We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Treat For Us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #21 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
640 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Nice Treat For Us”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We normally do Hilton family hotels and were able to stay at The Roosevelt for three nights on points - so the price was right. The Roosevelt is an old beautiful hotel filled with antiques and rococo furnishings that we enjoyed. We were upgraded to a king suite so that was great, too. For the down side, our bathroom was tiny and there was no counter space to set things. We like to have a nice cup of coffee or two when we wake up and many hotels have free coffee set ups in the lobby which we welcome or, of course, a coffee maker in your room, but the Roosevelt had neither. So, we were disappointed when we were forced to use a Starbucks-like cafe for our coffee fix to the tune of $9 for two large cups. The coffee was good but we would've appreciated a coffee bar in our room or in the lobby. The location is ok - we normally stay in the Quarter near Jackson Square so it was a little hike to the heart of the Quarter but was ok. I shouldn't complain about the cost but the car parking was also ridiculous. We enjoyed our stay in this classic hotel but will probably opt for the Quarter next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Bobby44881,

Thank you for taking time and letting the Trip Advisor Community know about your recent stay. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time during your stay and were able to use your points. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay in New Orleans and were able to experience our classic hotel. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and that you will be able to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,412
    770
    271
    118
    66
See reviews for
579
1,436
125
962
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

VERY small room but as expected at WA everything inside the room was very nice. The Domenica restaurant inside hotel was excellent. We took a cab from the airport so we weren't subject to the $42/day parking which is a ridiculous price when you are forking out ~$400/night for a 250 square foot room. Also, $7 for an 11oz. bottle of water out of the fridge is over-the-top. The hotel is very nice but the nickle and diming gets to be a little much after a while...I spend 75 or so nights on the road and I wouldn't avoid this place at all cost but I certainly wouldn't go out of way to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Todd C,

Thank you for taking time and letting the Trip Advisor Community know about your recent stay. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time during your stay. We are delighted to hear that you loved Domenica restaurant, but sad that there were other aspects of your stay you did not enjoy. Thank you for your comments and we hope that if your travels bring you back to New Orleans you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

As soon as I stepped foot out of my car, everyone was gracious and displayed true Southern hospitality from the valet to the check-in, bell hops and bartenders. My room was a king non allergy room. Very clean, large room, walk-in closet and large bath. Have been trying to find my 'home away from home' when traveling to new Orleans for business and I think I just found it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PNCOOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear PNCOOK,

Thank you so much for taking time and letting our Trip Advisor Community know about your recent stay. We are so honored that you feel that The Roosevelt is your home away from home. At The Roosevelt, we know that business travel can be difficult and our goal is to make sure you are very comfortable like you were in your own home. Thank you on your remarks about your experience when you first enter into our hotel. We will pass along the comments to our bell staff, valet and bartenders. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we cannot wait for your return.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Let me start by saying...I alternate between this hotel and the Ritz Carlton in NOLA-I travel there once a month or so for a little get away. This is paid for by me...so, with that said...every time I stay in this beautiful hotel...the room doesn't get cold enough....I wake up sweating in the bed..I would say maybe I just got a bad room once....BUT this has happened with any room I have had..

so, if you don't mind the temperature in the room...it's wonderful...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear susan s,

Thank you for being a patron of our hotel and your loyalty is greatly appreciated. Also, thank you for taking time and commenting on Trip Advisor about your recent stay. We are so grateful that you love our hotel, but we are sorry that your last stay the temperature might not have been correct. Thank you for sharing this information and we will make sure that we correct the problem for future guest. We hope that your travels bring you back to New Orleans and we hope that you consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Booked a 3 day weekend getaway at the Roosevelt for first weekend in March. Lots of good possibilities in N.O., but chose the Roosevelt because in addition to being a 5 star property, they welcome dogs, for a fee.

Some time before we left I was checking reviews on the hotel, and although most were complimentary, there were some negative reviews, particularly about substandard rooms. So, we were a tad unsure what to expect.

Arrived to a pleasant and helpful welcome from valet parking people and bellman. The lobby is classic grand style, spacious and bright. Checkin finished, we rode the elevator to our floor.

The room was excellent - had clearly been updated recently. King bed, nicely appointed bath, and a large separate sitting area. Bed linens were modern and high quality - crisp white sheets over and under a puffy duvet, with great pillows. Sitting area had a comfy sofa facing a large lcd TV. All in all, a great room to come home to after walking all over the city for two days.

Used the spa/gym two mornings - well equipped with gym equipment, and bottled water, ice water garnished with lemon and orange slices, and lots of big towels were appreciated.

Had dinner in hotel restaurant first night - service was very good, food fine. Exactly what you expect from most hotel restos.

In summary, our stay was excellent - our concerns over the poor reviews were completely unfounded in our experience there. The dog agrees - one of her better get aways.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antiqueshowscanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear antiqueshowscanada,

We are so delighted that you were able to have a family getaway to New Orleans and decided to stay with us. Thank you for taking time to review your experience on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that we lived up to your expectations and that you had a comfortable stay. There are a lot of things to see in New Orleans and with our location one can be very tired at the end of the day from walking. Thank you for your kind words and we are so pleased you enjoyed your bed linens. We will let our valet staffs and bell staffs know that their greetings made you feel like you were at home. We hope that your travels bring you to New Orleans and we cannot wait for your family to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We splurged on this hotel, and it didn't disappoint. Our room was gorgeous. Extremely comfortable, clean, and classy. Lobby was so pretty. Service was great. Wonderful amenitiesWe booked the Waldorf experience and received $50 per night hotel credit and breakfast each morning. We typically don't care for hotel bars and restraunts, but the Sazerac bar was the exception. Pool area was awesome. Parking was steep at $42 per night. We really liked the location. Just off canal, an easy walk to most attractions. Great experience

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Julie G,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are so delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage of The Waldorf Experience and had a wonderful time in our Sazerac Bar. Thank you for the many compliments on our rooms and we hope that you had a comfortable stay. If your travels every lead you back to New Orleans we hope that you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonhead
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed there for a wedding-3 nights stay. The bedding was fabulous! I never had a better nights sleep!! The staff was polite and very helpful in everyway! Thanks Don for all your help in giving us advice on restaurants, clubs, etc. The bar is very cozy and romantic. The restaurant is excellent. There is just nothing that you could complain about. I have to say that we were lucky to be in a suite in tower 2. It was very quiet. The room was beautiful. Why would you want breakfast included when you have so many wonderful local restaurants to explore?? Never once heard ANY hallway noise. I'd go back there in a minute! Last time in NOLA we stayed at the Royal Sonesta. You talk about noise!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiltonheadGolfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear HiltonheadGolfGirl,

We are so delighted that you were able to stay with us when you were in town for a wedding. Thank you for your many compliments. At The Roosevelt Hotel, we hope that every customer feels like they are at home and have a wonderful time. We are so delighted to hear that Don gave you many suggestions on where to visit in New Orleans. New Orleans is a place where having a bad meal is not an option, and we are so delighted that you were able to experience taste cuisine during your stay. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we will look forward to your stay.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,005 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,388 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing