We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What a beautiful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #12 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights during Jazz Festival in early May. The foyer is just stunning. The room was well appointed with one of the most comfortable beds you will ever have the pleasure to sleep in. Breakfast was superb with some great example of local cuisine added to the usual Hotel breakfast menu. My only problem during my stay was the fact that I was overcharged $300 on my final account. One staff member was unhelpful dealing with the problem . I was able to go back to the desk about an hour later and found another staff member who sorted the problem out for me immediately. It didn't concern me or detract from my stay - I just had to find one of the many incredibly attentive staff to sort it out for me!

Room Tip: Best to face away from Canal St - the noise of the Police cars and Ambulances at night can be quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leylandbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Leylandbros,

Jazz fest is a wonderful time to travel down to the Crescent City and we are delighted that you chose to stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. Thank you for taking time and telling our TripAdvisor community about your experience during your stay. We truly regret that you had a disappointing experience with a staff member at the front desk, but delighted that the issue was resolved. At The Roosevelt Hotel, exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and The Roosevelt Hotel.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,039
    679
    233
    94
    49
See reviews for
470
1,214
111
846
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denham Springs, LA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I wanted to treat my wife to an enjoyable weekend in the "Big Easy" to celebrate her birthday and the it turned out to be fabulous. It all began with the help of the receptionist in Reservations for the Roosevelt and ended with all the pleasantries of a luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Bernie D,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you were able to have a special weekend for your wife at The Roosevelt Hotel. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from our hotel and we look forward in sharing many memorable moments with you in the future.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed at the Roosevelt July 17th to 20th. This is our third stay at this beautiful hotel. We were fortunate enough to stay in the Huey P Long, Governors Suite. Absolutely perfect in every way. The location is great, a very short walk and you are right in the quarter. The staff was wonderful, from the bartenders and serving staff in the Sazerac to the staff in the gift shop. A special thanks to Zaine Jack for taking such good care of us. This will be the only place we stay in NOLA.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Tammy K,

We are delighted that you and your loved one were able to stay in the Huey P Long, Governors Suite during your last stay. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to learn that you feel our hotel is the only place to stay in New Orleans and we thank you for your patronage. We do appreciate your kind words about our staff members at The Roosevelt Hotel and will be sure to pass the compliments along to their managers. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and The Roosevelt.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the staff courteous. The value of the luxury that we received for what we paid for a deluxe king room was amazing with my husband's military discount. A wonderful, wonderful price for a wonderful, wonderful hotel. It was lovely to hear Michael, the shoe shine fellow, singing "Good Morning," as I walked down the hall. Even with what looked to be a slow week for him, he was jolly and sang so beautifully. We had a lovely stay that set a fantastic tone to a fabulous vacation in New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Carmen R,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor Community. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time during your stay at The Roosevelt. Thank you for your kind words about Mr. Mike. He is absolutely a joy and definitely brightens our lobby up in the morning for our guest. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We cannot exclaim enough about how lovely this property has become. it is luxurious in every respect, close to interesting places in New Orleans, and the service is incomparable. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Sylvia P,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor Community. We are overjoyed that you would highly recommend our hotel to others. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Roosevelt for a conference in mid-July. Everything was top notch, from the room to the way the hotel staff handled the conference. The rooms are small compared to your typical hotel room, but they are updated and have everything you need for a comfortable stay. Location is great, right off Canal and just a short walk to Bourbon. The outdoor pool and Jacuzzi were one of the best I've seen in the French Quarter / Downtown area for a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tampa1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Tampa 1029,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor Community. We are delighted that you were able to travel to New Orleans for a conference. The Roosevelt Hotel is absolutely the perfect location for work with the option to enjoy the city around us. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy our rooftop pool and relax from a day’s work. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and that you consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and escorted inside for checkin. There was great attention to detail in making sure our needs were met. An room upgrade was provided at checkin. Our time at the pool was outstanding. The bar service was exceptional. We also enjoyed how close the hotel was to everything we wanted to see and experience in New Orleans. Our stay was very enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Jim C,

Nothing means Southern Hospitality than a warm greeting and escorting inside The Roosevelt Hotel. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor Community. We are overjoyed that you had an extremely satisfying stay and that you were able to experience all of New Orleans. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from the Crescent City and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,693 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,868 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#24 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,388 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing