We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great First Impression”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great First Impression”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Beautifully restored hotel - lobby area is gorgeous - great bell staff helped with luggage quickly - check in speedy. Room was standard king and while small was definitely high end - bed super comfy - great shower and bath ammenities. We had a pretty good view of the river. Easy walking distance to the French Quarter. Roof top pool was nice place to hang out and spend the afternoon. Good bar in the pool area as well.

While it was not our first choice - we are certainly glad we took a chance and gave The Roosevelt a try - for the $$$ it was great stay and we WILL be making this our hotel of choice for our next trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accurate_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,466
    784
    278
    119
    69
See reviews for
592
1,466
128
984
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Very accommodating staff, nice rooms, good food. Highly recommend dining at Domenica (a John Besh eatery) in the hotel. The Carrie Me Away cocktail is excellent. So is the Garganelli pasta dish - very flavorful! Skip Sazerac restaurant for food (lunch their was not very good). Cold oysters on salad, never got extra dressing I ordered. Was there for a conference but would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbulldoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Immaculately restored hotel located i block across Canal Street from the French Quarter and away from the crowds. Responsive staff. Ultra quiet and spacious room. Beautiful block-long lobby, great people watching bar and home to Domenica restaurant serving John Besh and Alon Shaya cuisine.

Room Tip: King suite upgrade was $49 and doubled the space providing living room with large TV, dining area wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moroccantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our stay here was perfect. The hotel is beautiful and the service is top notch. We didn't have a great view, but it really didn't matter. The room is perfectly clean with high end amenities like a nice clock radio with ipod dock, huge shower with full body shower heads, great linens, and the nicest hair dryer I have ever seen in a hotel. The bar was classic and fun, and hopping at all hours. The pool is wonderful and many guests took advantage of it. The location is perfect for the trolley stop and right across from Bourbon Street, but sheltered from the noise. An all around great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OBXBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel made our stay in New Orleans the best we have ever had. Being on the edge of the French Quarter made it convenient but away for the crowds. The room was spacious and well maintained. The bar was active and a great place to relax. The concierge and valet services were superb. After this wonderful experience this is the only place we will stay when in town.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Debrah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful old hotel, but renovated very well. Our king suite was extremely comfortable and quiet. We didn't like our first room (overlooked pool and A/C units) and front desk was happy to switch us. They were also very understanding when we had to cut our stay short to get home before Sandy. Concierge August was very helpful. Location is perfect, short walk from both the Quarter and the restaurants in the CBD/warehouse district. Room was bright but didn't have a view of very much (apparently few rooms in the hotel do). One thing I found slightly annoying is that maid service is done between 9am-5pm, so if you go out for the morning/early afternoon, your room isn't always made up when you come back. Domenica is a great restaurant, nice alternative after many days of Creole food. Parking right across the street is only $15 a day (and I think that's where they park the $40/day valet cars anyway).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tubulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Good location just off Canal Street, within walking distance to French Quarter. Nicely restored, old world charm, excellent staff, comfortable rooms and has wonderful restaurant Domenica.
The concierge staff is first rate, very helpful. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Delilahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 163 in New Orleans
2,858 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 163 in New Orleans
1,636 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,445 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,538 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing