We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great French Quarter Classic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #46 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2004

This Hotel is it in New Orleans. I work in the Hotel field and believe me - this place spares no expense and gives you your money's worth. Excellent staff and the location is steller. I go to New Orleans frequently and have stayed at 11 different French Quarter Hotels and this one leaves them all in the dirt.

  • Stayed: November 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,391 - 3,397 of 3,571 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Denver, Colorado
14
Reviewed November 9, 2004

I spent a week here in early October, joined by a good friend and my 3 year old daughter, and I have to say it was the best hotel I've ever stayed in. It's a beautiful old French Quarter building (the hotel website does NOT do it justice), and our balcony room overlooking Dauphine Street was fantastic - but what truly sets this hotel apart is the STAFF! Incredible! Everyone we encountered, from the front desk, to the breakfast room, to the maids and valets - they were all very, very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one.

Initially I feared that New Orleans would not be a good place for a toddler, but it was the Dauphine that made it into a GREAT place for a todder. Some of her favorite places we only found because of advice from Dauphine staff. One incident that really sticks in my mind - my daughter left her pacifier out by the pool, and later that day we actually had a valet spot us walking on Dauphine St and chase us down, just to give it back to her. Incredible!!

Thanks, Dauphine, for the beautiful hotel and impeccable service - we'll be back next year!

And to those of you who are lucky enough to be planning a stay in the French Quarter now, be sure to have a meal or two at the Quarter Scene, a fantastic neighborhood restaurant that's a short walk straight down Dauphine. We ate creole food all over town during our stay but no place topped the Jambalaya and Pecan Pie at the Quarter Scene!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fairfield, CA
22
Reviewed November 2, 2004

From the hotel website and after reading reviews I found on this site, I expected a much better class of hotel. It does have a great location. The courtyards were lovely. Other than the front desk, the staff was friendly and helpful. But the hotel was far from exceptional - and definitely not worth the money. Perhaps the rooms in other parts of the hotel were better but our room was completely without charm -just a standard inexpensive hotel room. Breakfast was adequate - nothing special. And tea was just that - tea & a very few store bought cookies.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2004

We stayed at the Dauphine Orleans from October 11-16 and couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more.
The staff and accomodations were first class all the way.

We highly recommend the courtyard rooms across the street. They cost a little more but the balconies and beautiful gardens will make you glad you spent the extra money. So pretty in fact that a few weddings were conducted in the coutyard on Friday of our stay.

May Baileys is a quaint little bar attached to the hotel and you get a free drink coupon when you check in, be sure not to miss it.

We highly recommend Petunias restaurant for a breakfast you won't soon forget. It's only a half block from the hotel on St.Louis Street.

You can spend a fortune at the well known restaurants on authentic cajun and creole cuisine, or you could take our advice and try the Gumbo Shop and have some of the best local dishes at a fraction of the prices the " names " charge you. Try the Shrimp Creole, and Gumbo. For dessert, the bread pudding with whiskey sauce will make you glad you were born !!

The Cafe DuMond, of course, is a must for the beignets and cafe au lait. Lines can be exceptionally long at peak times, try mid morning or early evening and you won't have a problem.

If you find Waylon Thibodeaux, one of the greatest Cajun-Zydeco fiddle players ever, down on Bourbon Street, you are in for a real treat. When you hear Waylon play, you'll know you are in New Orleans.

Last tip, Check out the French Market and attached flea market for souveigners before you buy them for 3X the price on Bourbon Street or Decatur Street. They are the same merchandise without the overhead of the high rent areas built in. We learned the hard way !!

Have a great time, I know you will love this town as much as we do.
I'd be glad to answer any questions you may have if I can as someone was kind enough to answer all of ours while we were planning our trip here, and helped us immensely.

Let the good times roll !!

9  Thank 3champ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tasmania, Australia
13
Reviewed October 6, 2004

What a great hotel, in a fantastic location. Our room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. It was hard to believe the very noisy Bourbon Street was only a block away. We loved the pool, the courtyard and just about everything else about this lovely hotel. We would recommend it to anyone wanting comfort, privacy and a home away from home in the wonderful French Quarter.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2004

My wife and stayed here for an extended weekend and really enjoyed the Dauphine. You can't beat the location at one block from the center of Bourbon Street. The valet staff were very friendly and offered shuttle service to anywhere in the Quarter and Warehouse district. The front desk staff were friendly and accomodating. The room was suprisingly large and well appointed with a great king bed. The service staff were respectful of those of us sleeping in and they left the room spotless. Only problem encountered was the leaking air conditioner duct in the bathroom. I've stayed at a lot of hotels in New Orleans and we highly recommend the Dauphine!!

2  Thank pazman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2004

Great place for a base for New Orleans sightseeing...room was very nice...always cleaned promptly......"enhanced" continental breakfast hit the spot....Sean(the night clerk) set up a great city tour for us ahead of time, so we could be off and touring as soon as we got in from the airport(Dixie City Tours...only six people and a small van so we got down some mighty narrow streets.) Bellhops were great at recommending restaurants....try Irene's for superb Italian. The Dauphine Orleans was more that we expected...the van service was a real boon since I don't walk distances well.....the pool was great to come back to and cool down after seeing the sights.

3  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 167 in New Orleans
2,346 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#61 of 167 in New Orleans
1,796 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#27 of 167 in New Orleans
2,415 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#51 of 167 in New Orleans
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $147 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing