We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
istanbul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent value”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Very nice hotel, good location... Excellent value for we've paid. Very much enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    1,112
    295
    110
    55
See reviews for
576
1,348
89
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

After reading alot of reviews about this hotel, my friend and I, along with our children decided to try it out. Upon entering the parking lot, the parking attendant was nowhere to be found, so wanting to check in, I pulled into one of the empty spaces. I fully intended to be done with check-in quickly and come back to my car. As soon as I was exiting my car, the parking lot attendant started screaming at me that I couldn't park there. I explained that I was checking-in and would only be a few minutes and he backed down quickly. Attempting to check-in was another hassle as they could not find my reservation. The front desk clerk seemed to be new or not really sure of his job and it took about 1/2 hour of us going back and forth before he found my reservation. Finally, we get up to the room and there is one double bed for four people. I went back downstairs and he quickly changed my room to another one.

All-in-all, this hotel is in a great location. The rooms are small, but very clean. As other guests have mentioned, there was some noise that could be heard all night due to people coming and going from the garage. The pool and the pool area are small as well but looked like a nice place to hang out and have your free drink. Breakfast is enough to get you going to lunch. If you are looking for a hotel with alot of "bells and whistles", this is not the hotel for you. However, if you want to be in the Quarter, close to the action for a decent price, this hotel definitely fits the bill. I paid $95 and this included parking ($28 per night) and hotel taxes.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flygirla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2010

A friend of mine stayed here for what was supposed to be 4 nights but we ended up staying an extra night which the allowed at the same price we were paying. We arrived early after a 10hr drive and the staff was so kind to let us check in early!!! Everyone at the hotel was SO friendly, Jennifer and Lisa at May Bailey's made us feel like they knew us for years. On top of everything that was amazing at the hotel the beds were to die for!!! Very close to all the action without all the noise!!! We def will be back!! I booked this after countless hours on trip advisor reading through review after review and I was very happy with our choice!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustJen0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

My husband and I literally cannot get over how nice the staff is at the Dauphine Orleans. From the front desk to the bell boys to the engineer... EVERYONE made us feel like we were staying at the Four Seasons. When we met the hotel manager we realized it definitely comes from the top down, like it should. He was understanding and really wants to make the customer happy.
The room was nice (not like a Four Seasons) and very comfortable. The memory foam bed was incredibly easy to sleep on and the bathroom had very nice marble floors. (The bathroom could use a couple more shelves, but other than that was a very nice space.) You can't beat the location, either. Pretty much everything was in walking or short cab ride distance. Plus it was QUIET for those of you who want to have fun but then want the fun to end when you want to go to sleep.
Please note, there is no mini-bar or room service. This is not really an issue if you know ahead of time and stock up on snacks and water. There is a Walgreens a few blocks away that has everything for cheap.
Our only issue was with non-hotel guests and babies in diapers using the pool. The pool is nice and filled with salt water, but it isn't huge. So knowing that poopy diapers and locals are taking up space made it less fun. Oh, also the valets can talk a little loud in the carport and it echos to all of the rooms on the inner sides. Other than that, I couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay for the price! Did I mention how wonderful the staff is??

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plaidbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I had a wonderful time in New Orleans and I received great service at the Dauphine Orleans. The rooms were very clean, the staff was very professional and pleasant and most of all, the price was very reasonable. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to stay by the French Quarter. The great thing about the Dauphine Orleans is that it's a block away from all the commotion that is happening on Bourbon and you don't hear a thing once you are in your hotel room!! AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEZ630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Great location, great staff, clean, quite, good price, you get a free drink at the bar and a so so breakfast.
We would stay there again, loved the staff.

Bill and Judy Estay
Sharpsburg, GA

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

While the Dauphine Orleans is nothing to write home about, the staff was friendly, the beds were clean, towels and toiletries were replenished daily. Continential breakfast was enough to get one started in the mornings. Would suggest designing a working lounge/commom area for guests to gather in other than at the bar.....more lounge chairs at the pool.....otherwise, an OK stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saudidmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,095 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,358 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,023 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#50 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing