We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitiely worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Convento
Ranked #94 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Definitiely worth it”
Reviewed January 28, 2010

The only thing to excellent about this hotel is that it was a bit musty when we first walked in. Stayed for a total of 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The hotel is about a 5min walk to bourbon st activities and 4-5 min walk to Decatur st and Jackson square. There's a courtyard which is really cute and has seating and plantlife. There's also a garage but it's kind of a strange system: you have to get a key form the receptionist, drive a few blocks to park in the garage and then walk back with the key. If you're leaving you need to get the key and then drop it off. Kind of strange but mostly not a big deal. the garage isn't that big and if you block someone you have to leave your key with the receptionist (unless you're like me and don't want to, in which case you're expected to move your car whenever someone needs to move in or out). Overall, this was definitely worth it and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m0nkeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    149
    46
    29
    23
See reviews for
63
181
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2010

I visited the hotel during Christmas and it was wonderful. It was beautifully decorated and it felt so cheery. I had a room in the main building (not a courtyard or balcony) and it was great. It was cozy, quiet, and I slept so well in that bed. Me and my partner have been to New Orleans several times and usually stay at the bigger more popular hotels. We decided this time we would try some where new. WOW I loved it, it felt like I was a resident of the city. The staff was so friendly it felt like they were old friends (we hung out downstairs in the beautiful bar with the family who ran the place), the building itself is located on a quaint street right across the street from an awesome patisserie and its right down the street from the French Market (which was redone very nicely). The hallways were chilly which is fine, you don’t really hang out in the hallway; the building was built before electricity was invented so where would they put heaters without ruining the integrity of the halls but the most important our room was warm, had a flat screen tv, was clean and had nice shower pressure. I see how many people may not like this hotel because if you like everything to be perfect or you like the consistency of larger place this hotel is not for you. The place is unique and is unlike any other hotel. I see why most guests who stay here are from the area and Europeans. They enjoy it here because they appreciate the history, architecture and like to support a small family run business. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fariyland101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2010

My wife and I went down to New Orleans the week after Christmas to get away from the family a bit. Though I wouldn't recommend this time of year unless you like the cold. We bundled up out side to brave weather. But the inside of the hotel was no better. It was freezing throughout the halls. There are many doors leading to other areas and patios on each floor, and for some reason, no matter what time of day I passed it, they were slightly ajar. I don't understand why as it was around 30 degrees at night. The staff was nice and helpful - I should know because we had to ask them for new batteries to our remote, for shampoo and conditioner that was not in our room, and for a hairdryer because where ours once was, there was now a marked tear in the wall - where someone had stolen or removed a wall mounted hairdryer.
The bathroom had a plastic shower curtain that was ripped. Fingerprints from guests past were all over walls, doors, near light switches - does no one wipe down the walls? The art work was also ripped or dented along with the wall paper. Water stains also marked the ceilings and walls, shoeprints and luggage scrapes scarred the interior of our room. A fresh coat of paint or new art from a flea market would have helped. The bed was bowed - like sleeping in a hammock - that definitely added to the poor sleep we got. It was so cold in the rooms, that we were provided with electrical heaters. But there was no comfortable medium. At night the air was so hot and dry your mouth, tongue, lips and nostrils dried up and in the mornings we had sore throats. The bathroom sink is in the bedroom and it would clog with in seconds of brushing your teeth or washing your face.
IF you could tolerate all that - there was a smell of sewer that appeared every so often, and sounds of the wall crumbling when people upstairs would move. It was definitely an old establishment with need of upkeep.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasti722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2010

I found this hotel in the Frommers travel guide, and it sounded quaint. I like boutique hotels, but this one seemed as though the owners did not really pay attention to details or care too much about them. Our room had a dresser with missing knobs, a piece of the wall had loose wires hanging out as though the fire alarm or something was supposed to be there. I told them about the wall, and they didn't seem to care. They didn't come look at it or anything. Also, the walls are paper thin. We could hear every word of our neighbor's television (among other things). For the price of this hotel, we were expecting MUCH more. We originally had three nights booked here, and left after our first night because we were so dissatisfied.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasTravelgirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Visitors will either love it or hate it. There is a charming rustic authenticity to the Hotel Villa Convento that gives a real taste of New Orleans. The location is great! Its very close to the Frenchman's Ave. music venues and to the Balcony Music Club. The staff were always helpful, friendly and efficient. The property is old and shows its age and that may put off some visitors. But the quiet street, the location, and the staff more than make up for the minor issues with condition.

I stayed in Room 400, which is a suite with 2 balconies with great views of the French Quarter. As you can see from the photos, the main room is large, with a very nice bed. Yes, the carpet is a bit worn and the curtains could be replaced, but the the room was very comfortable and much larger than I expected. According to the front desk, other rooms vary in size.

If you are looking for a large, depersonalized hi-tech business hotel, then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a true New Orleans experience in the quiet part of the French Quarter, then you should really consider the Villa Convento.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

My partner and I celebrated our anniversary with four nights in NOLA. We selected Villa Convento because the building's unique old history and the great location, close to lower Decatur and the Marigny. While this original "House of the Rising Son" seems charming on the outside, it is in terrible disrepair, showing years of lack of maintenance and poor standards of cleanliness.

We liked room 103 initially, tucked away in the back off the courtyard. It's said to be one of the most haunted rooms but we saw no evidence of anything unusual. Upon closer inspection, the scariness lay in the dust bunnies hanging off the brick walls and broken mirror, the stench of urine in the bathroom, stained towels, and flithy corners. The control knob was broken off the A/C, the smoke alarm was missing, and the shower head had no pressure, plus spurted water on the bathroom floor constantly and the tub drain was clogged. What else? Roaches, broken towel rods, mismatched light bulbs in the ceiling fans, musty smell in general, worn mattresses.

The courtyard consisted of algae-stained, moldy tiles, broken planters, creaking filmsy staircases, crumbling brick, etc. I love the faded charm of NOLA in general and don't mind old hotels or a little dust - but this place has been shamefully neglected. The Ursuline nuns would turn over in their graves knowing the Convento has become so decrepit.

You'll get cleaner rooms at better prices at the Hotel Provincial around the corner on Charters, at Le Richeleui down Chartres, or at the Hotel Chateau on Chartres at St. Philip. Provincial also has a rich old, haunted history and has always provided clean, maintained rooms and grounds.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsMacyBTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

This is one of many small quaint hotels in the French Quarter. The hotel is family run and the family members were very solicitous and helpful at all times. The hotel is 3 blocks from the French market and even better- close to Frenchman Street- Check out all the clubs on Frenchman Street- you will feel like a local if you do.

We had a room off the courtyard on the first floor. Our room was spacious but a bit worn or the edges. This hotel has charm and is a very good value- It isn't for people who need fancy tiles or get upset if the shower/bath isn't 4 feet deep. If you want a nice place- with good AC- a nice courtyard and that is across the street from a pasty shop-you''ll like this place. Note if you could spend more but why bother.
Note they have wifi in the lobby and the outdoor courtyard

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#99 of 161 in New Orleans
482 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#117 of 161 in New Orleans
742 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
399 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Convento

Property: Hotel Villa Convento
Address: 616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Convento 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the French Market and Mississippi River in the heart of the French Quarter, the Hotel Villa Convento is a warm and cozy guest house, offering guests the personal service of seventh-generation New Orleanians, the Campos. Rumored to be the legendary House of the Rising Sun, this building is a Creole townhouse dating back to the 1830s. Here you can encapsulated by the sounds and smells of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Hotel New Orleans
Convento New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing