We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #22 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

There is nothing better than the elegance of Waldorf Astoria home away from home experience at the Roosevelt. With 5 years of hotel living in NO I spent the last three at my favorite. The Roosevelt in New Orleans is equal to or superior to all the hotels I have stayed from "The Waldorf" in NYC to upscales in Hawaii, Costa Rica, Italy, Key West and places beyond. None offers the friendly staff and elegance of the Roosevelt. It is indeed to total package to finest hotel living anywhere. Thank you to all of the staff and management, it was a great three years and although I am ending my NO journey I will remember the friendliness of each of you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txswinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

To our beloved txswinner,

Thank you so much for the kind words! We appreciate being able to accommodate you over the past few years and you will truly be missed. Please know that you will always have a home here at The Roosevelt New Orleans.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,417 - 3,423 of 4,042 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

From check in to departure, the hotel staff went above and beyond to make me feel welcome. Upon arrival my wife and I were greeted and the check-inn agent even congratulated us on being pregnant. It was a very personal touch.

We did notice that one of the 2 free bottles of water in our room had been opened, probably by the previous guest and missed by housekeeping. The reason for the 5th star was because when I reported it and asked them to replace it, they went above and beyond, gave us 4 free bottles of water, and gave us two free drink coupons just for the inconvenience. It was not inconvenient, it was an easy mistake for anyone to make. I was so shocked by the service, I would have been perfectly happy with the 1 bottle being replaced.

The staff every time we exited offered to give us directions, and every time we returned welcomes us back, often by name which means a lot. Also the concierge asked us what we like and made restaurant recommendations based on our interests, while many hotels seem to steer us towards chains that give them kickbacks.

I was really impressed with the art collection in the lobby, and loved that it was local art specific to the hotel. The clock was fascinating and I loved reading about the mayors lock box and the milk jug. The Roosevelt is a very beautiful historic hotel.

It was a very personal experience, excellent service, and less than a block from the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emanon256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear emanon256,

Thank you so much for being a recent guest with us and posting a review about your stay. We rely on our guest's feedback to continue to improve and provide a superior guest service. Our goal as a team is to go above and beyond to really WOW our guests. We are more than pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to be able to accommodate you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Ti was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The entire staff was wonderful!! The luxury suite was very spacious and very well appointed. The pool was very nice. And the poo. Bar and staff were very attentive. All of the services were first class and second to one in New Orleans. Will back again?

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resortdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Dear Resortdude,

The Roosevelt New Orleans would proudly welcome your return stay. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and for allowing other Trip Advisor viewers the opportunity to have a brief insight of your experience. Thank you for the wonderful comments and hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I had the chance to stay at the Roosevelt and was very happy with my visit. I had a two Queen deluxe room and the room was very well appointed with a nice size bathroom and comfortable beds.

The location of the hotel is excellent, just off of Canal Street and a couple of blocks from Bourbon. Walgreen's conveniently located next door for anything you may have forgotten. The gift shop in the hotel had a lot of nice clothing and gift items with very helpful and friendly staff.

The pool area was clean and surprisingly relaxing and quiet. It had an okay bar though it seemed you had to go up to it to order something, they didn't seem to go around to the lounge chairs to offer service. I was able to enjoy a great massage at the Guerlain spa which I didn't feel was any higher price than other spas in similar resort hotels in the Waldorf Astoria chain. While I didn't ask, I was surprised I wasn't told if they had day privileges for whirlpools or saunas/steamrooms when you paid for a service like most spas I have been to. Not even sure if they had them. It was steamy enough outside, so I didn't feel like I missed out but if they have those services available, they should let their guests know when they check in for their service.

Domenica's was fabulous. We ate there twice. Excellent, good quality Mediterranean fare. I recommend the salami/cheese platter in the evening for an appetizer. Delicious! The roasted cauliflower was also amazing. The Sazerac Bar is an excellent choice for before dinner drinks. I recommend the Ramos Gin Fizz. So yummy! Like an orange creamsicle.

All in all, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrscherry2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

mrscherry2000,

And, we would love to welcome you back! Thank you for posting your review from your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of the hotel's amenities.
Hopefully you were also able to enjoy the hotel's other dining options; The Sazerac Resturant and Teddy's Cafe. Just more great options for our guests. Thank you for allowing us to be your hotel of choice while in New Orleans and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Shorts would not be appropriate in the lobby. (That's a good thing) An elegant property in all respects. Don't miss the Sazarac Bar or Domenica restaurant where you'll find a charming and inspired chef.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Dear Gerry G,

Thank you for coming back to Trip Advisor and posting your review. We love hearing from all of our guests and their stays. Although shorts may not seem appropriate for the lobby, it is getting quite warm and we do infact welcome the summer time apparel. Thank you for being our guest! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

The Roosevelt is a elegant hotel with a great location. It is near the Quarter without being in the craziness. The roof top pool is nice and service was good. My only complaint was the music they played at the pool which was somewhere between lounge lizard and elevator music.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiHub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Dear ChiHub,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while in New Orleans! We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve our guest's experience in the future. New Orleans can get quite crazy at times, but rest assured that we are in the perfect location to enjoy it all. We look forward to your next stay with us while you are visiting the city.

Best,

Mark T. Remer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The room was comfortable, everything worked, the bed was comfortable and had nice linen, the concierge knew lots of stuff and was friendly and wonderful, the staff was friendly and knew a lot. There are three restaurants, one a coffee shop with packaged snacks and desserts and so on that is open long hours, one a lunch and dinner room kind of middle ground place, and one a more upscale place. There is a bar at the pool that serves food and drink, a bar right off the lobby, a mildly interesting gift shop, and a drop dead gorgeous lobby. What more could anyone want?

The spa is over the top expensive, so I didn't go, but it has a lot of advertised services.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margray_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Dear Margray_53,

We appreciate you staying with us recently and also for letting the community know about your experience. Thank you so much for acknowledging the hotel's amenities and the amazing professionals who service our guests. The Roosevelt team thanks you for choosing to stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,811 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
3,192 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
5,002 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
6,521 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $197 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing