We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent location to relax between work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
new orleans, United States
1 review
“excellent location to relax between work”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

no better place to be when it comes to work, food, relaxing and pleasure. if you are looking for a place to get work done in a beautiful , relaxing atmosphere, this is your place. the hotel is excellent, the food music and drinks can't be beat. The service and the people are what dreams are made of. It is difficult not to stay focus on work in this environment while relaxing at every availiable moment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Fred M,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that your staycation was a relaxing and refreshing experience. It gives us great pleasure to read that you had a wonderful experience in our restaurant and that our staff was wonderful. We hope that if you have a chance to stay in New Orleans again for a mini break you are able to stay with us.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,368
    760
    266
    115
    64
See reviews for
561
1,408
124
956
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

An hour outside of New Orleans I realized I left a lot of valuables in the room safe. Having had an earlier wonderful experience with the concierge Don Star, I called him for help. He took my information and assured me he'd call right back. Minutes later he called with every bit of information I needed to secure my possessions. He personally tended to the retrieval of my things so that I would have no worry about whose hands they were in. He also personally took care of the proper safeguard and transport of my possessions and must have suffered more than an inconvenience on my behalf to see that I was confident and comforted. The hotel is a wonderful, happy place. Don Star helps make it so. Because of him, I'll return to the Roosevelt instead of trying another hotel merely for variety.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Justine S,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are overjoyed to read that Don Star, one of our concierges, was able to help you retrieve some of your belongings that were left behind. Don is an asset to our Roosevelt Team and we will proudly share with him your comments. We highly value your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Grand hotel in great location. Stellar service. The lobby is so elegant; harkens to another era. I booked using Honors points, had a lovely room on a high floor. Turndown service at night.

The Fountain cafe was lovely and I was given two free drinks as a Honors Gold member.

That being said, the room and bathroom are small by New Orleans standards. Two people probably would have a hard time. And felt a bit cramped of one, though very lovely.

I would try to get a larger King room the next time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyntraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Brooklyntraveling,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time during your last stay. We are delighted that you were able to use your Honors points and enjoy a weekend in New Orleans. It gives us great pleasure to read that you had a wonderful time in our Fountain Lounge. We highly value your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Had a wonderful stay. Very comfortable beds. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great location only 1/2 block from the French Quarter. Elegant appointments throughout the hotel. The fitness center was excellent. Stocked with fresh fruit, water, etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful time during your last visit at The Roosevelt Hotel. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We hope that the next time you are visiting New Orleans you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed at the Roosevelt Hotel for a conference.While New Orleans shutdown under the threat of ice, the stay was marvelous. Staff was very friendly. The food served at a working lunch in the meeting rooms was excellent. Though the rooms are not huge, they are very well appointed. Beautiful grand old hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank thomase453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are so sorry that you had to stay in New Orleans during our ice shutdown, but we are delighted that we were able to give you marvelous service. In the South we might be good at some things, but the threat of ice definitely can stop this city. We hope that you are able travel to New Orleans again and we look forward to your return.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Missouri
Level Contributor
166 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the Roosevelt Hotel was terrific. The lobby is gorgeous. The hotel facilities for dining and bar are excellent.

The room was very spacious. If I had not known better, I would have thought we were in a suite. The bed was very comfortable.

The staff was friendly and readily available, when needed. My wife had a massage at the spa, which she reported to to be first rate.

I am having a difficult time finding something, anything, negative to say, so I will stop here. I highly recommend the Roosevelt and Hope to stay here again in the future.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RYKan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear RYKan,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful time during your stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with us and our TripAdvisor community. We are overjoyed that our staff was extremely friendly and able to help with every need. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we look to serve you again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This place is terrific. Great lobby with beautiful art and decor. Bars are great especially for a hotel. Matthew the bartender carefully mixes the drinks. Rooms beautiful. Convenient location!! Room was on the small side but bed more comfortable than the one at home. All housekeeping staff greet you walking down the hall. Staff is trained superbly!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MiloMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear MiloMiami,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you had a regal experience! We are delighted that you loved our lobby and décor. Matthew our bartender is a delight and we are pleased that he was able to make you perfect cocktails. We will definitely share your comments with him and let him know that his craft is well appreciated. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we hope that you are able to stay with us soon.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,904 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,002 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
1,592 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#19 of 161 in New Orleans
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing