We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Elegance!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #19 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here Christmas Eve and it was a real treat! The hotel was decorated like a Christmas wonderland! Lots of hustle and bustle everywhere since everyone goes there for picture taking.
Our room was so nice! It was large and had a sitting area. The bathroom was small but overall an excellent room!
We went to the Sazerac bar and the bartender was able to make me a speciality mocktail since I am pregnant. It was nice to be offered a real mocktail rather than juice that most bartenders offer me.
Love this place and hope to make it a holiday tradition to go back every year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Angelle V,

We want to congratulate you on your pregnancy and we wish you much joy and happiness. Holidays at The Roosevelt are a magical time and we are so delighted that you were able to experience our lobby lightings. Thank you for taking time and letting our Tripadvisor community know about your memorable moment. We are delighted to hear that our Sazerac Bartenders were able to deliver a special mocktail just for you. We will absolutely let them know that it was much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon and anticipate your return.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,935 - 2,941 of 3,920 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked the Roosevelt for our vacation to New Orleans because of its proximity to the French Quarter, restaurants, and other attractions. We were not disappointed in the least. What a beautiful property. I commend the property owners for the fantastic job in renovating the hotel after Katrina. The trim work, the ornate fixtures and the service was fabulous. What a delight in seeing the hotel in its glory.
Rooms: were very clean and the care can be seen how the staff keeps the room up.
Service: a 10 out of 10. What a great cadre of of house keepers and room service. Well attired and very polite.
I will book again at this hotel. Thank you Roosevelt!

Room Tip: If you can, get the suite. What a treat with the upgraded showers and separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlmora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Mlmora,

We are so delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. Thank you very much for taking time and letting the TripAdvisor community know about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our recent renovation and soak in the history of our hotel. Thank you for your kind words about our house keeping staff and how their attention to detail surpassed your expectations. We hope that your travels does not keep you to far from New Orleans and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Magnificent grand dame of New Orleans with wonderful staff rooms and amenities. A must see and stay at hotel; right next to the french quarter. Excellent suggestions from entiere staff and the bar is a great place to have drinks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear TripAdvisorMember,

Thank you so much for taking time and letting our Trip Advisor community know about your recent stay. We are so very pleased to hear that you believe our hotel is magnificent grand dame of New Orleans. Thank you so much for these kind words. We will look forward to your return and hope that your return soon.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Roosevelt for five nights in April. The rooms are modern, well-appointed, and. I travel frequently for work and the bedding is very comfortable. The coffee bar, Teddy's, is an elegant place to conduct business or get a dessert. The hotel personnel go out their way to provide excellent hospitality. This is my hotel of choice when visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumbera1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Rumbera1967,

Thank you so much for taking time and letting our Trip Advisor community know about your recent stay. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your room and our many outlets. Thank you again for the kind words about The Roosevelt Team Members. We will look forward to your return and hope that your travels do not keep you far.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

One can feel and see that this hotel has history. The bar is something to see so is the hallway. Unfortunately the rooms with this amazing ugly carpets need desperately a refresher. Unfortunately the beds are also not the newestest on the other hand the bathrooms are ok. The fitness is not up to the standard this hotel would like to be.
The pool and the bar is also a little bit dated. The cappucino is not worth its name.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Go100go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Go100go,

Thank you for staying with us. I understand that you found our hotel to be somewhat dated. I do appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room appearance is an area we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share. Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Best,
Mark Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My favorite thing about this hotel is the linens they use. There beds are to die for. There is no evening restaurant so plan ahead for dinners out. The bar is great. The history of the hotel is great. My watch went missing from my room not so great. Oh and the charged my for valet parking-I didn't have a car, again not so great. Of course the removed the charges when made aware.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking time and letting the TripAdvisor community know about your recent stay. We are so delighted to hear that one of your favorite things about our hotel is the linens. Many do love our beds and we are so pleased that you were able to sleep soundly during your stay. We regret that you had an unfortunate experience during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken very seriously. We invite you to contact our Front Office Manager, Mark T. Remer at mark.remer@waldorfastoria.com to speak further about your stay.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

So my husband and I are hilton honors members, I actually gold which is significant since if they have availability they are supposed to upgrade the room and also include breakfast. or give hilton gold members access to their lounge (which has food and drinks at certain set hours), anyway, the reason I bring this up is because this hotel does not participate in such nonsense. I've notice as a whole Waldorf Astoria claims that every single guest should be treated equally and so that is the reason they don't like to participate in such a program that distinguishes individuals. But the truth is that there are differences between guests. If I travel a lot and always stay at a Hilton I think I should be recognized as VIP AND TREATED SO.

That being said the hotel is divine, it is beautiful , service is great and it is centrally located without being on top of Bourbon street which you would never want to do. But if I knew that there would be no perks I actually would have just at the W or somewhere else because this was pricier.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank em m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear em m,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at our hotel. We at take a great deal of pride in meeting our customer’s expectations and are disappointed anytime we fall short of that goal. Your input and concerns are appreciated.

Again, thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to my attention. We value your business and will continue to work hard to exceed your expectations.

Thank you,
The Roosevelt Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,618 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,869 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
4,316 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#17 of 166 in New Orleans
2,611 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $196 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing