We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grenoble House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grenoble House
Ranked #1 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

All the rooms here are suites, with a living room and a modern kitchen. There can be noise, and the room we had away from the street was a bit tired. But the staff are extraordinarily helpful. The breakfast is hardly up to the traditional NO standard-juice, coffee, sweet buns--but then with the traditional NO breakfast yu can't move for an hour what with all the calories and fat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    80
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
72
257
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

A great find with fantastic staff&owner, beautiful courtyard, terrific location and large suites. I can recommend Grenoble House to everyone who plans to visit New Orleans. But europeans should notice that breakfast here means coffee and a danish.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norbert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I traveled to NOLA for Mardi Gras with about 12 friends from school. We broke off into groups and stayed at different hotels including the JW Marriott and the Hyatt - all of which were in the French Quarter. The Grenoble house was undoubtedly the best choice and no other hotel was a close second. It is run by 6 of the nicest, most down to earth Southern Gentlemen you'll ever meet. The prices are very reasonable, the rooms are spacious and clean, and the entire place has a very comfortable homey feel to it. The owners cooked us dinner and offered every accommodation we could have asked for. This place is the best. If you go to NOLA and don't stay here, you're making a huge mistake.

Room Tip: Just tell the management exactly what you are looking for and they will get you in the perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel in the FQ. A truly great find, so central to all attractions, entertainment and good restaurants. Our courtyard suite was lovely, nice decor,very clean and spacious - full kitchen, living room and bedroom.
The court yard accommodation is definitely quieter but expect some noise weekend nights.
Pool looked very inviting but too cold to use on this visit.
Staff were wonderful, always cheerful and accommodating.
This hotel certainly felt like a home from home and we look forward to staying here again on our next visit.





Staff were wonderful, always cheerful, helpful and accommodation

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms quieter, may be different when pool in use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jder246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I really can say that I won't ever stay anywhere else again! The Grenoble house has by far been my favorite hotel I've ever stayed in. The staff was amazing. True southern hospitality! The room was beautiful and spacious. The big floor to ceiling windows that opened up to the balcony were a fabulous touch. I love that the staff holds your room key while you're out on Bourbon street! I may have lost it, haha! Oh and the location is fantastic. I could not have asked for a better hotel! Will definitely be back in a few months!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

As a Buffalo preservationist, I can assure you that this hotel is the definition of historic integrity! From the exposed brick walls, to the fireplace, to the hardwood floors to the spiral staircase, you won't be disappointed. Grenoble House is filled with historic attributes and charm while simultaneously adding a modern tone with the stainless steel appliances and the kitchen island. Our unit was adorned with a beautiful Singer sewing machine that is repurposed as an end table, as well as fabulous historic artworks of the French Quarter. Grenoble House provides a unique experience... it's NOT a cookie-cutter style Hampton Inn.
The unit that we stayed in had an upstairs and downstairs and was equipped with a full kitchen. When I booked the room, I mentioned how I love exposed brick and they accommodated that request! The place was immaculate daily. They stocked bottles of water in the fridge (free of charge), which came in handy after hanging on Bourbon all night! They didn't clean until we left for the day. You are greeted with smiling faces in the morning and everyone knows you by name. Each morning there is OJ, water, coffee, muffins, and pastries in the lobby. The hotel is one block parallel to Bourbon and intersects Canal one block away. It is a very quiet street. You can lie in bed in the morning listening to the birds chirp, in which I haven't heard in a LONG time in Buffalo. Even though it is a quiet street, it is only a block from all of the action on Bourbon, close to Jackson Square, the French Market, the warehouse district, Harrah's casino, the waterfront, Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop, and the Central Business District. It's also walking distance to the Frenchman district, which I highly recommend. Frenchman is more local than touristy and it is filled with architecture, restaurants, and music clubs. Go to Bamboula's (amazing architecture) and The Spotted Cat!
Stay at the Grenoble House and you are guaranteed to go home highly satisfied, only wanting to go back!
I'd have to say that my only disappointment was that the hot tub did not work.

Room Tip: If you are not handicapped and don't mind walking up a spiral staircase after drinking all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle4583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Yes, I read the reviews. But you never know...We were thrilled with the size of our two level suite, 205. It was new, clean and with charming large window doors onto the balcony walkway. The staff is friendly and helpful which made our early Mardi Gras weekend FUN. They made sure we saw the lovely streets in the French Quarter giving us ways to avoid Bourbon Street. We cannot say enough about the charming Chantal and her lesson in parade safety. We felt as though we were family guests. Our suite was facing the courtyard and was very quiet. Actually we were surprised how well we slept as close by Bourbon Street was a raucous frat party. Note: we had relative little difficulty in navigating the circular staircase from the living room to the bedroom and bath. Others might find the staircase a problem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suze66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,886 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,208 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,819 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grenoble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenoble House

Property: Grenoble House
Address: 323 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grenoble House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grenoble House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grenoble Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing