We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here during the Essence Festival and we truly enjoyed our stay! The hotel was very inviting...the room was spacious and we were surrounded in true luxury! We will be staying here again next year! Took the advice of another vistior from Trip Advisor and parked in the garage acroos from the hotel...saved $160!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Frank1269,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you had a magnificent time at our hotel during Essence Festival. We hope that you have a wonderful year and look forward to you’re future visit.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,323
    746
    262
    112
    62
See reviews for
548
1,375
123
946
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have a hard time believing these reviews are from real people who actually stayed in this hotel. The lobby reminds me of an old beleaguered train station, hardly the spectacle that some of the reviewers are describing. The distance to the French Quarter is reasonable and you are a block from the St. Charles Street trolley. Canal Street is a half block away. The "suite" includes a nice-sized bedroom with a comfortable bed; the sitting room is the same size as the bedroom, actually too large for a warm inviting sitting area: very awkward, to say the least. The bathroom was honestly comical: it was so small that the towels had to be kept in the bedroom closet. Not the spare towels, but the bath-towels were actually kept in the closet 15 feet away. There was no room to place any extra toiletries in the bathroom. When I asked incredulously at the front desk if they were serious about the bathroom size in our "suite," the manager noted that this was an "historic hotel........." The front desk, as noted by others, was poorly staffed, with the clerk often leaving for prolonged periods. I have not recently stayed in a Waldorf or any other supposed luxury hotel with similar non-chalance. The bar was lovely, although not enough tables were available and the restaurant was very nice. Overall experience was barely average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MFHLouisville_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Greetings MFHLouisville_KY,

Thank you for choosing the Roosevelt New Orleans and taking time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We welcome comments such as yours so that we can be aware of area in which our guests enjoy their stay as well as for where we can improve our service levels, physical attributes and amenities offered. It is clear that the particular room we selected for you did not meet your expectations and for this please accept our sincerest apologies on behalf of the entire Roosevelt staff. We are looking forward to our newly renovated restaurant opening later this year and will pass on your comments regarding the seating capacities in our temporary dining location. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you consider us during your next visit to the wonderful city of New Orleans.

Jason Egli
Front Office Manager
Jason.Egli@WaldorfAstoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Sleeping rooms are very spacious, comfortable and well decorated. The hotel staff does an excellent job of attending to guest needs.

The hotel is located just across Canal street from the French Quarter. The entrance to Bourbon street is only 2-3 block away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gibson270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear gibson270,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to read that you found The Roosevelt Hotel first class in all ways. Thank you for your kind words about our team members and we will absolutely pass this information along to them. We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back our way.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayne, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was the first time we stayed and it should be on your list of hotels to try. This property is a wonderful place and the staff was excellent. attention to detail and cleanness was outstanding. The bedding was first class. Very clean hotel, the lobby is a must see.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Jack M,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to read that you feel The Roosevelt Hotel should be on everybody’s hotel list. Thank you for your kind words about our team members and we will absolutely pass this information along to them. We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you our way.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Really liked the Roosevelt. Very friendly staff, comfortable clean rooms, within walking distance to many attractions and good restaurants. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends. Had 2 teenagers with us and they really liked it too. Pool is much smaller then it appears on the website.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Dana L,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful time during your stay. Your patronage and loyalty are highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you and your family back for another family trip.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is the first time I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria in New Orleans. I felt like a celebrity. The hotel is beautiful, clean, elegant. Hotel staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. When i'm back in New Orleans, this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Ursula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Ursula J,

We are delighted to read that you felt like a celebrity during your stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are overjoyed that our hotel staff was friendly and welcoming. We hope that you travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and The Roosevelt Hotel.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. The hotel accommodated us perfectly for relaxation and luxury. We were able to walk to all of our New Orleans destinations. Additionally, I felt comfortable with lounging at the hotel whenever we felt like staying inside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Griffin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Ursula J,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor Community . We are delighted that you were able to spend your 20th wedding anniversary with us! Thank you very much for sharing that special occasion and we are delighted that our hotel was perfect destination for some needed relaxation and luxury. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we look forward to your future stay.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,810 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,867 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing