We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Pekin, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel and Service”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at The Roosevelt in New Orleans for 4 days and I must say our stay was extremely enjoyable. The staff at the Roosevelt and simply amazing! They gave top notch service and catered to all our needs. The hotel is gorgeous with it's royal feel and beautiful classic décor. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieBoundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,468
    784
    278
    119
    69
See reviews for
592
1,467
128
985
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel was great. Great guest services. The lobby is elegant and beautiful without being gaudy. The hotel restaurant is very good. Best of all, the room quality matched the lobby quality. Rooms seemed recently renovated (i.e. no 1980s "luxury" here). Great showers in the bathrooms, great bath products offered--even a VERY good hairdryer! Cannot say enough good things about this hotel! Don't be scared by the Waldorf brand--we got a very good deal here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous. As you would expect from a Waldorf Property the service was also excellent. They have 2 bars and 2 restaurants in the hotel as well as a pool menu on the weekends--so lots of on-site options.

Here is what annoyed me the entire trip--CHURCH BELLS. I didn't realize that I hate church bells until this trip, but when they start ringing at 7am (60 seconds) and again at 7:30 (15 seconds) and then that repeats for until 10pm. I stayed in tower one in room 11008. All of my colleagues in Tower 1 said they church bells woke them up every morning. Colleagues in Tower 2 said they could barely hear them.

The event space was quite nice. We had about 150 attendees at the Summit and the space worked perfectly to provide enough space yet keep us contained. The only issue was that there wasn't room for meal in the event space so we had to use the Blue Room (which is gorgeous). The food served at the event, however, as a bit of a let down. Overall, great for an event and definitely worth returning too!

This place is great for a work event, but I would choose to stay a bit further away from the French Quarter if it was a R&R trip. The French Quarter is loud anyway and the addition of the Church Bells drove me bonkers!

Room Tip: Do not stay in Tower 1. The further from the Church the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie_Venetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hotel staff is helpful and professional. While the prices can be more than other area hotels, the rooms are clean and you are close to everything. Definitely worth looking into for both business and pleasure trips.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

A great classy hotel with superb customer service. I try to stay there every time I am in New Orleans whether for business or pleasure. Restaurants are good and Sazerac is the perfect bar to hang out at.

Try it at Christmas and you will always stay there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BoilerDan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moundsville, West Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel was awesome although a bit out of our league. The room was tastefully decorated and very welcoming. The bathroom was modern and clean. The towels were very plush and better than what we have at home. The bed was Huge and comfortable. The climate control worked well and we kept the temperature at 65. The employees at the hotel were friendly and helpful. It was nice to be able to text the front desk with any questions. Their responses were quick and useful. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friends_from_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Mixers in the showers gave off too much hot water. Parking is too expensive even if it is the "going rate". Rooms were very quiet...Pillows too soft...rarely got enough towels for the number of people in the room. Elevators too small.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
4 Thank rltj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 163 in New Orleans
2,858 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 163 in New Orleans
1,636 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,459 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,544 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing