We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful, relaxing place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lafitte Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lafitte Guest House
Ranked #16 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jeanerette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We love discovering New Orleans' old hotels and Lafitte's Guesthouse is one of my favorites! The location is fantastic! I felt I had stepped back in time as soon as we entered. We were in room 22 (next to haunted room 21), a balcony room overlooking Lafitte's Bar and right next to the common kitchen for our 1 night trip to NOLA. Although Lafitte's Bar is right across the street, there is no outside noise to disturb your sleep. The rooms are newly remodeled, bathroom is small but very functional with fantastic water pressure, the furniture is period style pieces, beds are so comfortable, and the room are very spacious! If you choose a room without a balcony, there is a balcony off of the kitchen that overlooks Bourbon for all guests to use. They do offer complimentary snacks, soft drinks, juices, and coffee. It's in a prime location, we walked to the French Market, Jackson Square, and of course down Bourbon. The staff was very friendly and even allowed us a late check out. We will definitely return to Lafitte's Guesthouse

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLClement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    90
    30
    14
    39
See reviews for
76
223
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kenner
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We always go out of town for our anniversary but decided it was time to experience our own town. So glad we did! The Lafitte House is a quaint, romantic and cozy hotel. We loved loved loved room 21!! The furniture is old and antique as should be but the mattress, linens and towels are plush and smell so yummy! Everyone of the staff are so nice and helpful. We took advantage of our balcony as much a possible and brought some of our meals back with us so we could eat outside- so much fun! There is only one negative- the time went by too fast :( We hope to go back and play tourist again. Thankyou so much Hugh, Eddie, Joanne, and David, ya'll made anniversary 41 perfect!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochranville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The house is amazing. The rooms are beautiful, clean, and beds are very comfy. The staff is so wonderful and really go out of their way to make sure you have the best New Orleans experience possible. Thanks Eddie, Joanne, David and the rest of the Lafitte team for such a wonderful visit. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The rooms are spacious, updated, and clean. The staff is friendly and the location is convenient without being on the noisy end of Bourbon St. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peyton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Could not have asked for an easier experience. I felt like I was at home the entire time. The room was spectacular, the bed was actually better than my own! Without a doubt will be going back. Great staff, great location, only place to stay in New Orleans!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed the other night and what a wonderful room and location. The rooms are very well appointed, you wont find a more comfortable bed, and the view is unparallelable. From our balcony we could down Bourbon Street and the New Orleans skyline at the same time. The staff is super friendly and everything is neat as a pin. The art work in the building is an attraction all by itself. If you want a great place to stay I would recommend this location.

Room Tip: Room 32 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the LGH while celebrating my birthday. We loved everything about it! The mattresses were new,(and SO comfortable) the linens were new, and smelled awesome. The staff was so attentive, and the owner took the time to show us around his place. They are currently renovating an 'attic room'. Very impressive! We really enjoyed having the kitchen and snacks available to us. Nice touch. We'll definitely visit there again when staying overnite in NOLA. Loved the place!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonnie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,980 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,751 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,022 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,038 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafitte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafitte Guest House

Property: Lafitte Guest House
Address: 1003 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafitte Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 19th Century roots this fourteen room mansion and gallery was originally the private home of the Galiese Family. Now, over a hundred years later we're dedicated to providing the best boutique hotel experience in New Orleans. We're located in the residential area of Bourbon Street & the French Quarter. Guests enjoy both the sights and sounds of Bourbon Street as well as a retreat into their own personal French Quarter home. With 14 expertly appointed guest rooms, balconies overlooking Bourbon Street, and a gorgeous and serene courtyard, Lafitte Guest House is the perfect place for friends to gather, travelers to rest, adventurers to explore any time of year and any day of the week. Rooms are spacious and uniquely decorated with antiques and reproduction art from around the world all available for sale, and our gallery features paintings and prints from Russian born artist Vladimir Kush and artist Diane Millsap. We serve complimentary breakfast, including coffee, tea, biscuits, greek yogurt, and fruit every morning, and staying with us is like staying in a private French Quarter residence. Look no further for the greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Lafitte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafitte Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing