We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #19 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in New Orleans”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend in a large room in the second tower. The hotel is located in the business district across Canal street from the Quarter.

The group who remodeled this place did a good job of keeping its character while doing tasteful updates. The staff was very helpful and nice throughout our stay from the front desk to the bell make. Albert the concierge was great on setting up things before we arrived.

The hotel has a two nice bars and several good restaurants. The rooftop pool was nice but crowded at times during the weekend. The rooftop has a bar and also provides food service.

As a diamond member we received a nice upgraded room and several other benefits. I would definitely stay here next time I am in town.

Room Tip: Second tower and high floors are the way to go. While the regular rooms are nice, I would pay for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,508
    791
    281
    119
    72
See reviews for
599
1,485
128
1,002
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I am a local and my husband and I stayed at the Roosevelt for a friends wedding our suite was lovely, it overlooked the pool. The pool staff was great, helped with chairs, towels and cocktails. Check-in front desk was a breeze.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southaven, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2014

One of the finest hotels in New Orleans - a city of fine hotels. Great location, accommodations great & staff friendly & efficient. I would stay there again & would recommend to anyone going to New Orleans.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Patrick,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you were able to stay at our hotel the last time you were in New Orleans. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and we are delighted that they enhanced your stay. The next time you are in New Orleans we hope that you are able to visit us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Beautiful hotel located just off Canal Street. Received an upgrade to stay in the Presidential Suite upon our arrival. We had requested a King Suite so to say we were pleasantly surprised would be an understatement. Even had we received the room we requested, we were still very impressed with the overall cleanliness, taste, and decor of the hotel. Very friendly staff. We ordered-in for dinner and have to say, the steaks were simply okay. Not bad, not great. I've stayed in many hotels in NOLA over the years and I have to say that even you pay slightly more to stay here, it is worth it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Michael M,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you were able to stay with us during your time in New Orleans. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and how they made your stay unforgettable. We hope that the next time you are traveling to New Orleans that you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARPON SPRINGS
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

What a great place to have a cocktail or two. Beautiful bar and GREAT SERVICE. Happened to find it on the way back to our hotel. What a find. Sazerac is an orginial drink of New Orleans. The bartender Andrew was very helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMES R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear James R,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at the Sazerac Bar the last time you visited us. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy classic cocktails and received wonderful experience. Our bartenders have a wealth of knowledge when it comes to the history of the Sazerac Bar and their specialty cocktails they make. We hope that the next time you are in New Orleans you are able to visit us again.

Cheers,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

One block from all the action in the French Quarters this hotel provides everything you would need and more. Beautiful pool and bar, restaurants specific to every meal, lovely gift shop, amazing staff. The first time I stayed here I gasped in awe at the beauty of the very large lobby area. Ballrooms are stunning. GYM and SPA services divine. A must at least once.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Marianne W,

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time the last time you visited The Roosevelt New Orleans. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our beautiful rooftop pool and bar, lovely gift shop and Fountain Lounge. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and we are overjoyed that they made your stay pleasant. We hope the next time you travel to New Orleans you are able to visit The Roosevelt New Orleans again.

Cheers,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We are Hilton Honors members, and we always stay at the Roosevelt Hotel for its quality, value, and location. It was our 42nd wedding anniversary, and we were upgraded to a fabulous, huge suite and a bottle of chilled champagne at no extra charge. The celebrating in New Orleans, along with our stay at the Roosevelt, was a memorable occasion. Ellie and Thad Toups

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellietoups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,307 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,158 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 164 in New Orleans
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
4,638 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 164 in New Orleans
1,662 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing