We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #21 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a surprise and gem . Business and pleasure trip with 2 couples . Left the Marriott on canal st to come stay here, same price , no comparison . This should be on centurion/ platinum list for NewOrleans. The service , ck in , room with multi nozzle shower with good water pressure, bedding , fitness center, pool area , restaraunts , bar , and Michael shoe shine were excellent

Room Tip: Look at deluxe king vs superior king , superior king if you want more room may be woth the Couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,411
    770
    271
    118
    66
See reviews for
579
1,435
125
962
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

When you walk into the lobby you are greeted with opulence. The check in was easy. Our room was immaculate and comfortable. Bed was excellent and wonderful toiletries. I thoroughly enjoyed the restaurants in the hotel and the location is a quick walk over to bourbon street. I really enjoyed my stay at the Roosevelt.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jsb331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on way to Georgia. The initial impression is stunning - and the welcome desk service was excellent too. Rooms are well appointed, and the bathrooms have been modernized and refurbished well. Overall, very impressed and quite a difference from the cookie cutter hotels on Canal Street - yet not much more expensive. There is some strong competition locally (e.g. Mazarin) but will definitely be on my list for next trip. One tip - don't take valet parking - self parking is right across street and is 1/3 cost.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave55ides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stated at the Roosevelt for Halloween. The Hotel is Beautiful and the staff excellent. We had no issues during our stay and eat at all the dining options. We will be back next Halloween! If you do stay make sure to call the hotel to help with your planing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 4EddyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is an establishment to at least visit if you do not stay here. Friendly and accommodating staff who are sincerely concerned about your stay. The rooms are lavishly furnished, with many different room layouts to choose from to satisfy any desire. It is located within walking distance of Bourbon Street and a casino.

Room Tip: Check for specials on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
287 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I took her sister and husband to New Orleans to celebrate their 50th anniversary, at the same hotel that they honeymooned at in 1963. The name is the same, but it has been totally renovated, and is now a 5 star hotel located just off the French Quarter. The rooms were not huge, but were very comfortable, although I must say that the housekeeping staff is OK but leaves a little to be desired. All the other staff that we had any dealing with, were very professional and friendly. They all went above and beyond, especially when they found out that my sister and law and her husband were celebrating their 50th anniversary. My only real complaint is that they do not provide an in room coffee maker. I love a good cup of coffee when I first get up, and the coffee in the coffee shop was pretty bad. This was my first stay here, but if I can get a good deal, I would stay here again. I don't think that I can bring myself to pay the normal rate here for a weekend get a way, as there are other hotels in the area that are almost as good, for half the price. If you don't mind paying a little more, this is definitely a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Any floor except the 5th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, GA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Let me preface by saying that I travel for work on a budget, so very rarely do I get to stay in a luxury hotel like The Roosevelt. However, for the days I stayed, it was actually cheaper than the Hampton Inn! Go figure, but I wasn't going to complain. From the moment I stepped in the lobby doors, I was in awe. In a time where big box hotels are the norm, The Roosevelt takes its guests back to a time when going to stay at a big-city hotel was an experience -- when every moment from check in to check out was glamorous. The property maintains its historic charm while offering totally updated and modern amenities. The staff were all very friendly -- I didn't have any special requests to be fulfilled or anything like that, but I was always greeted with a smile when I walked through the lobby, etc. I felt that the valet price was reasonable and it was really convenient that the lot was right across the street (meaning I didn't have to wait forever for the car to be pulled around). The room was plenty large enough with beautiful furniture. The bathroom was huge, too, with a separate area to get ready in. I also enjoyed having a TV in the bathroom -- that was a really nice touch in the morning. As odd as it sounds, the thing I enjoyed the most was the turndown service. I'd come back to my room with chocolates on the pillow, the robe and slippers laid out, and a closed circuit channel on the TV that plays really soft, relaxing music. It was such a nice environment to come into after being out for the evening! I didn't get to explore much of the city, but felt that the hotel was close to most major attractions (i.e. the French Quarter) but far enough away to be relatively quiet. Were the opportunity ever to arise again, I'd definitley stay here. This is the place to go if you want to take a trip back in time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,116 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing