We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret in New Orleans!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Convento
Ranked #96 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best kept secret in New Orleans!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've been to New Orleans many times, but could never afford to stay in the French Quarter before. This spot is the best location: in the lower Quarter. It's nice and quiet at night, but still walking distance to Bourbon, restaurants, the river, and Frenchman Street. Cute bakery right across the street for breakfast; parking is secure and away from tourist areas. But the best part is the helpful staff, and the views! Gorgeous patio, and every room has a little balcony. I stayed in the suite on the top floor. It has views from two sides, all the way to the river, and a claw foot tub and large bathroom. See the charm of New Orleans in this homey home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurenbgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    149
    46
    29
    23
See reviews for
63
181
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a 4 night stay at Villa Convento and loved it! I called in to reserve the room and Barbara set up the perfect corner room-- a great balcony, plenty of space, wonderful views, and the exposed brick on two sides. For the price, this place is amazing. It's plenty secure, free parking (which can easily run $30-$40+ per day otherwise), a short walk to Bourbon, Decatur, and the Trolley Line, the building has some ambiance and history behind it, and even rumors of being haunted (as best we can tell, room 302 is not haunted!) All of the staff are great. Free Community Coffee and hot water/ tea is always available. They also have Zapp's chips for $1 plus a few other snacks for purchase. Croissant D'Or across the street makes for a great breakfast. Several other great places are also nearby if you don't mind walking a few more blocks. We never had to get our car out of the garage or call a cab; everything was in walking distance or just a few transfers away by trolley!

Room Tip: Do not book online- call! If you look through several reviews for this hotel, you notice the happier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hubby and I stayed this two nights this past weekend. The front desk young man was so pleasant and hospitable. This place was built in the 1830s, so it is old, but has so much charm. We had room 300 with a balcony view on Ursuline. The balcony was my favorite part! The pastry shop across the street had an awesome breakfast. You can't beat the price of the Villa and you certainly can't beat the free parking! We didn't use the garage for parking since we were able to park out front on the street. The location is great, right between Jackson Square and Frenchman St for the nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the first time this past weekend to celebrate my birthday. We could not have asked for a more perfect stay. Our room was 101 near the courtyard. It was always clean, the staff was always friendly, the location was so convenient and we appreciated the free parking. Although we did have some noisy neighbors, we've come to expect that from the FQ, so we weren't too bothered. The bakery across the street is so darling too. We look forward to our next visit. Thank you Hotel Villa Convento!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbyrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The experience at the Villa Convento hotel was exactly what I was expecting it and needed it to be. I have rate this hotel five stars overall, but I warn you that if you're looking for an attention to details hotel, with every amenity met, then this hotel may not be for you. It has shabby decor, dusty areas, and parts of the room where the wallpaper is pealing. Understand, that for the amount of money that I paid, this room was perfect (!!!). It is centered in the middle of everything, so it is a short walk away from the best places in the French Quarter north, east, west, and south! Since most of my stay I'm spending my time outside of the hotel, I really only needed the hotel to be clean where I slept and bathed, and it met that criteria fantastically. Because the hotel was cost-effective, we had more resource to go spend outside in areas of the French Quarter where we really needed to have extra money! If we come back to NOLA again, we will be definitely sticking with this place!

So, if you're looking for a hotel where the Olympians stayed, light shimmers from within when you walk inside your room, and every detail known to man in some kind of latest modern style shall be provided for your luxurious pleasures, then most definitely look elsewhere. However, if you are just looking for a place to stay where you will be safe, comfortable, have access to everything nearby, and will not destroy your piggybank well before you have even had the chance to say "Gumbo," then this my friends is a place for you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Createaflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We've stayed in almost a dozen hotels and guesthouses in New Orleans and Villa Convento is definitely our favorite! This was our second stay and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in the city. The location is absolutely perfect--right in the French Quarter not even 2 blocks from the French Market, 3 blocks from Jackson Square and 1.5 blocks from Bourbon St. It's not noisy at all but super close to the action. It's also right across from Croissant D'Or, which is perfect in the mornings!
The staff is the best that I've ever encountered, anywhere, and we travel a lot. I also worked in the hotel industry for years so I definitely have certain ideas about what good service is as far as hotel stays go. Warren, the owner, is really nice and helpful and we loved Triskell as well! She has tons of great suggestions about places to eat, drink, hear music, etc. You can tell she loves her job, and loves passing on helpful info to others. We spent most of our time with Vincenzo though, who went out of his way for us at every turn. He is obviously a genuinely nice person, and is also a great resource for advice on places to go and things to see since he's lived in the city for over a decade. We're hoping to move to New Orleans, so we spoke with him at length and he was very helpful and honest, as well as encouraging. As we spoke, I saw him deal with several other guests in the same professional but completely friendly and easy-going manner, and I've tried to adopt it a bit in the way I speak to my customers at work now. Vincenzo also showed us how to secondline when a bridal party paraded past the hotel with a brass band! That was definitely one of those Only in New Orleans experiences!
This time we stayed in room 400, which is a suite. Last year it was one of the 300's that has a balcony, can't remember the exact room number. The hotel is very "New Orleans"--historic, adorable inner courtyard, wrought iron balconies, exposed brick. The elevator is a two-person floral-padded Old Lady with so much character I take pictures every time I'm inside! Wifi is available in the courtyard and there is also a computer in the lobby. Parking is included, which is pretty much unheard of in the city, but it's a small-ish garage a few blocks away and could probably fill quickly during very busy times--we've only stayed in the slow season so far and have always had no trouble but if you're looking at a busier time you might want to call to see if it might be an issue finding a space. However, there IS a parking lot with reasonable rates right down the street from the garage (on Decatur) that could be a good backup.
Our suite was gorgeous, especially that bathroom, which has a claw-foot tub AND a shower! The living area of our suite had a really pretty antique daybed and the bedroom had a refrigerator, which was really useful. There are two balconies, although one is a bit narrow and shared with another room and the other is also a bit narrow and doesn't have a great view of the immediate street below because it is the top floor. They were absolutely perfect for us though. The room we stayed in last summer had much "better" views from the balcony as well as a table and chairs, which is really nice. The suite's balcony is more private though, so it just depends on what you're going for.
Overall our stay was perfect and the hotel exceeded my expectations at every turn. It is definitely for people who love and "get" the funkiness and history of New Orleans and not as much for someone who wants something sterile, boring and cookie-cutter. If you love the city for all that it has to offer you'll love this hotel! Make sure you spend some time talking to the staff, it takes the experience to a whole different level!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LydiaGenevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family recently stayed at this quirky, local guest house and we LOVED it! We wanted the full French Quarter experience without fear of hidden fees, dangerous neighborhoods or late-night partiers knocking on our door. We had a loft room with a king bed and three twin beds. We had plenty of room and our teens enjoyed having their own space upstairs. The bathroom was small and dated but we did not expect new fixtures in such an historic building. Our room was clean and cool and private. This guest house is a historic building with lots of interesting stories to go along with it- people even stop here on tours of the city to hear these stories! We could see the rooftops of the quarter from the balcony outside our door, we could walk a couple blocks and eat breakfast at the Cafe DuMonde, and the croissants at the French bakery across the street were amazing for breakfast or lunch! Our favorite part of our stay was the friendliness of the people working at the desk. We came to know them by name as they greeted us with enthusiasm every time we walked by. They offered to help us order food for delivery, research tickets and times for various attractions nearby, and even offered their own street side parking space to an older couple checking in after us. The parking is about 5 blocks away but it is FREE! And the location is so perfect that we walked everywhere anyway. If you're looking for something low-key, historic, and unique, Hotel Villa Convento is where you need to stay! Don't try to book a room using their website- it's hard to manage. Call and talk to Barbara (or Warren) and let them hook you up with a deal! (Oh, and make sure to ride the elevator when you get there- my kids are still talking about it!) :)

Room Tip: Call and book a room in person. They will help you with finding the perfect room for your family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#99 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#116 of 161 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Convento

Property: Hotel Villa Convento
Address: 616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Convento 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the French Market and Mississippi River in the heart of the French Quarter, the Hotel Villa Convento is a warm and cozy guest house, offering guests the personal service of seventh-generation New Orleanians, the Campos. Rumored to be the legendary House of the Rising Sun, this building is a Creole townhouse dating back to the 1830s. Here you can encapsulated by the sounds and smells of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Hotel New Orleans
Convento New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing