We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of America’s Great Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #21 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of America’s Great Hotels”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel! I have stayed here several times since it reopened as a WA. I did so again on my last visit to NOLA and was pleased again. The hotel is a beautifully restored architectural master piece from the lobby to the bar to your room! The staff are total professionals: valet, bellman, front desk, housekeeping, wait/tender staff and turn down service.
My room this time was a two room suite, the rooms are about the size of a racket ball court with 1 and half bathrooms. I was traveling for business and there was more than ample room to spread out and do work. Everything is top notch: linens, TV, furniture, and refrigerator.

The bar and restaurants are always good! The bar is worth a visit just to see the murals. Also, check out the antique floor clock in the lobby, truly a rare French example from the late 19th Century.
The hotel is in a great location, close to the French Quarter, CBD and a short walk to the Warehouse/Convention center. Easy access off of the interstate as well. I’ve traveled to NOLA about 30 times in my life and this is my favorite hotel!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JNPnPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,412
    770
    271
    118
    66
See reviews for
579
1,436
125
962
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Lake, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a beautiful, historical hotel where the quality and service match the opulence of the interior. The rooms are spacious and immaculate. It's conveniently located to the French Quarter, shopping, and eating. Plus there is a beautiful roof pool when you want to just relax, which is rare in the heart of a city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Tamara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is the second time within a year that I've had the great good fortune to stay for a long weekend at The Roosevelt. Other hotels, new and historic, would do well to study the customer service (above and beyond) of ALL LEVELS of Roosevelt staff. I've stayed in three other "historic hotels" and sadly, they seem content to rest on their history instead of honoring that history while keeping up with new technology and new methods to attract/keep loyal guests. The Roosevelt understands that you can't just have been good in the past, you gotta keep up with the needs and demands of savvy travelers. Among the amenities we enjoyed, the Rooftop Pool (sadly the Rooftop Bar wasn't open on either of my visits), Sazerac Bar (a complimentary beverage), Domenica Restaurant, Room Service, Teddy's Café (free refills on tea and coffee) and the Gift Shop. Again, ALL our interactions with cashiers, housekeeping, servers/waiters, Concierge, front desk staff: every one was well-informed and even more importantly, appropriately empowered to offer token lagniappes to add to our enjoyment.
The rooms are smallish, but so quiet and CLEAN, which after a day treading the DNA-imbued sidewalks and streets of NOLA is a very welcome thing indeed.
The location is very, very convenient for those who wisely use the trolley to move around the city and as close to Bourbon Street as one who just goes to Bourbon Street for the marvelous restaurants would want to be.
So save those Roosevelt dimes and treat yourself and someone you love to a lovely Roosevelt Respite.

Room Tip: Room 20458 is rightly-sized for one or two people. It has a king bed, comfortable sitting area and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eB0LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We just spent a long weekend at the Roosevelt and hated to leave. The surroundings are beautiful, the staff extremely professional and helpful, a great location, wonderful amenities, lots of history. We enjoyed the Sazerac Bar, Rooftop Bar and Pool and Domenica Restaurant. We left knowing we really had a luxurious getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

It was a excellent experience altogether, fantastic staff, great food, walking distance to most interesting spots, and a very, very nice concierge. The room is nicely decorated and the fact that it has two big screen TV's and a sitting room makes a huge difference. The beds are fantastic, hard to leave them in the morning!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Valeria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We love to stay at historic places. This hotel was re-opened after complete restoration and renovation about 5 years ago, and is exquisitely appointed in the lobby! Its like stepping into the early part of the century's opulent luxury. The rooms are 100% current technology and luxury, though, and extremely comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMCDALLISON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
211 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a great classic hotel! The location is great! Everything is within walking distance! Shops and shopping, as well as plenty of restaurants! The staff members were polite and friendly! The rooms were very nice. And very big! The bathroom was big as well! Will go back! Great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler2054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear WorldTraveler2054,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you were able to stay with us the last time you visited New Orleans. We are delighted to read that our staff was extremely polite and friendly. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and that you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,005 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,388 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing