We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant Honeymoon Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #21 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellant Honeymoon Stay!!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here on the night before my husband and I left for our Honeymoon cruise. This hotel was ABOVE AND BEYOND our expectations!! I am a team member so I was able to receive a discount for our room. When we arrived the gentleman at the Front Desk upgraded our room to a suite just because I was a team member and it was a honeymoon stop for us. The lobby was decorated in Christmas array!! I was astonished at the beauty. Our room was HUGE! This was an incredible experience for my husband and I. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlairBarboVallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,408
    769
    271
    118
    66
See reviews for
576
1,434
125
962
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here September 2012. Had superior room on 12th floor. Room overlooked Canal Street, and the hotel is adjacent to the French Quarter. Windows not double glazed. Hotel look is 'old fashioned' rather than modern, but all good quality. Reasonable size room with separate seating area, 2 queen beds, 3 tvs and mini bar. Note mini bar is weighted so don't pick anything up if you don't intend to use it. Furniture over-sized which makes room feel a little crowded, particularly in the seating area. Comfortable beds, smallish bathroom with separate vanity area. Nice Ferragamo toiletries. Turn down service. Used room service once, took about 40 minutes, but quality of food good. Restaurants and coffee shop in hotel. We only used coffee shop for breakfast - good coffee and hot tea. If you want lower key breakfast eateries, there is an IHOP and MacDonalds nearby. Small pool but lots of seating area. Found all staff very pleasant and helpful. Easy check-in and out. try Crazy Lobster at Riverside for a seafood bucket.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelstar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
604 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed with our adult son in two rooms at the Roosevelt for three nights. The hotel reeks of history with major politicians and performers having stayed there. The hotel is older but the rooms have been updated while appropriately retaining the grandeur of the lobby. Service was professional as one would expect with a Waldorf Astoria property. Our rooms seemed small when a king sized bed was placed in a space designed for furniture of an earlier and smaller age. Our deluxe king bed room lacked a bathtub in an otherwise well equiped bathroom. The Roosevelt is in the central business district of New Orleans but conveniently located only a few blocks from the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are more removed from street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpeNox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the Roosevelt for a family wedding. The staff were incredibly knowledgeable, friendly, and welcoming. The concierges provided us with great restaurant/sightseeing recommendations, and even booked a bus tour for us. I needed to tie a bow tie, and the bartender in the Sazerac bar was kind enough to help me. Our room was very large and clean, with very high ceilings. The location is close to the French Quarter but not too close.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

After staying at the Waldorf in NYC I had high expectations and this hotel lived upto them, we stayed in a one bedroom suite with plenty of room for a family of four, the furniture was of a high standard and a nice pool, stunning lobby and we visited Teddys cafe in the lobby each day, there was no wifi so I had to visit McDonalds on the corner which is inconvenient. Location was a bit of a walk from Bourbon St but it was so quiet this is probably a good thing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stay in New Orleans frequently and have stayed at all of the luxury brands - and I think the Roosevelt is the top fo the list. My recent stay (9/7 - 9/12) prompted me to post this review. All things considered (rooms, services, location, etc.), it is hard to do better than the Roosevelt in New Orleans. And the rates are fairly good, if you're not there during a major event, rooms can be had at this world class hotel for less than $200.

The rooms: Large and well appointed . . . big, comfortable beds with lots of quality pillows . . . large LCD screen tvs (the suites have at least two big screen tvs) with a full range of channels and pay-per-view . . . marble topped dressers and vanities . . . and large showers with multiple head fittings.

The hotel: Oppulent lobby is always a pleasure to walk through . . . the bar and restaurant and are quality and a pleasure . . . the location on Canal street is convenient to both the French Quarter and the central business district (though it is a bit of a hike to the casino/riverfront area) . . . the pool area is fantastic (only the W's pool area is better) . . . staff is great and what you would expect from a luxury hotel. I have never been to the Spa but it is supposedly world class (but very expensive).

The bad? The Roosevelt will indeed hit you on the incidentals, as will any luxury hotel, so if you're looking to save a few bucks, be careful about ordering anything from the hotel - and keep in mind that the hotel is on the same block as a Walgreen's, so buy your needs at the drug store before you go back to your room.

Room Tip: Tower 2 tends to be more spacious than Tower 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Superchuck500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our family of 5 loved our stay at this hotel and had adjoining rooms. Stayed here for a conference for 4 nights in July. The lobby, stunning! I don't remember much about the staff... just that the food services for the conference could have been more attentive. Rooms and bedding were always impeccable. Had a lounge with music, coffee bar open late, fantastic shopping in the lobby store. Good location. Quiet. Has a UPS store in house--great for when it was time to send my heavy review materials home! Definitely recommend this hotel...so much so that we sought out a Waldorf Astoria in Orlando for our September trip and it was also terrific. I'll be looking for Waldorf Astoria's wherever we go from now on!

Room Tip: Didn't use spa or eat breakfast at hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,999 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,384 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,109 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing