We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #18 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Twice now we have stayed at this great Hotel. Nicely located to Bourbon Street but far enough to get away from the noise. Excellent service. The spa is first class. The decor in the lobby is worth a visit to see. The roof top pool is a great place to hang out and they make excellent drinks!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,223 - 2,229 of 3,933 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is a very nice property. There are other hotels closer to bourbon street. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I got a room upgrade to a jr. Suite and could have stayed in the room and enjoyed it, but in New Orleans there is too much to do. Roof pool is very small, there is a nice bar up on the roof by the pool. I would recommend this hotel and would visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etracvels20111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Ed N,

Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you thought our hotel was a lovely property and thank you for the compliments about our staff. New Orleans is most known for our Cajun food and jazzy music and we are pleased that you were able to walk from our hotel to experience the Crescent City. We hope that the next time you travel to New Orleans you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My family and I only stayed 1 night before our cruise departing from the nearby port. I was amazed at the craftsmanship in the entrance and felt as though I was stepping back in time 100 years. I believe my children enjoyed the stay more than my wife and I!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Chris D,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you were able to stay with us before your cruise. The Roosevelt New Orleans is full of wonderful history, and we hope that you were able to learn something about our fabulous hotel. We hope that the next time you travel back to our fabulous city you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We wanted to check in early for a wedding that night, we called and the lady who answered the phone said yes come in we are ready for you. That was at 11am. our room was not ready on the 7th floor with the bridal party and we had to go to another floor.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Michelle D,

We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve during your recent stay. We strive for unparalleled service delivery at our hotel, and we are always looking for ways to ensure that each guest experiences the very best we have to offer. We believe that very best service experiences are genuine, anticipatory and personalized and we will continue to work to ensure our guests find that level of service at our hotel. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our training processes, and we hope you will return to stay with us to experience the results of that work firsthand.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Everyone was so hospitable and friendly from check in to check out. Treated us like we were the most important guests there. On the evening of our first night, we went to the Fountain Lounge and they happened to be out of the strawberry cake. So after I explained it was my birthday, the bartender had someone create a plate of chocolate covered strawberries with Happy Birthday written in chocolate! Mr. Guzman is fantastic & heat asset to the hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Earl, Director of Catering,was a pleasure to work with. He made my daughter,Missy, feel very special during our meetings prior to the wedding day. Earl's attention to details and his passion made the wedding day a fairy tale to remember. Thank you Earl to you and your wonderful staff! You are all professionals from the greeting from the Valet to your bartenders and serving staff. If you want a wedding to remember, The Roosevelt Hotel is the Best!

Room Tip: The service from the staff was excellent. The rooms were spacious and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

This historic property is nice. At check-in, I requested a room with a tub. No such luck. I was informed that it wasn't conceivable in an old hotel (Which I found odd, given that The Plaza in New York City has tubs). The rooms are nice, but has amenities that just aren't that useful. It doesn't has a mini-refrigerator or microwave, but it has a TV in the bathroom which, as I mentioned, doesn't have a tub. The location was nice and within walking district to Bourbon Street. The swimming pool is nice, but small. I also had problems with my bill which took way too long to correct. The parking is expensive, but I was able to park in a nearby lot for $20 a night. Overall, I would stay at this hotel again if the price was right. But if you are a family that wants more practical amenities like a tub, and a refrigerator, I would stay elsewhere like the Hampton Inn or Embassy Suites.

Room Tip: Park at the lot across the street from the hotel. It's reasonable and allows in and out access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank nedradc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,634 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 166 in New Orleans
3,081 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 166 in New Orleans
4,325 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
2,616 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $197 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing