We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a first time stay in a Waldorf Astoria hotel and New Orleans which was a memorable vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #19 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Good location from Bourbon St. And a real nice luxurious hotel with a rooftop pool. Kids enjoyed the pool, food, aquarium, market, street car, and did I say food?!! Amazing where ever you go but pricey. Would definitely stay at this hotel again being that hotel staff was accommadable. New Orleans is a good place to vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,754 - 2,760 of 3,871 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Service and accommodations were 1st class. Some of the best we have ever experienced. Not one issue that was not positive. Staff, suite, room service all excellent. Good location, close to everything. Perfect recommendations for restaurants. My wife and I celebrated our 20th Anniversary and this place could not have made it better. Concierge assisted me prior to arrival with flowers and champagne and it was perfect. All there when we arrived.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank MotherofGroom42487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is not much to look at on the outside but beautiful inside. The lobby must be one of the most remarkable in the U.S. The hotel is expensive but has top-notch service, excellent food, and even a pool on the roof. For good or bad, it is only a block or so from the strip clubs, beer holes, and tacky souvenir shops of the French District. I didn't like the $15/night fee to use the internet (although it is free in the lobby).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is tastefully decorated and clean. The hotel personnel were very courteous and eager to assist. Breakfast was great. The bar tender made great New Orleans traditional cocktails. Lunch in the restaurant was great. Our waiter was pleasant and courteous. The food was very good. My room was very clean and I slept like a baby. The parking valets were quick and helpful with luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was my first time to stay at the Roosevelt in New Orleans. It was wonderful! The staff was friendly and helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I'd like to say this is an absolutely gorgeous hotel. The staff are very friendly as well. The room was immaculate and appointed beautifully. The bed was one of of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We got this hotel at a great value as well. We were very excited about that! The location is in a safe area and within walking distance to basically everything. We had a wonderful time. Also, the rooftop pool and bar area are very relaxing and peaceful. I would stay here over and over if possible!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allyson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Take a step back in time to a place where the powerful and talented liked to stay and play. You don't have to imagine what it looked like, because it looks just like it did in the 1940's. I got to see bands there in the late 1970's, and early 1980's and remember it well. New Orleans has a lot to see, and it begins at the Roosevelt !!

Room Tip: During the carnival season bring ear plugs. That holds true anywhere in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
7,519 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,238 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 167 in New Orleans
3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,782 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 167 in New Orleans
2,593 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 167 in New Orleans
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $203 - $840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing