We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value near French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Convento
Ranked #103 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2009

This is one of many small quaint hotels in the French Quarter. The hotel is family run and the family members were very solicitous and helpful at all times. The hotel is 3 blocks from the French market and even better- close to Frenchman Street- Check out all the clubs on Frenchman Street- you will feel like a local if you do.

We had a room off the courtyard on the first floor. Our room was spacious but a bit worn or the edges. This hotel has charm and is a very good value- It isn't for people who need fancy tiles or get upset if the shower/bath isn't 4 feet deep. If you want a nice place- with good AC- a nice courtyard and that is across the street from a pasty shop-you''ll like this place. Note if you could spend more but why bother.
Note they have wifi in the lobby and the outdoor courtyard

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 514 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2009

The hotel is in a great location, in a quiet street, close to everything. Front desk staff was helpfull, but the room we took was one in the backside, with wiew to the internal garden. The stair and the balcony were old, needing a urgent repair. They had blocked the end of the balcony with a table, so nobody would fall. The room was smelling and the bed not firm. I think the hotel need to do some repairs fast.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heka_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We arrived in New Orleans late one afternoon having lost 20 IQ points for being tourists in a new city. We were warmly greeted by Warren who helped us get acclimated. Our only snag of the trip came from a tour we had set up for the next day. They had let us know that there were booking problems. Warren came to our rescue. While we drank Hurricanes at Pat O'Briens, he set up a new tour for us for the next day which happened to be my 50th birthday and the reason for the trip. The hotel location was ideal. Equipped with Warren's trusty map, we were able to navigate unfamiliar terrain without incident.

The hotel was perfect for us. We stayed in the economy room (which was actually the only room left open when we booked the trip) and it was all that we needed. I was afraid that economy meant cheap but we were pleasantly surprised. Great bed, clean bathroom and cold air conditioner. The atmosphere was charming and reminiscent of another time.

We were there for only two nights and during that time, both Warren and April made us feel like we were their only guests even though the place was fully booked. Before we left, our names went on their waiting list for next year. The hotel and staff made our brief visit to New Orleans both memorable and special. Can't wait to do it again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scojoruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

My husband and I just returned from our stay here, and we were wowed!! This hotel is a beautiful little property on the quiet side of the Quarter. We stayed in a 2nd floor balcony room, and from the balcony you can see the French Market, which is about a block and a half down the street, so a very short walk to Cafe DuMonde, Coop's, Port of Call, Lafitte's Blacksmith bar and so much else.
The room was small, but lovely - think shabby chic - and the private balcony was sublime. The room was very clean...so clean that I walked around in my bare feet a lot of the time - something I RARELY do anywhere but home.
There are a lot of very nice places to stay in New Orleans, but what made this a stellar experience is the staff. Everyone we met there was super nice and helpful. We arrived around noon, and were told we could go on up to our room, since it was ready even though check-in time was much later! And on our last morning, as we headed out for breakfast, we stopped to ask the front desk if we could store our bags after the noon check-out time, since our flight didn't leave until later in the afternoon. They told us not to worry about it, that our room wasn't booked for that day, so we could could have a last walk around the Quarter and come back to our room to pick up our bags and freshen up!! She even made sure we had a United cab at the front door to pick us up on time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cerelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

My wife and I stayed there last week for 3 nights. The staff were very friendly- hi Warren!. Location is wonderful- 2 blocks to Coop's Place, easy access to all of French Quarter and Frenchmen's Street.

We stayed in a second story room with a small balcony. From the balcony we looked down at the bakery, the street traffic and a beautiful garden down the street. The street noise was noticable but traffic was light so very tolerable. If you really want quiet, ask for a courtyard room, which faces a pretty little courtyard.

I didn't look at them directly, but the Third Floor balcony rooms looked like you would get a great balcony and avoid most of the small amount of street noise.

Our room had a fantastic king size bed, incredibly comfortable. Room was plenty big enough. There were small imperfections that we could have been upset about but really focused on what we liked- which was everything else. I compare it to a very decent European small hotel.

Do not stay here if your idea of a great hotel includes the name Marriott of Hilton. This is a small, funky place with personality and a great location- oh and for us it was $60 a night less than the Marriott(I stayed there earlier in the week for business).

We will go back when we can.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Once again, a great visit at the Villa Convento. If you want the pristine sameness of a chain hotel, this is NOT the place for you. But if you're willing to overlook some cosmetics in exchange for a great, family-owned and operated property that's in a great location, I can't recommend this place highly enough. The new reception area is gorgeous, and the courtyard improvements are great as well. Plus for room 401: a mini fridge; minus: the decrepit hair dryer (easily remedied with a stop @ Walgreen's!) Super location, close to French Market, Croissant d'Or (across street) has everything to satisfy your early a.m. appetite.

And if you're a dog lover, you'll be in luck: look for April and Tamale, and/or Warren and Oyster - the most charming welcoming crew you could hope for. Thanks, Villa Convento, for another great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfoutzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

The location of Hotel Villa Convento is the selling point. It is on a quiet side street in the French Quarter with lovely views and cute shops and bakeries nearby. The building is old and beautiful. The balcony room we stayed in was nice looking, but at closer glance it was a little worn around the edges. There isn't a whole lot of insulation from the noise of the next room over and so we heard their whole morning routine, which was annoying because we wanted to continue sleeping. A totally pleasant stay for a few nights, but for the price I think they could afford to touch up some of the amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racheloBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#61 of 167 in New Orleans
1,802 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#112 of 167 in New Orleans
984 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#33 of 167 in New Orleans
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#52 of 167 in New Orleans
493 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#34 of 167 in New Orleans
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Convento

Address: 616 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-3204
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $122 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Convento 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the French Market and Mississippi River in the heart of the French Quarter, the Hotel Villa Convento is a warm and cozy guest house, offering guests the personal service of seventh-generation New Orleanians, the Campos. Rumored to be the legendary House of the Rising Sun, this building is a Creole townhouse dating back to the 1830s. Here you can encapsulated by the sounds and smells of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Hotel New Orleans
Convento New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing