We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit to the French Quartwe on Boubon Street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lafitte Guest House
Ranked #24 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2012

What a comfortable and friendly place to stay in the middle of the French Quarter in New Orleans. We enjoyed our Dinner and Breakfast on the balcony overlooking Bourbon Street. The room had been recently upgraded and was decorated with a large comfortable bed and beautiful antique furniture, A tour of the Guest house was worth the trip to observe the beautiful rooms and antiques. There was a good deal of work being done in part of the Guest House; However it did not distract from our stay. A friendly and helpful staff topped it off for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 572 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

Beautiful place, great location. I will go back very soon!
I will strongly suggest to stay there for your next visit in New orleans!

Room Tip: Room 31 has a massive terrace overlooking Bourbon Street.... Amazing place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank mtienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

You reserve one room and they put you something cometely different than what you reserved. There is no breakfast. It is just frozen biscuits and burnt coffee

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pasac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subwaysubs, Owner at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Old policy changed and we appreciate your input. This is our 2nd month owning Lafitte Guest House. Today we changed an old policy of allowing guest that request stay over to occupy the same room.
We will always try to accommodate a guest request to extend stay, however they will need to change rooms if a new guest has reserved the room in advance. We are sorry for you inconvenience and would like to offer you a discount on your next visit to New Orleans.
The kitchen, located on the second floor is available to guest 24 hours a.day
We will address your complaint about coffee with our team.
FYI Eddie and his team are in the second month of repairs and all common areas have been freshly painted, several balconies replaced , new air conditions install and great new beds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Had an incredible experience at Lafitte's 12 years ago...great room, super service, breakfast on a silver tray...oooo boy, has this place taken a tumble. Pealing paint, broken light fixtures, not even a step up from early bordello...Had a 3 night reservation, left after one night.
"They " say it will be renovated.

Room Tip: .... if you HAVE to patronize Lafitte's, at least get a room in the mansion, not off the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alleyshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subwaysubs, Owner at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Hi, thank you for sending your remarks to tripadvisor.
I am the new owner and want you to know we
appreciate your comments.The crew along
with myself have worked hard to get improvements
done quickly. This is our first month and hope
you try us again soon. Happy to report we took
delivery of all new beds last week and painting
has begun. We will try everything to earn
your business. Thank You .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

What do you get when you combine a lovely (& safe!) location, PLUS absolutely CHARMING HOSTS AND an authentic NOLA atmosphere? You get PERFECTION...at LAFITTE GUEST HOUSE! My 3rd visit to NOLA turned out to be a charm thanks to staying at Lafitte for the first time and this will be my home-away-from-home on future visits. Do yourself a huge favor and ignore any old, out-dated ratings on Lafitte and allow yourself the opportunity to experience the history and hospitality presently offered here. Lafitte is under new ownership as of last month (3/2012) and renovations (new mattresses, fresh paint, etc...) are quickly & quietly happening. From the aroma of COMPLIMENTARY fresh-brewed coffee and biscuits each morning (mingle with guests on the Bourbon St. balcony off the kitchen patrons are welcome to use, or enjoy them in your spacious, antique-filled room) to the charm and welcoming drawl of Joanne (a blonde, prettier and much younger version of Susan Sarandon) at the front desk, you'll feel you're home. If you need help with your luggage, you may have the pleasure of making the acquaintance of Eddie with his spunky sense of humor. With smiles, they answered our questions, gave us directions, suggested fantastic restaurants (@ Sammy's ask for B, the host with the most!), arranged for our cabs, UPGRADED our room and even called us on check-out day at 1 p.m. to remind us we had a 4:00 flight (oops...watch those Hand Grenade drinks at Tropical Isle but tip Tim well!)! In all honesty I can say I've traveled the globe over many years and have never felt as comfortable or had as enjoyable a trip as I had staying at Lafitte. The location is a couple blocks from the bustle of Bourbon St. and conveniently located next to Lafittes Blacksmith Shop Bar where you can gather round the piano bar amidst candlelight and mingle with the locals. It's also a block down from Cafe Lafitte in Exile, a great video bar which we frequented nightly (give Honey B & Taner my love and a hollah) and from the best burger in the world at Clover Grill (Craig's a doll and will serve and entertain you) and you can go there 24/7! Make your reservations early to experience the flavor of New Orleans Lafitte Style and "LAISSEZ LES BONS TEMPS ROULER".

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SDTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I'm confused by the mixed ratings (hence my own 3 stars). On one hand, our room was great (like stepping back in time), bed was great, location couldn't be beat for touring the French Quarter. If that was it, I would rate 4-5 stars. On the negative side, yes there is a bar across the street that is very load but we asked for a floor fan that helped with the noise outside. The bathroom really needed a major makeover (leaky faucet). The door to the hallway had major gaps so light and sound came in from the hallway. The door to the adjacent room was the same way (double door), and we would be nervous about noise but we happened to be traveling with the other couple. Overall we had a nice time and appreciated the location. The other problems we over looked for the positives but could only rate a 3 star. If they made some improvements (new bathrooms, fix the doors etc.) this could easily be 4-5 stars.

Room Tip: some rooms have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LouLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

When I booked our stay at the guest house, it was done because I have often stayed there over the years, and enjoyed the charm of the place. The staf were wonderful, and we were very fortunate to meet the new owner. Everyone was very excited to see the place once again in the hands of a local, especially one who intends to return the building to its former grandeur. We did miss the old custom of breakfast being delivered to the room, but there was a kitchen with coffee and warm fresh baked biscuits. It would be nice to see the five o'clock wine in the parlor return, it gives everyone a chance to meet. We have made many good friends in the past that way. All in all, we can't wait to return and hope to do so in June. My thanks to the staff for all they did, and our very best to the new owner. I have a feeling that your guest house won't be a secret for long. Susan Elliston.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susanelliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#38 of 141 in New Orleans
177 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#15 of 141 in New Orleans
364 reviews
Treme
Inn at the Old Jail
Inn at the Old Jail
#54 of 141 in New Orleans
8 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 141 in New Orleans
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafitte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafitte Guest House

Address: 1003 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $170 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafitte Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 19th Century roots this fourteen room mansion was originally the private home of the Galiese Family. Now, over a hundred years later we're dedicated to providing the best boutique hotel experience in New Orleans. We're located in the residential area of Bourbon Street & the French Quarter. Guests enjoy both the sights and sounds of Bourbon Street as well as a retreat into their own personal French Quarter home. With 14 expertly appointed guest rooms, balconies overlooking Bourbon Street, and a gorgeous and serene courtyard, Lafitte Guest House is the perfect place for friends to gather, travelers to rest, adventurers to explore any time of year and any day of the week. Rooms are spacious and uniquely decorated with antiques and reproduction art from around the world. Staying with us is like staying in a private French Quarter residence. Look no further for the greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Lafitte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafitte Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing