We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, awesome location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #41 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel, awesome location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

This hotel is a gem right in the heart of the French Quarter. The whole staff was friendly and very helpful. Nicholas was especially helpful. The rooms were great, with comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Our room was actually very quiet, even at night, despite being so close to Bourbon St. The included breakfast was quite convenient (the food is fine, but nothing special). The courtyard is beautiful with its pool and comfy lounge chairs. The best part is that this peaceful, well-appointed hotel is in fact located very close to all the excitement that the French Quarter has to offer. We were within walking distance of basically everything that we did on our trip. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a convenient location to experience what downtown New Orleans has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rach214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,402
    1,051
    277
    105
    55
See reviews for
537
1,280
82
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

This location of this hotel was perfect...it was a little off from Bourbon St, yet everything was within walking distance. I had a really really great time in New Orleans and I can't till we visit again.

Room: We stayed in one room with 4 girls. We shared two double beds and it was very comfortable. I really liked the pillows, but I tend to like pillows where my head sinks in. Bed was very comfortable and I had no trouble falling asleep. One annoyance is that the smoke detector had a blue light indicator. It was bothersome throughout my first night. We had a nice view of the pool area and the room was very quiet.

Service: I really enjoyed the breakfast. It was standard fruits, pastries, meat and eggs, but I was able to get my daily intake of fruits/vitamins. Otherwise, my other meals in New Orleans was far from "healthy". They had a internet in the lobby that all hotel guests can use.

Location: Amazing location! It was so convenient to Bourbon St, the farmer's markets, great eateries, etc. We pretty much walked everywhere!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

Really nice place. Great location; friendly helpful staff; large comfortable rooms. Was completely happy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

My wife and I chose to stay at the Dauphine Orleans partly because of its proximity to Bourbon Street and partly due to the good reviews we read; we were not disappointed.

The hotel is smallish (four floors in the main building and others in adjacent properties), with a small swimming pool we did not use because of the weather. The rooms in the main house were comfortable, with large beds and flat screen TV's. The housekeeping staff was very mindful of our rest, never bothering us until noon if we didn't venture out of the room, and the hotel bar, May Bailey's Place, was charming and intimate.

I honestly have no complaints about my stay here (no hidden fees during check-in, friendly staff, good accommodations), but on the contrary, I must say that the hotel was a perfect choice: close enough to walk to the heart of Bourbon Street, yet far enough from the noise to get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHMurillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor it was absolutely great! The location is perfect one block off Bourbon street and three blocks from Royal Street Shopping. The room was wonderful clean, great sheets, towels and pillows, tasteful colors, great little coffee maker in room, nice toiletries. Wonderful continental breakfast with fresh fruit and also had fresh waffles, cereal, muffins, bagels. We had a room with a balcony it was not noisy (we asked for balcony) Dauphin street is not that busy, but there is some minor street noise. Free wifi (the signal was a little weak so wouldn't plan on working too much!) . Staff was fantastic every single person at counter and valet attendant. Rooms were cleaned thoroughly daily. This was a fabulous boutique hotel and all of us felt we had a wonderful experience, great location, great condition and great service!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

We were so pleasantly surprised by this hotel, the staff is wonderful, the setting is so quiet and quaint, the beds are WONDERFUL! We really enjoyed the bar with freindly locals to talk to before we headed off to Bourbon Street which is just a short walk. LOVED IT and would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldsOfFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. Basically, you get what you pay for. It was very reasonably priced but there were no frills… Clean, close to Bourbon and quiet. Lots of great restaurants and bars within walking distance. Only complaint we had was that there was a chlorine smell in the hallway but at least not in the bedrooms. Even though there are no frills I’d stay here again, how much time do you really want to spend in a hotel when you’re in NOLA?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SR718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,884 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,207 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,068 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,830 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing