We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most comfortable beds I've slept in (home included)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“One of the most comfortable beds I've slept in (home included)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

Roosevelt has great ambiance. You feel 1940's Orleans as it were fresh and new. My King Suite room was on a low floor with no view even though I requested a high floor with a view. I went down to complain and see if I could be switched, but the front desk seemed overwhelmed so I figured I'd just deal with it. Needless to say, I began my stay a bit on the negative side. The sheer comfort of the room, bed, and shower won me over. By the first day I was comfortably at home in my low floor room. I was disappointed that there was no coffee maker in my room...but all in all that is minor. I would highly recommend this hotel and stay here again. Note: great hotel bar and coffee shop! Very close to Bourbon Street, but far enough away so that you don't feel on top of the 3am action and noise.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zehver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,328
    748
    262
    112
    62
See reviews for
549
1,377
123
948
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

Where do I start??!!! On first impressions you cannot fail to be impressed with what welcomes you to the Roosevelt. The lobby is everything you would expect from the Waldorf chain... but that is where it ends. We were in New Orleans for my partners 40th birthday so definitley wanted a relaxing luxury break. Second day, after the first shower buzzer in the room went.... apparantly underneath our room had flooded. We wern't asked if it was inconvienient for us not to be getting dressed and ready to go out we had to sit there in limbo chasing the workmen to find out when they were coming back so we could get dressed. The champagne we had bought for that night remained unopened. 90 minutes later the workmen finished, leaving us pondering how to salvage our plans.
Day three... we awoke to a few ants in the bathroom... a bit worrying but we put it down to the work that had been completed the previously day.......UNTIL we opened one of the draws in the room to find it crawling with ants, (along with the second bed in the room). My partner decended on reception to complain... we were moved to a second room. As I started to pack up our stuff I heard the yell from the new room where my partner had dicovered a MASSIVE cockroach in the bathroom. Once again back to reception to aske to be moved room... which they did but to an inferior room! An offer to pick up our bar tab was turned down by us as we thought we at least should talk about this with the manager...who was suddenly unavailable, (more of which later!). They eventually sent someone up to deal with the cockroach, (again after us chasing them), by which time we had wasted another morning faffing about in the hotel. We have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world, (and some of the worst!!) and this is not what we expected from the Waldorf chain for what we were paying per night. Later that afternoon by the pool, (NB which was also filthy, complete with dirty mark all around it, cigarettes butts floating and a jacuzzi that didn't need bubble bath as all the scum frothed up lovely!), we happened upon the manager who knew nothing about our complaint, (not what the man in reception said who had told them.....). She promised to call us later that day to talk about making things right. This didn't happen although our bar tab and a pay-per-view movie, (about $50) had been taken care of.
By this time we were completly fed up. Even though we were kept up the next two nights by next door, we had no faith in the fact that it would have been dealt with - not a good feeling when you have chosen a hotel based on a reputation.
Positives?? There were two exits and it was right next to all the resturants and bars which meant you didn't have to spend too long in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank walkformilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

Busy weekend in New Orleans and accommodation was difficult to find, but was able to get last minute accommodation for a King Suite at the Roosevelt for a relatively good price under the circumstances. I would never normally pay as much as for a hotel room as I did here, given that it is basically just somewhere to lie my head at night after a days exploring. Fantastic hotel, great service and comfort. If this hotel is within your price range I would certainly reccommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbournePam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

There is no dobut that this hotel is one of the most luxurious and beautiful in New Orleans. However, The staff was rude and unfriendly. Check in was at 3pm and we were not able to get in to our room till after 5pm. When I enquired about why the room was not ready the lady at the front desk was rude and offered no sort of apology to make up for their mistake. If I am going to pay the money to stay at The Roosevelt then I expect to be treated with respect.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bullie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

I stayed at the Roosevelt during Halloween weekend. The check in experience was fast and the staff was great. My room was on the second floor with a terrible view but the room itself was terrific. I had a king room. I was decently sized for a New Orleans king room. I heard no exterior noise and no noise from adjoining rooms, despite the hotel being booked up. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. There was a large flat screen TV in the room and a smaller flat screen in the bathroom, which was nice. The bathroom was very nice. The shower was a walk-in type shower, marble walls with a main shower head, an adjustable wand shower, and two wall-mounted adjustable nozzles for the back, etc.

I found the entire hotel to be very clean with a classy feel to it.

I didn't eat at the hotel or utilize any of the services such as the spa, so I can't comment on that part.

The location is great, too. It is about a block from Bourbon Street on the opposite side of Canal Street.

I did not utilize the hotel's internet. I think it was $12.95 a day, which is probably the biggest turn off that I encountered with the Roosevelt. In keeping with my previous reviews, I refuse to give an excellent 5 rating to a hotel that charges for internet access.

The checkout experience was good with no billing problems.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank safety86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

This hotel is unbelievable. It is beautiful, gracious and historic. I had stayed here years ago when it was the Fairmont Hotel and could not believe it could be any more luxurious now than it was then but it is! The lobby is breathtaking with lots of marble and carpets. The rooms are bigger than I remembered and are elegant and comfortable at the same time. The staff is right there when you need them. We had polite service during our entire stay. And the beds are marvelous. I would reccomend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoJeannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

My husband and I had one night in New Orleans after he had been in town for a conference at another hotel. After some research, I chose the Roosevelt because of its old world feel and the great AAA rate -- we booked a deluxe king room.

I cannot adequately express how fantastic this hotel is. The lobby, as many have mentioned, is stunning -- it looks just as it does in the hotel photo gallery. The staff was incredibly nice -- we had requested early check-in but knew it was a longshot on a Sunday. We were unable to check in at 2 pm, but walked for a bite to eat (the French Quarter is 1 1/2 blocks away on the other side of Canal -- the streetcar stops are there, too -- close to the Quarter but not so close that you get all the noise) and the front desk called us at 3 pm (the actual check in time) to say our room was ready. My husband joked about being glad to know our penthouse suite was ready -- we returned to the hotel and were given our keys... to an amazing king suite -- to which they had upgraded us. (Ask for Room 11111.)(That is not a typo.)

I have stayed in nice hotels, including Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton properties, which were all lovely, but never in a room or suite this nice -- it was breathtaking -- an entry hall, a beautiful, large living room with a desk, large sofa, large occasional chairs, there was a separate dining table (for 2) area and a bar, then a beautiful, large bedroom with a wonderful king bed, large chaise lounge, huge dresser, wonderful bath w/2 sinks and a separate shower/tub/commode room. Fabulous robes (nicest I have ever had in a hotel) also provided.Two large flat screen tvs and another small one in the bathroom (where the sinks were). All the furnishings were beautiful period reproductions.

I was so stunned, I took pictures of the entire suite. I actually called down to the desk to find out what rate we were being charged as I was afraid my husband had signed something for a zillion dollars without reading it, but it was our original AAA rate.

The staff was very nice and accommodating. Our luggage was delayed in being delivered from the bell desk, and when we called (it had been about an hour after we checked in, and we could have called sooner, but were enjoying relaxing in the suite), it was delivered immediately with very sincere apologies for the delay. The only other blip was that the shower (very nice with multiple shower heads) had a leak from the glass enclosure to the floor, which we had to soak up with all our available (huge, wonderful) towels -- so we asked for replacements when we came in from dinner and they were delivered in 10 minutes.

The Sazerac Bar is a very cool place with all sorts of interesting specialty drinks and, again, a lovely staff.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It is really a beautiful, beautiful hotel. My only regret was that we could only stay one night.

With regard to what we did in NOLA, we had a wonderful dinner at Mr. B's Bistro -- very busy, popular place and the owners are part of the Brennan family, as is true of many of NOLA's finest restaurants -- and heard some interesting jazz at Snug Harbor on Frenchmen's Street (for the over-30 set, our cab driver told us, and we certainly qualified), the obligatory beignets at Cafe Du Monde (tasty and affordable) on Jackson Square, and a breakfast at the Coffee Pot, which we would not recommend -- surly service and the food was fine, but that's it. The WWII Museum is terrific and the film, "Beyond all Borders," is tremendous. We had lunch at the American Sector (part of the museum), which was hip and cool to look at and sit in, but the food was a little pricey and fine, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBuchanan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,819 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,208 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,886 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing