We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #19 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Hotel Looked Amazing, staff were friendly and efficient. Unfortunatley our stay coincided with the essence festival so the Hotel was full to capacity and very noisy. Our friends, my wife and I were in rooms 412 & 414 at the end of the corridor by the pool. Our first night we had Brocken sleep up to five in the morning with over excited guests that must experienced a pool for the first time in their lives and had no regard what sever to any other guests. Posted signs stated no access to the pool after 10pm but this was never monitored or inforsed. I complained to the front desk but was informed that every year it is the same at any hotel in NOL during essence as it is very busy. As a frequent user of the Hilton Brand, worldwide, one expects the experience and service to match the room rate and not for standards to be lowered to please the greater occupancy. Of all the hotels I have stayed at in the last three weeks (4 Hilton) this was the most expensive for parking $40.00 per night ( my car got a good nights sleep ) San Anotio $35 on River Walk, two were Free. WiFi, well that's another story. No tea coffee making facilities, tea & coffee available to purchase of course!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank GraemeSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear GraemeSmith,

The team at The Roosevelt New Orleans strives to provide a superior level of guest service for all hotel guests. When our guests feel that we have come up short to that level of service, we certainly appreciate knowing where we can continue to improve for our future guests. Thank you so much for stopping by Trip Advisor and providing an insight of your recent stay.


Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,333 - 3,339 of 3,968 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and the service was outstanding. The rooms are spacious, everything is brand new. There is wi-fi, there is a wonderful Guerlain Spa with an area you can sample all of the goodies.....The location is excellent if you are looking to be close enough to the French Quarter but far enough away. It is walking distance and it is a safe walk. There are multiple restaurants - a more upscale venue, a more casual Italian (including pizza) offering, and a little cafe. They did their best to use / restore all of the original items like wall murals and lighting fixtures when possible.

It is true that it is a bit expensive, but it is in line with the pricing of the more upscale properties in New Orleans. If you are looking for something special with a historic feel (but entirely new), then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SafariSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Shelane N,

Thank you for stopping by Trip Advisor and posting a review from your past stay. We love to hear feedback from our guests and knowing that our level of service is leaving lasting impressions. We look forward to your next visit to New Orleans and another opportunity to provide you with a True Waldorf Service.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here for a few days recently while visiting NOLA and all I can say is "wow"! First, the property is in a great location being only a few blocks (very walkable distance) from Bourbon Street, but far enough away to not get the noise or filth. The hotel has also been beautifully restored and has to be one of the most well-done restorations that I have seen. Plus, I found it particularly interesting that all of the staff was well-versed in the history and nuances of the hotel.

The service was also outstanding. Check-in and check-out were quick and efficient. The check-in agent even overheard my husband and I speaking about a recent celebration. Although our occasion had passed, she gave us complementary coffee and desserts for every night of our stay. It was a nice special touch. All of the other staff from the gift shop employees to the concierge were extremely courteous and efficient and provided wonderful recommendations. They were even able to secure a reservation for us at the most popular restaurant in NOLA that is booked months in advance! The rooms and rooftop pool were also well restored and clean. Housekeeping and general maid service was great and we never saw a speck of dirt anywhere during our visit.

Overall, this hotel is a bit pricey but it's worth every dollar and will certainly complete a trip to NOLA!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear goferris,

Congratulations on your recent celebration! We appreciate you choosing us to be your hotel of choice during your visit. Your review is a true reflection of the service that The Roosevelt New Orleans provides. Thank you for taking the time to let us all know about your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel - enjoyed every minute - won't stay anywhere else when I go back to New Orleans. It is truly grand. Comfy bed, lovely linens, quiet. We booked with What a Hotel- they are always outstanding.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor, tower 2 overlooking the pool. Totally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan905Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

susan905Ontario,

The Roosevelt New Orleans appreciates you stopping by and taking the time to let the community know about your stay. Thank you so much for the great review! We look forward to your next visit while in New Orleans.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have stayed several times at the Roosevelt , the staff is consistently friendly and helpful, the lobby is beautiful but it is amazing during Christmas and new year.
A must is to try Sazerac drink .

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renaldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Dear renaldoc,

Thanks for stopping by Trip Advisor! We appreciate you taking the time to inform us as well as the community about your stay.
The Holidays are indeed a magical time of the year, especially here at The Roosevelt New Orleans. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and thank you for being our guest.

Best.

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a really nice hotel. The artwork at the entrance and in the lobby is so detailed. I stayed in a suite on the 3rd floor overlooking the Orpheum Theater. The room had a living area with a pull out bed sofa and refrigerator. Comfortable bed and spacious room. The shower is very large with shower heads coming from everywhere. I can't really speak for the standard rooms. Nice restaurants and a drink at the Sazarac is a must. Very elegant. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autothief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Dear autothief,

We are more than happy that you were pleased with your suite and the hotel's amenities. The Roosevelt New Orleans offers the best luxury accommodations and is in an absolute great location for all to enjoy. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed here for a night on a business trip to New Orleans. Right from the moment you enter the lobby, the grandness of this newly refurbished property welcomes you.

The staff and the service is just excellent. The rooms are big and comfortable. I stayed in a standard suite . The main bathroom was small though with no bath tub, but i am not complaining. The toiletries were some designer brand and were excellent.

They have an open air swimming pool and jacuzzi on the 4th floor,it was nice!

It is located on the canal street and close to the french quarter.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakeshrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Dear Rakeshrg,

Thank you so much for stopping by Trip Advisor! Few names in American hospitality resonate for travelers and locals the way The Roosevelt New Orleans does.
From our legendary past – where the famous and infamous, the royal and revered, the celebrity and the Sazerac have all starred – to our modern-day luxury and extraordinary accommodations and meeting spaces, The Roosevelt is the destination where memories begin. Thank you for allowing the team the opportunity to show you a luxury experience and look forward to your next visit.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,693 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,922 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 166 in New Orleans
3,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,363 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,641 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $192 - $773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing