We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great room, great pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #19 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great hotel, great room, great pool!”
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I travel to New Orleans frequently and have stayed in plenty of
hotels in the same area. This hotel is beautiful! We stayed in the luxury suite which was just perfect. Huge bathtub, huge shower, king bed, sitting area. We had one issue with housekeeping leaving cleaner in our room and not leaving clean towels. We contacted the hotel manager about this and they took care of this right away AND compensated us for the inconvenience. The rooftop pool is amazing! Please visit this hotel!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAlbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,399
    768
    271
    118
    66
See reviews for
571
1,432
125
962
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Roosevelt New Orleans in April for a little romantic getaway weekend. It was recommended by a friend, and I had seen advertisements on facebook. It was perfect! The hotel was opulent. Every detail was well appointed and beautiful. We loved our room and the location. I would recommend this hotel, and we plan to stay there again this year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnTed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

This hotel is a beautiful hotel. Gorgeous lobby, wonderful / elegant furnishings. Room was huge and I got upgraded to a 1 bedroom due to Hilton Honors status. Great!

Some improvements that are needed:

* Service was a bit standoffish. I understand the need for discretion with hotel guests, but I thought this was a bit excessive: they were filming a tv show in the lobby.... I was curious and asked the lady at the front desk. She was like "oh, they're filming a tv show." she wouldn't say which one or who might be in it except to say "there are some famous people....". What's up with the secrecy people? The bellman later told me it was Memphis Beat and it stars Jason Lee from My Name is Earl....

* My colleague got a chocolate every night with turndown service.... me, nothing!

* I was disappointed in the bathroom layout. It was a HUGE suite and so I was totally expecting a shower and tub in the bathroom. The bathroom was tiny and only had a shower.

* Need to have a tv channel listing in the room.

* They didn't refresh the amenities in the room every night. Granted, they were big portions of lotions, shampoo, condition, etc. - but still, no effort was made to replace any of the items.

* the location is off the french quarter a bit. there were lots of people walking around canal street at night and stuff, but for a woman traveling alone, I felt a little uneasy walking back to the hotel after dinner in the french quarter each night. The area isn't the best it feels like. Not the hotel's fault or anything, but just an FYI for single travelers.

Otherwise, the hotel was a good deal. I booked under the "Best of Waldorf" deal. It was pay for 3 nights and get the 4th night free. Can't beat that!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcnyc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The Roosevelt Hotel is a nice and very updated hotel in the heart of New Orleans. The lobby and public areas are beautiful and true to the historic character of this grand hotel. The Roosevelt is in a great location within easy walking distance of the French Quarter and right of the historic street car line on Canal St.

The hotel has been totally updated and has a wonderful solid feel. I was a bit taken aback by the poor decorating choices in the rooms. The furniture, while high end is very out of character for the rest of the hotel. The rooms are furnished with the finest in McMansion furniture and drapes. We had a suite and the furniture in the sitting area was laid out in a ridiculous fashion (just like something you would see in a suburb where they want to pretend they have taste, but dont). Bigger is not always better and even though some of the furniture was Thomasville brand it all looked very out of place and too our of character for this wonderful hotel. The saving grace is that all the furniture can eventually be replaced and one day they will give the rooms the tasteful histoirc character they deserve.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomdenverDenverCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

The Roosevelt has great location relative to the French Quarter and a quick trip to either Louis Armstrong or Lakefront airports. The hotel itself is truly beautiful; an elegantly ornamented lobby, grand Blue room for galas, and finely decorated yet cozy rooms. Business travelers and conferences are easily accommodated here, as are weddings and other formal events. Service is superb, from the moment you arrive: from the bellhops, to the front desk, concierge and all other staff encountered. This is a luxury hotel, and the clientele and rates reflect that. For budget travelers, there are no included amenities; expect a premium for any additional service from Wifi to use of the business center.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyTheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

I agree with all of these wonderful reviews! It is a beautiful hotel in a great location. It is just a few minute walk to Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, French Market, and the Casino. I much prefer staying in this location than closer to Bourbon Street because it is far enough removed to not be bothered by the noise at night. I was fortunate enough to attend a corporate event at the hotel, and the catering was AMAZING! I don't remember eating so well! Each event was doen perfectly to the last detail! The staff is very professional and helpful, and the hotel is wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaFL1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Seven-night stay in this very nice hotel. The decor-both in the public spaces & in my room-is exceptional. The lobby is elegant: marble floors, sculptures, classic decor, chandeliers, luxurious wood, leather chairs, inviting sofas - loved it! Staff is friendly, readily available. Concierge services were outstanding. My room was quite large (almost could be called a suite) with a walk-in closet, well-stocked bathroom (including a TV) and a very comfortable bed with lots of pillows. The location is nice, too, since it is far enough from Bourbon Street & The French Quarter that I was not disturbed by the nightly rowdiness, but it is within walking distance of the hot spots. I was surprised that the room did not have any sort of coffeemaker/service (It's been so many years since I've stayed anywhere that did not have this in my room that I take it for granted that it will be there.) Also, there were no mini-fridges available. :- ( Also, I was not pleased that they did not offer free Internet service in my room. I would expect a hotel of this caliber to provide it to guests. Otherwise, the hotel was a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,984 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,377 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,100 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing