We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #18 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Traveled for a long weekend stay during which I was planning on proposing. Prior to the trip, I worked extensively with one of the Roosevelt's concierges, Brennan, who did a fantastic job in providing information and helping to set up a perfect weekend. The hotel room (King Suite) was fantastic: roomy, comfortable, and certainly luxurious. A separate living room and bedroom, a walk-in closet, and a bathroom with intricate tiling. One can only hope that all hotel beds are that comfortable.

Regarding amenities, we managed to have meals at both the coffee shop (convenient, tasty food) and Domenica (excellent Italian fare, delicious pizzas, even better happy hour specials). We visited the pool, which was small (we did not swim), but had really nice views of the city. All the staff we dealt with we courteous and friendly, and we did not want for much of anything during the stay.

Overall, a great stay - awesome, old school luxury feel throughout. In addition, it's easy walking distance to the French Quarter, and to plenty of restaurants and must-see sights.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if possible; higher level rooms allow for a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Chris C,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor Community. We are delighted that you had an unforgettable time the last time you stayed at The Roosevelt New Orleans. We are overly delighted that you shared your engagement with our hotel and pleased that Brennan was able to make this moment magical. Thank you for your kind comments about our amenities and delighted that you were able to dine in Domenica. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and that you visit us for many anniversaries to come.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,399 - 2,405 of 3,972 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Roosevelt definitely delivers as an elite hotel in New Orleans. This was my first stay, and I was blown away. I originally booked a standard king room for my fiancee and I (I proposed earlier in the day and got the room to celebrate), but I emailed the staff and told them my plans. They quickly informed me they could upgrade me to a luxury suite, which ended up being one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in. Upon checking in, we were personally met by Albert, one of the personal concierges, and he guided us to our room and even helped with our luggage. Shortly after settling in, a bottle of champagne and strawberries was sent up, another great touch. All in all, it was more than I could have asked for. The bed was great, the shower was great. My fiancee loved the tub. It was huge. We had dinner plans that night, so we didn't have much time to explore. We did spend about an hour at the rooftop poll. It is small and was crowded, but the drinks were great and the atmosphere was very relaxing. I'll definitely make sure I stay at the Roosevelt the next time I'm in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Sean1,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are always overjoyed when guest share life milestones with our hotel. We want to congratulate you on your recent engagement and hope you have a lifetime of happiness. We are pleased that Albert, our personal concierge, was able to exceed your expectations and make this joy time. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and you are able to stay with us again soon.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The Roosevelt delivers exceptional comfort, great service, and a perfect location that will make your New Orleans trip even better. Visit the spa and rooftop pool. The Sazarac lounge is always fun too.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tupelohoney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi tupelohoney66,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you had exceptional service the last time you stayed at The Roosevelt New Orleans. At The Roosevelt New Orleans, we believe that we do create a wonderful city oasis for our guest. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and if you are able to return you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel! My family was just passing through New Orleans, and this hotel was just what we wanted! The lobby is out of this world gorgeous with marble eveywhere and ornate chandeliers. The room was beautiful, very spacious with large, comfortable beds and a large bathroom. The hotel is in walking distance from all of the attractions, and the staff was very knowledgeable with directions!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hello Amy C,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that during your travel through New Orleans you were able to stay at The Roosevelt New Orleans. Thank you for your kind comments about our gorgeous marble and ornate chandeliers. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from the Crescent City you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel is over the top. This was my second stay. Room was ready upon early arrival, upgraded our entire group to suites. If you are a diamond member, this is your spot. I have stayed here with non-status members of Hilton and they had the same excited reaction to the hotel. Great location, out of the French quarter noise, but close enough to be right there. The pool is a great hangout. Enjoy the drinks and chill. Really a great place with nice people working there.

Room Tip: Tower 2 is ideal for great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElliotL37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear ElliotL37,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time during your recent stay. Staying at The Roosevelt New Orleans, it creates a city oasis because our hotel is close enough to the attractions but you can definitely slip away and relax. We are pleased that you were able to stay at our pool and enjoy the New Orleans Sun. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and you are able to stay with us again soon.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights on my first trip to New Orleans. The hotel is located across the street from Bourbon Street so location is fine. The lobby is quite beautiful and the restaurants are also very nice. We spent a few hours in the Fountain lodge listening to a 3 piece jazz band and the atmosphere was fun. Albert our concierge was great. We were not only escorted to our room we were given maps and tips on where to go and how to get there, he spent a good 20 minutes helping us get the lay of the land. We are HHonors members so we were upgraded from a standard King to a King suite. 650 sq. Ft with a separate sitting area and second powder room. The room was exceptionally clean and very nicely furnished. There were 3 tvs in the suite one in the main bathroom. The rooms were quiet which was appreciated. The pool is small but the area is very nice. My experiences with the front desk were only positive. They are on top of everything, one night we told housekeeping we didn't want turn down service and the front desk called us to confirm this. I called the concierge desk about a rental car for a day and was given a quick and accurate response which saved me doing my own research, and their recommendations for authentic BBQ were exactly what we wanted (The Joint). I have to stop to single out a couple of staff members. Randy was outside of the hotel everyday that we were there either hailing us a cab or giving us directions He was great, he always put a smile on my face and could not be more helpful or pleasant. George the bellman as well was very personable and friendly. My only complaints are these. There is no coffeemaker in the room, for me this is a pretty big complaint but for others might not matter. Second and also a big one, the bed was way to soft, again a personal preference.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. It's convenient to everything. It is expensive though! ! $5 Cokes and near $20 burgers! ! $ 42 Valet parking! ! WHOOO! ! I will say though, for those prices, I can't complain because it was worth it in my opinion. I booked with my Visa Signature and got several perks included. $25 Dining credit, free Wi Fi, Breakfast at the Fountain Lodge and a room upgrade! ! Front Desk clerks were outstanding! ! (Shunta & Courtney) Room Service was outstanding as well. Exceeded my expectations! Great experience for us! Next time we're in the area, guess where we're staying?!! Better start saving now though! ! Ha!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Clifford G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,701 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,923 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 166 in New Orleans
3,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,364 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,649 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $191 - $777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing