We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - Best Value in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #46 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Morgantown, PA
12
Reviewed June 3, 2004

This was our first stay at the Dauphine Orleans and it will definitely not be our last! This is the best value for your $ in New Orleans. Our hotel room was clean, and the bed was the most comfortable bed on which I've ever slept. The location was perfect - convenient to everything and QUIET.
The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. Ask Jeff at the bar for a Bloody Mary with extra spicy beans- he makes the best in the city! I highly recommend this hotel!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,422 - 3,428 of 3,575 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Phoenixville, PA
13
Reviewed May 16, 2004

Just came back from spending three nights (Fri, Sat, Sun) at the Dauphine Orleans.

Check-in late Friday afternoon and get a bad taste of the hotel right from the start. Given our room key which was for a courtyard/pool view room. We got the courtyard in the buiding across the street from the main building. Up a couple flights of stairs, get to the room and the room had not been made and actually still had personal belongings in it. So it's back down and across the street to get another room - no apologies, just another key. Get into our room and none of the lights work - turns out everything is unplugged including the air fresheneing system they advertise (need to save on those electric bills?).

Room is nice enough - exposed brick walls and vaulted ceilings with wood trusses add ambience far beyond any standard chain hotel. A bit on the small side but considering where you are and the age of the buildings - very passable. Jacuzzi tub with a dual shower head was great.

Ask to use the advertised shuttle service to take us out to Commander's Palace for lunch and we are met with a deaf ear - no explanation just that they will get us a taxi. (Did take advantage of the shuttle later that evening for a ride to dinner.)
Second day into our stay - need more toiletries. Ask to have additional toilet paper and bar of soap delivered - never receive it. Also, my electric shaver dies on me and I have no razor back-up. call the front desk to see if they have anything available and advise that there is a drug store 4 blocks away.

Stop in at Mae Bailey's for a drink Friday night. Great atmosphere - but air conditioning is broken. Catherine the bartender says it is being fixed the next day. Air-conditioning is broken all 3 nights.

On the up side - the Dauphine's location is terrific. The rooms were fine and had great character/ambience. Mae bailey's was great but a bit uncomfortable.

Having spent an average of $190 per night for our stay, I would say that I am less than enthusiastic about the Dauphine Orleans. It seems they are happy with their location but don't really put the service in making your stay enjoyable. Would only stay here again if tehy ironed out the service issues or the rates are dropped dramatically.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2004

This was our first stay at Dauphine Orleans. It was even better than pictured on their web site. We stayed in one of the Courtyard Rooms. The courtyard was heavenly with a fountain and lots of plants, as well as a hot tub and tables and chairs. The room was beautiful especially the bathroom with the jacuzzi tub. The service was great and the parking attendant was especially nice. The location, one block from Bourbon Street, was so convenient and surprisingly quiet. We loved it and highly recommend it. We were there between the French Quarter Festival and the Jazz Festival so the rates were very reasonable.

2  Thank swallFayetteville_AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, Ca
14
Reviewed April 8, 2004

I have had a bad experience @ "historic" hotels in New Orleans and was not expecting much. This place was such a relief. Extremely clean and could not ask for better service. I wish I had known about this site when booking in the past. Its worth it to do a little research. But you can't go wrong with this place!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2004

Great location, pretty room, and lots of nice amenities: complimentary breakfast, welcome cocktail, tea time. A maintenance problem was handled promptly.

2  Thank ILoveTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Albuquerque, NM
13
Reviewed March 30, 2004

I had a fantastic time at the Dauphine. We were able to get the king jacuzzi suite above May Bailey's. It was absolutely delightful, the bed was among the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The tub was large, and comfortably accomodated two people. I was most worried about that, and had to get many hotels to admit their jet tubs wouldn't fit two people. There is a small balcony that faces the main building, and was nice to catch some fresh air in the mornings. The front desk guy, Shawn, was superbly friendly, we had a good time joking around. May Bailey's is a wonderful, quaint place and the bartender made reservations for us at an incredible restaurant...Olivier's. I have to grin at folks who talk about how "dirty" and unseamly NO is. This is not some pristine corporate resort with cabana boys. But if you want a down-home good time, make the trip.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2004

We've stayed at the Dauphine Orlean several times and have always enjoyed it immensely. We especially like the annex across the street, more privacy, closer to the hot tub etc. Also, the Continental brakfast is outstanding and a great way to start the day.

2  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 167 in New Orleans
2,357 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#60 of 167 in New Orleans
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,719 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#51 of 167 in New Orleans
1,633 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#26 of 167 in New Orleans
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $146 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing