We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Comfortable Stay at Roosevelt - Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Victor, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Stay at Roosevelt - Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We booked a King room very last minute with the Roosevelt (we had booked a different hotel and upon arrival -- it was horrible. Therefore, had to make a move immediately).
The Roosevelt saved our trip and we were so happy they were able to accommodate us!! The hotel is beautiful, swanky and comfortable (loved the bed). The staff is consistently friendly, smiling and helpful. The room size was perfect for our needs, clean and upscale. Nicely decorated and a beautiful bathroom (loved the shower too). Location for us was perfect - can walk easily to just about anywhere (but far enough away from most noise generated on Bourbon St).
We enjoyed the pool and hot-tub. Enjoyed the restaurants and hotel bar. Loved the John Besh restaurant - I thought it was delish so we went twice!
Here are my only critiques - our room faced Canal St and we were on the 14th floor. This street can generate a lot of noise from horns beeping, ambulances etc. all day and night (but it didn't ruin our time). Also, once we checked into the Roosevelt - they wouldn't let us into our room until 7pm. This was a little annoying but we were flexible about it. -- But when we requested a late check out, they weren't willing to accommodate us on this .... of which, I didn't think was too fair.
I will definitely stay at this hotel again in the future!! I feel it would actually be my first choice!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jl_1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,123
    695
    240
    96
    51
See reviews for
488
1,260
115
871
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

This hotel didn't live up to the usual standards of Waldorf Hotels. I requested an early check in, but wasn't able to check into my room until 3:30, 30 minutes after the standard check in time listed on our reservation and the hotels website. We had to rush to get ready for a wedding. As we waited in the lobby for our room to be cleaned we noticed many other couples with the same issue. It's a nice hotel, the rooms are clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated, but the hotel is not located in the heart of the french quarter, nor is the stated check-in time standard . I won't be returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sparty2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

DO NOT STAY HERE. There are many choices for luxury hotels in New Orleans, and the Roosevelt just does not measure up.
I booked my stay about a year ago, before the hotel had even opened. I called to confirm our late arrival to the hotel earlier in the week leading up to my stay. Yet, upon getting to the hotel at midnight, we were told there was no room for us, and we would have to go to another hotel. We got a room the next day. During our stay, housekeeping failed to clean up the complimentary fruit tray the hotel management sent (it was moldy).

Stay at the Ritz or the Windsor Court, where the service is exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank x2friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My wife and I never got a honeymoon so after a year of marriage we both finally took some time off from work. We booked two nights at the Roosevelt. I used my HiltonHonors points for the stay and booked via phone. I requested a upgrade and the reservation person said there were several suites open for my stay (booked it one day before we travelled). After arriving at 9pm, we decided to take a shower and head out on the town. Once we returned, figuring the room was hot from our showers, we went to sleep. I got up at least three times sweating so bad I had to flip the pillow over. The AC only goes to 65 but I will say it must have been regulated to stay at 78. I tried to use the fan but it was too noisy. After a miserable night, my wife and I decided to leave and head back home (7 hours away). Not to mention losing all my points for the second night we didnt stay. Front staff was apologetic and I knew it wasnt their fault so I didnt complain too much. Dont valet park for $38 because there is a parking garage 1/2 block away for $22. Rooms are small but updated and nice flatscreen TV. For the price I would have stayed across the street at the Mariott or an other major hotel---at least I know they dont monitor their AC controls....Very uncomfortable stay and will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hcsd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
1,085 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Stayed in a King Deluxe room for a conference held in this fine hotel. While the room was not huge there was ample space. The bathroom was a nice size as well. The hotel is beautiful from the moment you step into the entrance. I was impressed with the attention to detail. The pool area is gorgeous - there was even a bartender on duty the day I was there.
Other guests in a queen room complained it was small so be sure to book a King room or a deluxe room. I just had two walk two blocks and I was on Bourbon Street. Great location!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Beautiful rooms with two massive flat screen TVs (and an additional small one in the bathroom). Slept very well in the comfortable bed, no noise from the street. Nice bar for a pre-dinner drink.
Breakfast was terrible: very expensive ($5 for a bad coffee!) and service atrocious, just go somewhere nice nearby.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My Husband and I recently stayed at the Roosevelt New Orleans. He was there for a conference I was just a tag along. I fully expected our hotel to be a typical conference type slightly tattered corporate hotel. What a pleasant surprise! This hotel is absolutely lovely. Every little detail of the 150 million dollar restoration is exquisite and appropriate. The staff is like nothing I have encountered in the last 40 years. Everyone was absolutely attentive, charming, informative, warm, gracious, knowledgeable could go on. Our room was outstanding, clean fresh spacious with 12 foot ceilings. It was perfectly situated just the right amount away from the french Quarter (3 min walk) to no be in the throngs of people. The Sazarac Bar is a jewel-box. We had a bell man show us the historic Blue Room where many famous jazz era people played. I cannot say enough. Just standing in the lobby is a pleasure. I never even made it to the spa.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MVTUIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,815 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,141 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,457 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing