We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November stay at The Roosevelt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #19 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United States
1 review
“November stay at The Roosevelt”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hats off to the entire staff. I don't think I have ever been to a hotel where even the staff working to change linens would greet you so kindly in the hallway, and with a smile. I'm not sure if it is because of Waldorf Astoria, because of New Orleans or a combo between the two but it made us feel extremely safe and welcomed. Every time we ran into someone in the hallway the greeted us with a smile and a kind, sincere "good morning." The thing that we missed the most at the hotel, however, was the presence of complimentary tea/coffee. I realize there is a barista downstairs so its a conflict of interest, but most hotels at least have a way to heat up water and with my wife being sick on this trip it would have been very beneficial. I found myself going outside the hotel often to get reasonably priced tea/coffee. Everything else about the hotel was outstanding. We attended a wedding reception and the found was amazing. I wish I had time to eat more of it! My daughter and I also got to meet Chef John Besh in the lobby which was a really cool touch. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,506
    791
    281
    119
    71
See reviews for
598
1,483
128
1,002
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Enjoyed the old'school theme. Friendly and helpful staff, variety of on-location restaurants and sparkling rooms. A few blocks off the Riverwalk, but still a good location. I will definitely go back and recommend others to try it out.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The lobby is beautiful and the hotel is extremely quiet and well maintained. The room was extremely comfortable and the shower was awesome. The pool is outdoors with a hot tub and bar. The issue is the price. For the rate the concierge was virtually useless (they couldnt even recommend an oyster bar thats attached to the other hilton and couldnt be bothered to know anything about tours), the location was a bit farther than some of the other hotels, and the "status" perks are poor. As a gold member we received a drink ticket, to a bar you couldnt get a seat at (sazerac). If you're getting married or having a bar mitzvah this hotel would be stellar, but for a vacation in NO I'd seek out a different hotel. There is another Hilton property on St Charles avenue that seems to be more of a vacation spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great place ... Sazerac bar was something from the past come to life! Staff was very cordial and helpful. Meeting rooms were very ornate and the perfect temperature. I would recommend this location to anyone looking for a classic hotel stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel has exactly two things going for it: the fitness center, which is fabulous, and the restaurant Domenica, which we ate at 4 times in 6 days. I wouldn't recommend spending $400 a night to stay here. I'm sure you can find a room where the tv doesn't work properly and the bathroom is rundown and has absolutely no ventilation for a lot less per night if that is the kind of experience that appeals to you. The bottom line is that I think I have to right to expect more for what it costs to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
14 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Alison,

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to consistently provide our guests extraordinary experiences in every facet of their stay, and we have reported your concerns with guestroom appointment and amenities to our maintenance team to ensure we are presenting the best accommodations possible. We hope you will give us a second chance to demonstrate our commitment to timeless luxury and unparalleled service the next time you are in our area.

Thank you,
Jason Egli
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in October. The hotel was beautiful and and every experience from check-in to check-out was pleasant. The room we had was in tower 1 on the 14th floor (I think) and was very comfortable. We had a chance to hang out at the rooftop (4th floor) pool and bar for a bit and thought it was really nice to be up there in the hot tub with drinks. The concierge was helpful with suggestions, maps, and such. As for the location of the hotel it was a block from Bourbon St. so it was nice being across the street from the French quarter. Overall it was great and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank young j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Excellent hotel, service, location. Would definitely stay there again as long as they provide free WiFi in the rooms. Availability of free WiFi in room is now a factor I use when deciding on a hotel. Other than that, I highly recommend the Roosevelt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 164 in New Orleans
2,926 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 164 in New Orleans
1,660 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
2,514 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
4,626 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing