We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury and Location - The Roosevelt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Luxury and Location - The Roosevelt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I recently visited New Orleans for the first time to celebrate our 35th Anniversary. Prior to our trip, Personal Concierge Aimee Contreras contacted us via e-mail, letting us know she could assist with personal recommendations and reservations. She made dinner reservations and answered our questions regarding a rental car and music venues. When we arrived at the Roosevelt, Ms. Contreras escorted us to an upgraded suite in a hidden hallway on the second floor. The room included two separated sitting areas, a dining area, and two baths. She also gave us a gift of a New Orleans special treat -- pralines.On the night of our anniversary, a bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries arrived in our room - such a nice way to finish off our special day!

Although we were most impressed with Ms. Contreras, every member of The Roosevelt "team" -from the front desk clerk, to the gentleman at the shoeshine station, to the maids. The spa accommodated a last minute appointment on my part for a nail polish color change. The nail technician, Mariah, was extremely knowledgeable in answering my questions about the spa. She also answered my numerous questions about New Orleans.

We had a drink in the bar during our stay - great atmosphere and service. We had a refreshing cup of iced coffee from the coffee shop in the lobby. We visited the rooftop pool, which had a magical night view.

Once outside the hotel (it was hard to leave!) we were just a block away from the French Quarter. We were also able to walk to the Riverfront area from the hotel. Just a block away was the cable car stop that took us to the Garden District.

If you are seeking both luxury and location in New Orleans, visit The Roosevelt!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonnaStram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Josie4,

We are delighted that you were able to spend such a special occasion at The Roosevelt Hotel. Ms. Contreras is one of our finest personal concierges and a true asset to the program. We are delighted to learn that her suggestions help make your stay a memorable one. Thank you for your kind words about the entire staff at The Roosevelt Hotel. We know that your interactions with our staff members can define your hotel stay, and we strive to provide a unique service experience that is anticipatory to the highest degree and personalized to the occasion. Thank you for sharing this experience with our TripAdvisor community. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,376
    760
    266
    115
    65
See reviews for
563
1,412
124
958
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
511 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a gorgeous restored hotel just off Canal Street. Room was comfortable and I was upgraded to small suite. My room had a small bath with shower only. Bed and linens were very comfortable. Lobby was lovely with stunning chandeliers. Easy walk into the Quarter. Several food choices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sggypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sggypsy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor community about your recent stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to read that you had a wonderful visit last time you stayed at our hotel. Your loyalty and patronage are very important to us. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We loved our stay at The Roosevelt! Would definitely stay there again - peaceful and quiet, a nice change from the Quarter. Our room was fabulous and spacious - great view of the pool area. Walking distance to the Quarter, great restaurants and the trolley car stops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Debbyghouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Debbyghouston,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor community about your recent stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to read that you had a wonderful visit last time you stayed at our hotel. Your loyalty and patronage are very important to us and we will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great hotel. Location right off Bourbon Street. Very safe and convenient. Bar is very elegant with a great atmosphere. Italian restaurant inside the hotel is a great place for a nice simple meal. Would recommend for families or couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Robert P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor community about your recent stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to read that you had a wonderful visit last time you stayed at our hotel. Your loyalty and patronage are very important to us. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Even though it is a Waldorf property, my memories of the dated (ok...run down) Fairmont kept my expectations for the renovated Roosevelt in check, as it was a surplus of Hilton Points that made this hotel choice for me. Fortunately, all the surprises were pleasant ones.

A delightful front desk Associate met our upgrade request with keys to a very large 2-room suite, with a bathroom the size of a racquetball court. All hotel associates we met over the next two days were polite, professional and unfailingly pleasant, with Housekeeping exceptionally patient with our very late room exits each day...always having the room cleaned for our return.

Being NOLA, we executed our dining at local favorites such as Emeril's and Acme, so we can't comment on the restaurant(s), but the Sazarac bar was pleasant, and the rooftop pool area was clean, quiet, and quite enjoyable.

The location of the Roosevelt is not ideal, nor is it too far from the Quarter or Harrah's (if your feet hurt, grab a Rickshaw ride for $15...transportation and fun all at one.

Not our very favorite NOLA digs, but definitely in the top-third, and if you can catch a rate, or need to burn some Hilton Points, it's a solid choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear JetDealer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are overjoyed that you have return to The Roosevelt Hotel and that you were surprised by our recent renovations. It delights us that you were able to utilize your Hilton Points to book an enjoyable trip to New Orleans. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we look forward to your future stay.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcell, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Beautiful and glamorous.
Great restaurant and staff.
Virginia in housekeeping was wonderful. Justin with the valet and front staff knew just how to make you feel welcome and safe. Marika at the restaurant was sweet and helpful. Go do a swamp tour! Awesome!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctormay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Doctormay,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor community about your recent stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to read that you had a wonderful visit last time you stayed at our hotel. We are delighted that our staff specially Justin, Virginia and Marika were able to help you during your stay. Your loyalty and patronage are very important to us. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a very nice hotel that is located near the French Quarter, but the issues I had with the front desk ruined my last day. The hotel seems to be disconnected with the customer loyalty programs, Hilton Honors, and the reservation system. Before making my reservation I was notified by Hilton Honors that my next stay at a Waldorf Astoria Hotel would be upgraded or a amenity would be provided if a upgrade was not available, but while checking in, the front desk quickly informed me nothing in my records indicated I was entitled to a upgrade. Not wanting to debate the issue I said okay and accepted the room that was reserved. The second issue was when making my reservation I was told by the reservation person that my reservation came with a 2:00 PM check-out time, not if available. On the last day of my stay I passed by the front desk and to make sure that the 2:00 PM check-out was in my record, I was quickly informed that the check-out time was 12:00 PM and a late check-out was not possible. When I explained that the reservation's clerk had told me that the rate came with a 2:00 PM check-out time the front desk personnel told me only when available. I explained that at no time did the reservation's clerk say when available, I then asked for a manager. When the front desk supervisor arrived she began to argue the point of availability again and finally gave in after scolding me not to be a minute later than 2:00 PM, this encounter ruined the rest of the day and my opinion of the Roosevelt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KD1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear KD1956,

We appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We truly regret that you had a disappointing experience with some members of front desk staff. We can assure you that we have personally spoken to our staff regarding your comments. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Again, we sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and we hope that next time you are in town, you give us another opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve. Thank you once again for your comments

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,910 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,011 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing