We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for families with children or elderly persons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #42 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not for families with children or elderly persons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is more for people w/o kids or those who can walk long distances. The small pool allows smoking and is near the bar/restaurant (tiny). You have to walk quite a ways to everything family oriented or pay for a pedicab or taxi (expensive). You have to walk past pool/smoking area to get to breakfast in the morning. The breakfast is stocked and staffed. Your car is valet parked at around $35 a day on site for you. The staff were all very nice and accommodating. No laundry facilities.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the parking garage and a wall, pool, or a courtyard. I would inquire what you face b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationjunkieok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Dauphine Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi Vacationjunkieok,

We are sorry that you did not have a better experience with our location. While our hotel is generally non-smoking, we do allow for smoking by our pool, and we apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. We do hope you’ll give us the opportunity to serve you again on your next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    1,088
    287
    107
    55
See reviews for
563
1,319
85
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Dauphine Orleans Hotel. Although I probably would not stay at this property again primarily because there are so many charming hotels in New Orleans we did enjoy our recent stay. At first glance we were not thrilled with our room. The room was huge with a large refrigerator, wet bar, desk, sofa, king bed etc.however there was only one tiny window which made the room very dark. The hotel staff at this property were very friendly and kind and made you feel very appreciated. Special thanks to the ladies at breakfast who went out of their way to take care of my husband on our last day due a small hiccup at breakfast the day before. The complimentary breakfast is a real bonus. Yogurt, hot and cold cereal, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit (excellent strawberries), bagels, croissants, muffin, etc. plus hot and fresh scrambled eggs and sausage patties along with a variety of juices and coffee and tea. The pool is on the smaller side however we didn't have a problem finding a lounge chair on the one day that we used the pool. The hotel is in an excellent location just one block from Bourbon Street. Our room was nice and quiet after the noise and excitement of Bourbon Street. We didn't use our free cocktail at Mae Bailey's because unfortunately it didn't have alot of atmosphere and smelled quite musty. Replacing the carpet would be a big help!. Overall an excellent trip. New Orleans we will be back to enjoy your history, culture, food, music and party atmosphere!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triplets-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Tucked away on Toulouse Street, this hotel is still in the heart of the French Quarter but on a quiet street off Bourbon. My room was huge with two balconies, and the courtyard pool was a nice amenity for summer. Staff, from the parking attendant to the front desk clerks, were so nice and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin Z. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

On our first trip to New Orleans we were met with such hospitality and charm! The French Quarter was a delight. Our hotel room was HUGE by any standards, a large comfy king bed, sofa, desk, and refrigerator. It really had that "classic" feel with all modern amenities.
After recently staying in four different hotels having their continental breakfasts, the Dauphine certainly surpassed all the others. Served in a beautiful room past the pool area, all the usual items were present, but much tastier and better quality.
The desk clerks were very helpful in assisting us book our excursions and directing us in all the treats the city had to offer.
I look forward to staying here again should we visit again, which I hope will be soon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank preyes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

While the hotel was beautiful, rooms lovely and the staff extremely courteous, the guests were noisy and annoying when you are trying to sleep at 3 AM. If you are among the 20-30 age group and want to experience the boutique hotel experience, I would highly recommend it. If you are among the 45+ age group with young adults and children, I would recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Dauphine Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi Lesa P,

We are dismayed to hear about your bad experience with other guests staying on property. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Our front desk is ready and willing to assist if noise levels get out of control. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you on your next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed 5 nights in the Herman House portion of the Dauphine Hotel. We loved our room (239). It was quiet, spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. The Herman House is actually located across the street in a courtyard that has two levels of rooms, on two sides. It isn't actually a "house". Each room has a jacuzzi bath tub, which we used every night. Ours also had a shower. We also had a minibar and refrigerator in our room. At one end of the courtyard is an outdoor hot tub, available to the guests. We were going to use it one night, but the chemicals used in the tub were so strong that we didn't end up staying in. The breakfast served at the main building was really good and a nice extra to start the day. I would give this review 5 stars, but the rooms at the Herman House do vary. For the first night we stayed in a room on the lower level under a staircase that had no windows and was much smaller. We asked if we could change rooms after the first night. For the remainder of our stay we were given an much better, upstairs room (239)

Room Tip: Herman House-ask for an upstairs room in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stayed 4 days and 3 nights and were greeted with top notch hospitality, valet, concierge, and housekeeping. We were one block off Bourbon Street and nevwr would have known it. I highly recommend Dauphine Orleans.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mssbosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,014 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,258 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,966 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#48 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing