We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in the Big Easy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in the Big Easy”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed at the Roosevelt recently for a week long business trip/convention. I've been to NO many times but this was my first stay at the Roosevelt. The place was beautifully decorated for the Christmas season. The overall service in the hotel(excluding the restuarants/food service) was excellent. The rooms are very nicely appointed and the sleep quality was excellent. The water pressure in the shower could be better improved but it was about par with most hotels. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a large flat screen tv. The turn-down service was a nice treat.

The mini-bar is a bit expensive but typical for this type of hotel. The mini-bar is automated such that as soon as you remove something it is automatically charged to your bill - even if you are just looking and put it back. A little bit of a hassle but they provide you with this info upfront when you get you check in.

The only complaint about the hotel is with the wait staff in the breakfast/lunch area. Since we had a group meeting, our breakfast and lunch were served in the private area in the blue room. The "hot" food was usually cold and the wait staff were not very efficient in restocking the entres or cleaning up. It was quite common for them to run out of utensils and napkins. On a few ocassions they took the unused silverware from the dirty dish tray and handed it out to other patrons....fairly disgusting to say the least.

Service in the bar was a bit slow as well. The drink prices are a bit on the expensive side. The one thing to keep in mind is that they do not serve food in the bar. If you want food with your drink - you need to go somewhere else. They did bring us some peanuts to munch on.

The hotel is conveniently located to the French Quarter, downtown area and Riverwalk. I would definitely stay at the Roosevelt again but recommend going out to drink or eat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exptraveller501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,466
    784
    278
    119
    69
See reviews for
592
1,466
128
984
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived on a Friday just for 2 nights and it is in a perfect location. Its a 5 minute walk to Bourbon St and Royal St and has a CVS and Walgreens next to it if you don't want to use the mini bar. The staff were lovely and the decor was stunning. They had all the Christmas lights up in the lobby and it was just spectacular. We have decided this is the only place we will stay if we go back to New Orleans. We had no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fareooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geismar, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We arrived early on a Friday afternoon. We were greeted by a bellman and taken into the lobby. The Christmas decor is breath taking. I went to the registration desk to check in. At no time was I greeted as a Hilton Honors member and in no way did I feel a valued guest. We went to our room which has a great view of the church on Barrone. Our room is small, very comparable to a room in Chicago or New York. The room is well furnished and comfortable. On Saturday we returned to our room to find it made up but with a foul odor. The hotel is lovely, with many amenities. There is no warmth or customer service from the staff. I spent last weekend as a guest of the Marriott and felt just as warm and welcome. If you are looking for southern charm please stay elsewhere.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank SuzieW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear SuzieW2,

As a regular contributor to Trip Advisor and a loyal Hilton Hhonors member, we value your feedback and will use it to better the services we provide to our guests. Not only as a Hilton Hhonors member, but as a Roosevelt guest, we pride ourselves on an exceptional arrival experience and apologize that your experience what not as expected. We very much appreciate our Louisiana guests choosing The Roosevelt knowing that there are so many hotel options in New Orleans and hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time you are in NOLA.

Happy Holidays,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
mark.remer@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The inside of the hotel main floor is very beautiful, the staff are very nice and the bartenders are extremely friendly and talented. The cafe is lacking in so much that we refused to even buy anything from there. Our room was a deluxe double and it was very nice and roomy. I have no complaints about the room itself at all and would love to stay there again as long as they replace the bed. Both beds were so uncomfortable we barely slept, even after an exhausting day. I am all for a firm bed with a plush topping but this was like sinking to the floor. It was too cool for using the outdoor pool but it seemed like it would be very nice during the warmer weather. The people actually staying at the hotel can be a hit or miss, most were very friendly, there were a few stuck-up women. The gift shop is surprisingly nice and not overpriced. One of the best things about this hotel is Domenica, we ate there a few times, the pizza is very good. The location is very good as well, just on the other side of Canal, so the FQ is not a far walk. Oh and I forgot my cell phone charger when we checked out and the cleaning staff turned it into security and I was able to get it back from them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mln76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Highly recommend. The front desk staff was excellent. We are Hilton Honors members and were upgraded to a Luxury suite -- wow, it was fabulous! The hotel is just blocks away from the heart of the French Quarter. It was so nice stepping out for a few hours to enjoy the lively New Orleans and return to a luxurious suite. The Lobby decorations for Christmas are breathtaking. The hotel restaurant - Domenica - is a must for a delicious pizza and cheese/meat plate. Overall, worth every penny.

Room Tip: Luxury suite - perfect. Rm 11311 is amazing! Rm 21228 (Superior Rm) was spacious, without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaliforniaSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel just a block from the French quarter - staff are very helpful esp the concierge team. Always helpful and a beautiful room - would recommend staying here. Had a super early morning check out too which was not a problem

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyandBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

On our trip to New Orleans we stayed at The Roosevelt Hotel. The hotel is an amazing builing with and equally amazing lobby and history. While we were there they were decorating the lobby for Christmas and each day we watched the tranformation from a wonderful lobby to a winter wonderland. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and always greated us with a smile and warm words. The suite that we stayed in was a King suite with two bathrooms and a bed that made it hard to get up in mornings. The only negatives were the cost of parking and internet otherwise this is a truly 5 star rating. The hotel is close to Bourbon Street, Canal Street and the French Quarter

Room Tip: All rooms at this classic hotel should be great based on our suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 163 in New Orleans
2,858 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 163 in New Orleans
1,636 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,454 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,540 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing