very quiet, quaint place at the end of Bourbon St. The kitchen was always stocked with treats and beverages. The house was secured with cameras and had a security code entry. We will defiantly revisit!

Room Tip: so all the rooms are completely different, no two look alike. The mansion rooms are bigger and nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyB605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was here for my birthday this year with a girlfriend and it was a wonderful experience. It felt like we received special treatment from the time we walked in the door and checked in to the time we checked out. The Lafitte Guest House staff were great in recommendations to the local color, and the guests were all very nice.

I really appreciate the champagne/wine and chocolates sent up for my special day, and the eggs for our breakfast (if you catch Eddy Jr making himself breakfast... he make some for you too, because they are THAT nice).

The room was nice and clean and the beds were quite comfortable. It is a great location, we walked to almost everything (even though Eddy Sr told us not to). This place transported me back into time. It was a great experience. If I ever make it back to NOLA, I'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, get the ones in the backside, since Lafitte's is on Bourbon and righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#36 of 142 in New Orleans
175 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
770 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bon Maison Guest House
Bon Maison Guest House
#44 of 142 in New Orleans
182 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 142 in New Orleans
685 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#28 of 142 in New Orleans
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafitte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafitte Guest House

Address: 1003 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $167 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafitte Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 19th Century roots this fourteen room mansion was originally the private home of the Galiese Family. Now, over a hundred years later we're dedicated to providing the best boutique hotel experience in New Orleans. We're located in the residential area of Bourbon Street & the French Quarter. Guests enjoy both the sights and sounds of Bourbon Street as well as a retreat into their own personal French Quarter home. With 14 expertly appointed guest rooms, balconies overlooking Bourbon Street, and a gorgeous and serene courtyard, Lafitte Guest House is the perfect place for friends to gather, travelers to rest, adventurers to explore any time of year and any day of the week. Rooms are spacious and uniquely decorated with antiques and reproduction art from around the world. Staying with us is like staying in a private French Quarter residence. Look no further for the greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Lafitte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafitte Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing