We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay and Nice Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Walton Beach, FL, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay and Nice Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great clean rooms, nice front desk service, a restored 1920's look to the whole building. Christmas decorations were outstanding in the lobby – a must see. The restaurant and room service need a little work keeping the food warm and the order correct, but nothing major. Housekeeping and the staff was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Doug M,

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful experience at The Roosevelt Hotel during your stay last December. Thank you for taking the time and letting our Trip Advisor community learn about your stay last December. Holidays at The Roosevelt Hotel are a special time and we are overjoyed that you were able to experience it. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we look forward to your next stay.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,376
    760
    266
    115
    65
See reviews for
563
1,412
124
958
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have had the pleasure of spending lots of time at this first class hotel and it is everything and more. Especially check out their website and find out when they decorate for the holidays and it's a definite family portrait.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade if there are any available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Janice B,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with our Trip Advisor community. We are delighted that you feel our hotel is a must see in New Orleans. We are pleased that you were able to travel to New Orleans during the holiday seasons. We hope that your travels do not keep you far in the New Year and we look forward to servicing you again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed in several Waldorf properties and after reading other reviews on this location, I was a bit concerned that we would be disappointed. That wasn't the case, we loved our suite, and even though it was over Christmas holiday and the hotel was full, we never heard a sound in our room, it was like we were the only people on the floor. The lobby was beautifully decorated, and the room was lovely. We have no complaints about the property, and I would stay here again and recommend this to others. The location was perfect for us, close walk to Bourbon Street, but far enough away so we were not bothered with street noise. One drawback is the cost of the parking, $42 per day. The hotel should definitely have a more reasonable daily rate charge for parking. We were disappointed in the dining experiences, or should I say lack of, couldn't get a reservation for Christmas Eve or Christmas, and the coffee shop was a mess. They always made mistakes with our food orders and never apologized for their mistakes. We left messages for the restaurant manager to make reservations for brunch and they were never returned. Also spoke with the coffee shop manager about making reservations and he said someone would definitely contact us, but they never did. We stayed 4 nights and never dined on the property once, which was disappointing.

Room Tip: Loved our two room suite on the thirteenth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2zocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear 2zocean,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you were able to stay with us during the holiday season. We are pleased that you loved your suite and that you were pleased during your stay here. Thank you for your kind comments about our Holiday decorations and we hope that you left with many memorable moments. However, we are truly sorry that you did not have a wonderful experience with your dining . We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve during your recent stay. We strive for unparalleled service delivery at our hotel, and we are always looking for ways to ensure that each guest experiences the very best we have to offer. We believe that very best service experiences are genuine, anticipatory and personalized and we will continue to work to ensure our guests find that level of service at our hotel. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our training processes, and we hope you will return to stay with us to experience the results of that work firsthand

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We visited New Orleans to attend the Sugar Bowl game between Alabama and Oklahoma. The hotel was located within walking distance to the Super Dome. The Christmas decorations in the lobby were beautiful and the service was excellent. In addition to being in walking distance to the Super Dome, the hotel was only a block away from Bourbon Street and the French Quarter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear William B,

We are delighted that you were able to travel to New Orleans for the Sugar Bowl game. We know that this is an exciting time for any fan and we are pleased that you decide to stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with our Trip Advisor community. Thank you for your kind words about our Christmas decorations and we hope that you left our lobby with many memorable moments. We hope that you have a wonderful New Year and we hope that you are able to visit us again in 2014.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

A little background: I am a transplanted Louisianaian, having lived in Florida for the past 30 years. I still have family living in the New Orleans area, although as the years pass, sadly, the family is getting smaller and smaller.

My uncle and I are very close, and during a trip back to New Orleans last year, he and I walked through The Roosevelt to admire its beautiful holiday decorations. Although my uncle has lived in New Orleans his entire life, he has never actually stayed at The Roosevelt.

When I was planning this year's trip back home, I asked my uncle if he would be interested in our spending a night at The Roosevelt. You'd think I had just told him he won the lottery. He jumped at the invitation, and plans began to me made. (Be warned, the Waldorf-Astoria name does not come cheaply. Our double queen premium room was $299 for the night.)

A little history--The Roosevelt has been an institution in New Orleans ever since the 1800's. In its former life, it was known as The Fairmont. When Hurricane Katrina hit, the Fairmont flooded and was closed. During that time, Waldorf-Astoria bought the property and re-christened it The Roosevelt.

Our stayed at The Roosevelt occurred the week between Christmas and New Year's and I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this hotel.

Checkin was quick and efficient, and although I arrived there around 11AM, I was given a room, which I really appreciated. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, and have ginormous big-screen TV's.

The bellman brought up luggage within 15 minutes of it being requested. He even got ice for our ice bucket!.

The hotel was again beautifully decorated for the holidays, which added to our enjoyment of the property.

We dined at The Fountain Room, and were very happy with our meal there. The Sazerac Bar, a historic bar in New Orleans, located in the hotel, was too crowded when we were there, so we didn't get to try it out. Because the time we went is a VERY crowded time of year in New Orleans (upcoming home Saints game, New Years Eve, upcoming Sugar Bowl), I wouldn't expect the hotel or the Sazerac to be as crowded most other times of the year, with the exception of Mardi Gras or Jazzfest.

The only negative I have to report on regarding The Roosevelt is their daily parking fee, which is $42. Yes, I know this is an upscale hotel. But $42 a night for parking is excessive.

Everything else about the Roosevelt is wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, and again, remember the parking fee is $42 a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fl_mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear fl_mermaid,

We are overjoyed that you and your Uncle were able to stay at The Roosevelt Hotel during the holidays. We know that when you travel especially back home, you would want your experience to be wonderful. We are very pleased that we were able to live up to your expectations and that you had a delightful time. We want to thank your family for being a patron of our hotel. We hope that you have a wonderful New Year and if you are able to travel back home that you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had an opportunity to travel this time with my kids and Grand kids and staying at this property was a great experience for all of us. The Christmas decorations was a place for many pictures, We will be talking about this trip for long time, I was personally facinaded with the history of the hotel, wish I could tour the whole building and discover the many secrects of this building have.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Agustin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Agustin C,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our community. We are delighted that you were able to stay with us this holiday season and had a wonderful time. Our hotel does have rich past, and we hope that you were able to walk our block long lobby and read the many placards we have stating the particular history of the items located in the lobby. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and that you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Let me say, The Roosevelt New Orleans is GORGEOUS. The rooms are spacious, unlike other hotel rooms you may find in or near the quarter. It's just a couple of blocks away from the hustle and bustle of where it all happens-Bourbon Street, Cafe Du Monde, French Quarter, etc etc. We never felt unsafe going back and forth, everything was well lit and there were quite a lot of people going in and out of the hotel. There's also a couple of stores in very close walking distance (Rite Aide, and corner market) that has gallons of waters and snacks which we found very helpful. It can be noisy, but it's off the Quarter so not as loud as if you were in the thick of it. The cons: No coffee maker in the room. We had to go down stairs to their bakery every time we wanted a cup. In the morning, the last thing I want to do is stagger into an elevator to get my caffeine fix. Also, there was no refrigerator, so we couldn't take any of the awesome food we ate back with us for later. Lastly, the internet is about $15.00 per day. You'd think after spending $400 a night at the hotel they'd throw that in. It's free if you use their cafe, but the cafe is only open during certain hours, not late at night when we'd need it. Over all, the hotel is so beautiful, but the little things like coffee, fridge and internet would have far improved my memory of it.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room on a high floor, to avoid the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexisK_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear rebekah k,

We are pleased to learn that you feel our hotel is gorgeous and a lovely property. We are delighted that you were able to walk to all the memorable landmarks from our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community and letting them know about your recent stay. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and that you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,912 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,014 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing