We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“(Barry White Voice) Oh, yeah, baby!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“(Barry White Voice) Oh, yeah, baby!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Short and sweet business trip to the Big Easy. As a Hilton Honors member, was looking to keep it "in the family" and find a nice hotel with convenient access to both the Central Business District and the French Quarter. The property was formerly the Fairmont Hotel and has one of the most gorgeous and ornate lobbies - think very gilded, Art Deco style. My host in New Orleans explained to me that during Christmas time the lobby is totally decked out with unbelievable decorations. A few days prior to my arrival, I received an email from the hotel concierge introducing himself and inquiring if I needed any reservations during my stay. Didn't require his help, but it was a very nice touch. Front desk staff were very friendly, efficient, and knowledgable. Thanks to my Hilton Honors status I was upgraded to a luxurious one bedroom suite. Very neatly appointed with a spacious living room containing plush furnishings. It was perfect for a short business meeting with two other colleagues. Would be ideal for corporate recruiting or any other situation requiring a nice private space for a meeting. Down the hall was the bedroom with king bed. Fantastic mattress and comfy linens. I was on the 8th floor in Tower 1. A teensy bit of street noise did come in during the night - but mostly motorcycles revving their engines so it would have been hard to miss unless you were on the 50th floor of some building. And hey, it's New Orleans if you don't like street noise, you aren't going to like this city. Bathroom had both multi-head shower and a separate bathtub. Grabbed cocktails at the Sazerac Bar and enjoyed a couple of the namesake cocktails. The environment was incredible - again a very stylized Art Deco room with a beautiful bar area. Good place that got pretty busy on a Tuesday night. Only knock against Sazerac was that they did not offer any food beyond the bar snacks (cornnuts, pretzels, and really tasty truffled potato chips) Headed for dinner at Domenica - the Italian bistro in the hotel. I'll do a separate review there - but it was excellent. After dinner wandered one block from the hotel down to Bourbon street to take in that scenery. Conveniently located to take in all that the Quarter has to offer and stumble back easily. Overall, I would STRONGLY recommend this hotel for business travelers or upscale vacationers looking for a nice upper tier hotel in an ideal location with near flawless execution.

Room Tip: The suites are the best option for a longer stay or if you intend to conduct business in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GE1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,086
    689
    235
    95
    50
See reviews for
482
1,238
113
860
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

From the moment you arrive you are welcomed by very friendly staff. Everyone was nice and helpful. The hotel itself is beautiful. It has been renovated and the rooms are wonderful. It is located in a perfect area for walking to the sites.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Angie A,

The Roosevelt New Orleans appreciates you taking the time to write a review from your recent stay as well the opportunity to have you as one of our amazing guests. We really do feel that our location is hard to beat and hope that The Roosevelt will be your hotel of choice the next time you visit New Orleans. Thank you for your time and for being our guest.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is an incredibly beautiful hotel with an ornate lobby, and wonderful pool deck. THe room service is delicious, and the rooms are lovely, although not very big. It's close walking distance to the French Quarter, but far enough away that it's quiet for sleeping.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle's G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Michelle's G,

If you enjoy the lobby, I would encourage a return visit during the Winter Holiday season. Our holiday decor is absolutely stunning and not to be missed. Thank you so much for stopping Trip Advisor and being our guest.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

While this is an excellent restoration of a grand hotel and I could go on for pages as to what they do right, Poor wifi service prevents me from recomending this hotel as first class business hotel. What a shame. What good is complementrary internet if it is going to drop you regurally, even though your connection bars show an excellent connection.

With the importance of inernet today recomend to tripadvisor to add a "Internet Connection" rating in the "Could you say a little more about it" section.

Oh yes, if management reads this, your cashier/servers in the coffee seem to be serving people that cut in line before those who have waited. After this happened to us twice, we left the hotel and got coffee down the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dempsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Dempsy,

Rest assured that we are reading and listening. We know and understand how important our guest's feedback is to our continued growth and guest satisfaction. Your concerns have been noted and every effort will be made to correct and improve upon our amenities and services. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience and hope for the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The renovation of this was a labor of love and definitely worth a visit. The rooms are lovely, the staff is fabulous. The restaurants and bars are great. Perfect location! It has become my favorite and I am going on my third visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBNissan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear MBNissan1,

The Roosevelt appreciates you allowing us to be your continued hotel of choice while in New Orleans. Thank you so much for stopping by Trip Advisor and sharing your review. We depend on our guest's feedback to continue to grow and provide an exceptional experience. We look forward to your next stay and many stays after.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyersburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very nice hotel! The staff went out of the way to be kind and very helpful. The bar was very nice,if you don't want to feel out of place at bar be dressed up. The location is great,right on Canal Street, just a four minute or less walk to Bourbon Street. All in all worth the money!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear chris c,

Under 4 minutes guaranteed. March was an amazing time to be in New Orleans and we are so grateful that you chose us as your hotel of choice. The Holiday season is approaching quickly and hope that you will be able to come back and see us again soon. Thanks for stopping by Trip Advisor!

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during the Month of August. For a little more money, I upgraded to the King Suite and I have to tell you it was one of the nicestand biggest rooms I have ever stayed in for the price. The hotel is super-clean and management is amazing. Nothing was a problem, nothing was an issue..they couldnt do enought for you...its just one of those hotels that brings back customer service to the fullest extent. The Concierge desk was the best I have ever encountered....so nice and so willing to do whatever you needed. The entire hotel from top to bottom was magnificent. I stay in some of the nicest hotel around the country and this is one of the best! If you love the history of New Orleans and you like a super-clean, super friendly 5 star hotel and a great value, then look no further. Location is perfect...right across the street from the French Quarter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poloblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,756 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,032 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,440 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,462 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing