We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, wonderful room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #42 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great location, wonderful room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Dauphine Orleans for the first two nights of our honeymoon. We got the Rendezvous Package available on their website. We stayed in Room 111, right over the bar, otherwise known as a "bordello room". It was great! The room was big, with a separate living room area, a balcony (sadly, it only looked into an alley), a bathroom with a sink, toilet, and shower, and another bathroom with the makeup mirror and Jacuzzi tub. Room 111 also has a private entryway. We got no bar noise, the maids were great, everything in the room worked like it was supposed to, location was good. Continental breakfast was more than I expected. I cannot say it was an amazing value because of the package price, but we were willing to spend it it on our honeymoon. However, that might not be up the average traveler's alley. The bellboys were fast, I liked the take home library, front desk was helpful. I cannot rate it excellent only because I didn't feel the staff was ready to fall all over themselves helping me, and because it was expensive. I love the place, and will certainly stay there again. I read later in a book that I picked up at the French Market that room 111 was haunted, but we didn't see anything!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,443
    1,088
    287
    106
    55
See reviews for
562
1,318
85
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2004

I'd actually give Dauphine Orleans a 4.5. Not the Marriot, but neither are its' prices.

My husband and I stayed in the Dauphine Orleans in early October this year. Got a corner suite that was spacious, well stocked with everything we needed. Concierge was helpful and gracious with planning events, then cancelling them because of the rain from a tropical storm. :) Valets were courteous, and vigilant insuring our stay was safe - personally watched them dispel some shady-looking guys from a doorstop across the road. We didn't drive much, but were pleased with their choice of taxi for our return trip to the airport.

Breakfast was always enjoyable and waittresses very polite and helpful. Afternoon tea was a welcome respite from the constant drizzle. The tea room is beautifully painted in Audobon landscapes.

Bartender was amiable and helpful directing us to food stuffs and stayed open late tending to other customers the night my husband and I sat outside under an umbrella reminiscing and getting drunk.

Location is exceptional. 1 block and across the road from Bourbon Street so an easy walk no matter how intoxicated, but quiet because building across the street serve as buffers. About 5 blocks from Jackson Square, 3 blocks from Canal Street. Old bookstore across the street; convenient grocery store 1/2 block away, and wonderful, odd food available at the Louisiana Bistro 1/2 block away.

We'd definitely do it again!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2004

I stayed here for one night when my wife and I visited New Orleans. First, the location is great...a very short block from the action on Burbon Street. At the same time Dauphine street is calm.

The place is old, so don't expect the Ritz. But it's nic and it's clean, and there are luxury touches, like bath robes. The staff was kind enough to leave my wife and I a bottle of champagne for our anniversary.

Everyone there is very very pleasant and glad to help with anything you need. There may be fancier hotels in the French Quarter, and there may be cheaper hotels in the French Quarter. It would be hard to find a better value than this hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank ohiodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2004

We went to the Dauphine Orleans during October 2004. We had a "suite" and I was expecting something like what I saw on the website. Our "suite" was a box with a tiny window overlookinig some industrial part of NOLA. The carpet was frayed and ripped. The couches were horribly stained. The toilet hardly flushed. The sheets were scratchy. (I know I sounded like a snob on that last comment, but I was really looking forward to luxury with my boyfriend, and frankly, I was disappointed.) I got the sense that the larger suites around the courtyard were nicer (and more expensive), but there were no vacancies so I couldn't check it out. The plus side was that our room was large. The location was great. The staff was very nice. We met some wondereful locals at the bar on a few nights. Great people. We had a nice time in NOLA and I just put this initial disappointment behinid me, but if I were to do it again, I would not stay there. Plan your trip early so you have more choices!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2004

This Hotel is it in New Orleans. I work in the Hotel field and believe me - this place spares no expense and gives you your money's worth. Excellent staff and the location is steller. I go to New Orleans frequently and have stayed at 11 different French Quarter Hotels and this one leaves them all in the dirt.

  • Stayed November 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2004

I spent a week here in early October, joined by a good friend and my 3 year old daughter, and I have to say it was the best hotel I've ever stayed in. It's a beautiful old French Quarter building (the hotel website does NOT do it justice), and our balcony room overlooking Dauphine Street was fantastic - but what truly sets this hotel apart is the STAFF! Incredible! Everyone we encountered, from the front desk, to the breakfast room, to the maids and valets - they were all very, very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one.

Initially I feared that New Orleans would not be a good place for a toddler, but it was the Dauphine that made it into a GREAT place for a todder. Some of her favorite places we only found because of advice from Dauphine staff. One incident that really sticks in my mind - my daughter left her pacifier out by the pool, and later that day we actually had a valet spot us walking on Dauphine St and chase us down, just to give it back to her. Incredible!!

Thanks, Dauphine, for the beautiful hotel and impeccable service - we'll be back next year!

And to those of you who are lucky enough to be planning a stay in the French Quarter now, be sure to have a meal or two at the Quarter Scene, a fantastic neighborhood restaurant that's a short walk straight down Dauphine. We ate creole food all over town during our stay but no place topped the Jambalaya and Pecan Pie at the Quarter Scene!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2004

From the hotel website and after reading reviews I found on this site, I expected a much better class of hotel. It does have a great location. The courtyards were lovely. Other than the front desk, the staff was friendly and helpful. But the hotel was far from exceptional - and definitely not worth the money. Perhaps the rooms in other parts of the hotel were better but our room was completely without charm -just a standard inexpensive hotel room. Breakfast was adequate - nothing special. And tea was just that - tea & a very few store bought cookies.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,011 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,252 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,963 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#48 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing