We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional behavior”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Convento
Ranked #100 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

To whom it may concern:

Hello, we stayed at this hotel recently during our trip to New Orleans. Great location! Maybe not the most fancy hotel but it was nice and authentic. The night guy at the front desk was very helpful; with thorough knowledge of the city and some great recommendations!
However, we were alarmed and disappointed by the morning person. She was basically civil when speaking to us directly but then she was openly gossiping about her co-workers in front of us and other guests then proceeded to discuss some sordid details of her personal life (definitely NOT for children's ears!). This isn't what we want to deal with when we take a much needed vacation! We'll be back in New Orleans as soon as we can, but we'll probably consider a different hotel considering this experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Thank Sosogrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 504 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff was very friendly, especially Barbara. We were treated well, had a clean and comfortable room, and were close to everything. The street was quiet which was nice. My wife and I like places with character, not the chain types, and this was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffthegolfguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villa_Convento, Manager at Hotel Villa Convento, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We absolutely love to hear positive reviews from our guests. We believe that the staff here is what makes this hotel a great experience for those visiting our city.

For security reasons we only keep two keys to the garage behind the front desk. Sometimes both keys are being used by guests who are parking their vehicle and one might have to wait. We apologize that you had to wait. Please know that this was not done with ill-intent; as mentioned above we pride ourselves for our hospitality.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel during our impromptu visit to the French quarter this weekend. After stopping by the hotel to check it out (it's thought to be the same hotel from the song House of the Rising Sun) we were quoted a rate that we quite frankly could not turn down. Barbara (at the front desk) was so adorable and helpful. I can not say enough sweet things about her. And the hotel was so conveniently located that going to and from bourbon street was no sweat! Also, the room felt like home! It was so quaint and it truly felt like you expect staying in the quarter to feel like. Overall this was a great experience (despite one encounter with Vince at the front desk regarding a "missing" garage key, but Barbara more than made up for the trouble he caused)! I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villa_Convento, Manager at Hotel Villa Convento, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

We absolutely love to hear positive reviews from our guests. We believe that the staff here is what makes this hotel a great experience for those visiting our city.

For security reasons we only keep two keys to the garage behind the front desk. Sometimes both keys are being used by guests who are parking their vehicle and one might have to wait. We apologize that you had to wait. Please know that this was not done with ill-intent; as mentioned above we pride ourselves for our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I seriously LOVE this hotel! The staff is super nice and they go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. If you are looking for crystal chandeliers and snobby desk help you should go somewhere else. This hotel may not have 5 stars, but it is so charming. The courtyard is lovely and the rooms are clean. This is the 2nd time we've stayed here and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Amazing location : 5min to the french quarter and bourbon street.
Staff super friendly and helpfull. Barbara is wonderfull!!
Typical New Orleans architecture.
A MUST go!!
We payed $100 for 3 people, one night on june 25th.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lufalmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

While it's not the classiest hotel in New Orleans, it has everything I needed (comfortable bed, hot shower, free wifi, and even tea-making facilities) at a bargain price, and I doubt you would find friendlier or more helpful staff anywhere. I arrived just before check-out time, so they upgraded me to a balcony room at no extra cost so that I could move my bags in immediately. I left to attend a conference and returned when it was finished, and again they gave me a balcony room at no extra charge. It's a block and a half from Bourbon Street and convenient to the French Markets, and while it's about half a mile from the best seafood restaurants, walking through the French Quarter is a pleasure. Okay, it's a little shabbier than the photos on the website suggest, but so am I, and when I have the good fortune to visit New Orleans again, this is definitely where I'll stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N0MAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

My dog and I stayed here while our French Quarter residence was undergoing some major repair work. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from my home. I have recommended it to my friends when they visit and they always enjoy it. The staff is super nice and spoiled us rotten during our stay (my dog still tries to pull in there as we walk by!). Everything worked fine. It was clean. The one tiny concern I did have was addressed immediately. It's also locally owned and operated. The house itself is of 19th century construction and is well-located to great coffee shops, restaurants, and music venues. There really isn't any reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenndevillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#62 of 166 in New Orleans
1,731 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#111 of 166 in New Orleans
940 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#56 of 166 in New Orleans
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#37 of 166 in New Orleans
607 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
2,341 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#89 of 166 in New Orleans
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Convento

Address: 616 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-3204
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $92 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Convento 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the French Market and Mississippi River in the heart of the French Quarter, the Hotel Villa Convento is a warm and cozy guest house, offering guests the personal service of seventh-generation New Orleanians, the Campos. Rumored to be the legendary House of the Rising Sun, this building is a Creole townhouse dating back to the 1830s. Here you can encapsulated by the sounds and smells of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Hotel New Orleans
Convento New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing