We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #19 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a great place with solid service and beautiful rooms.

Every time we went out and mentioned where we were staying people mentioned how nice this hotel is. They were right! We loved our stay here and will be here when we return.

Book in advance and it will be the same price as placed much less appealing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoonieWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,506 - 3,512 of 3,919 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is an amazing hotel. The oldest hotel in New Orleans. Everything about this property exemplifies class. The employees are friendly and welcoming. They go out of their way to ensure that you have an amazing stay. The rooftop pool is awesome. The rooms are luxurious. The restaurants are wonderful. I can't say anything negative about this property. The prices are great. you get so much more for your money at a property of this level.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have stayed at the Roosevelt in it's former life as the Fairmont several times, the last being in December 2004. Going back, and expecting things to be different, I was surprised that some things were different, and many were not. Both these situations were pleasing. The incredible visual treat of the Roosevelt, walking into the lobby, it felt like I stepped back in time. I stayed there in late October and early November this year. I just missed the Christmas decorations, but even without them it is a beautiful place. The restaurants are still great, and the ability to sit comfortably in the lobby and wait for friends or read a book and get something from the very nice "to-go" coffee bar is a nice touch.

The staff is incredible. Everyone was very helpful, they went out of their way to do whatever they could whenever I asked. And I mean everyone, housekeeping, to valet, to wait staff, front desk, and on and on. The room was completely redone, and it was beautiful. Everything was very clean and worked well.

I understand there are a number of very nice hotels in NOLA, but when I return I will definitiely return to The Roosevelt.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

One of the most spectacular historic renovations I've ever seen - the hotel is as nice as any Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton with some truly nice touches. Hotel lobby has a number of historic placards and antiques. Restaurants have a great vibe. Christmas decorations are over the top.
If you're interested in an elegant five star hotel with a great historical feel, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nytraveler4biz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We have stayed at the Roosevelt twice in the past year, January 2011 and November 2011. Both times we were upgraded to a suite due to my Hilton status. The suites themselves are beyond comparison - huge, with large living rooms, extra bathroom, walk in closet, and pure luxury. Really quite nice and way beyond a typical room. The hotel is a classic, elegant hotel that is a throwback to a bygone era. Both of the times that we were there, the Christmas decorations were up and that adds to the enchantment. Surprisingly the staff are not of the stature of the hotel itself, other than the concierge. Other hotels of this time in New York and Europe generally have more mature staff that have been at the hotel for a while. The staff I have encountered are polite but generally young.
The gym is of decent quality - 4 elipticals, 2 treadmills and some bikes. They also have a leg press machine, an array of dumbells, and a cable machine. It won't provide a solid weight workout but the cardiovascular machines are top rate.
The biggest issue with this hotel is that everything about it is expensive, from the coffee bar to the Sazerac bar to the valet parking. If you are on a budget, park at the lot next door. Valet parking is $40 per night. Food and drink costs are more like a New York City grande hotel than a New Orleans one.
The hotel is located in a great place - we don't like to stay in the French Quarter but it is quite close to both the quarter and also the central business district. Stay here if you want an elegant experience, but be prepared to pay for it.

Room Tip: When they are not busy they appear willing to upgrade guests... worth a try to ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This hotel has been lovingly restored, with period furnishings. It is truly lovely. And the location was great - just on the other side of Canal St. from the French Quarter, so it was significantly quieter than those in the Quarter. Service, without exception, was excellent - friendly, , knowledgeable, helpful and polite. I was lucky enough to attend a conference at the Roosevelt. The conference price for delegates' rooms was a bargain, and they also only charged me the reduced rate for extra days that I stayed !! So I asked if an upgrade was available for my entire stay - for $22 per night, I was switched from a Deluxe room to a Superior room - which was twice the size with a living area and walk-in closet !!! Just beware that some of the bathrooms, although fully fitted out (even with a TV), are tiny.

Room Tip: Ask if an upgrade is available - they are very reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Roosevelt provides an old world, grand dame hotel experience, but for the price point could do more to satisfy the expectations of today's travelers. The room was immaculately clean, and lovely, but overwhelmed by the over-sized furnishings. Two of us could not move around the room; my medium-sized suitcase could not fit on the suitcase stand, and there was almost no room to set up the ironing board. At this price point, I would have expected a full bath, not just a shower. And today's traveler has come to expect to be able to make a quick cup of coffee in-room. (Room service at the Roosevelt is quite expensive, and besides, after a long night out who wants to be seen downstairs, much less have go out for a coffee?) In a city known for its hospitality, the draconian mini-bar policy is a bit much ($25 charge if you take anything out of the refrigerator in order to refrigerate anything of your own). The business center is meager, and why not offer free internet and printing to guests?

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishw0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,614 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,867 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
3,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,316 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#17 of 166 in New Orleans
2,609 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $196 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing