We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Dauphine Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #43 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Dauphine Orleans”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the Dauphine Orleans for 5 nights in early July. The staff were uniformly friendly and we were given a large deluxe kind room on the top floor (#409). Our room had a smaller window and no balcony, but we appreciated the large sitting area and very quiet nights sleep.
We enjoyed the small pool on several of the hot days and appreciated the welcome drink at the adjoining bar and the afternoon lemonade, iced tea and cookies.

The Dauphine is one block to Bourbon Street and within walking distance to everything in the French Quarter. We had very noisy neighbours in the adjoining room one morning, but the front desk effectively addressed the situation. The only improvement could be made to the bathroom - it could definitely need a refresher and a new toilet... we've seen nicer ones in gas stations.

Overall, a great stay!

Room Tip: Room 409 at the rear of the hotel is large in size and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justrrcgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,602
    1,178
    314
    123
    60
See reviews for
655
1,442
94
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The things we loved - We loved the location and the historic feel to the place. The bar was nice and staff were friendly. The room was good, and the bed really comfy. We were there for the JazzFest and it was great being in the centre of things and although our room on the front was a bit noisy it didn't stop us sleeping, and it enhanced the experience. The pool was a great asset. Breakfast was really good with more than enough food to keep you going all day. Having free bottled water in the room was appreciated. Reception staff were lovely and helpful.

The not so good - Some areas need upgrading. The carpets in the breakfast room were worn and looked a bit grubby (dirty), a breakfast area really needs a more suitable floor covering. The carpets in the bar were also worn and dirty, but in a bar that's not quite so bad. Did not like the fact that people were allowed to smoke around the pool area. The toiletries and coffee supplies in our room were not replaced when used, we had to ask for more. Even after we had mentioned this at reception they still were not replaced on subsequent days. We were there for 10 days and it annoys me that you do not get a reduction for longer stays after all they do not change sheets etc every day, or do thorough cleans as they need to do when new people come in every day. So not replenishing simple things like toiletries and coffees (and the small biscuits which we only got on the first night) is irritating. On the last two evenings of our stay the aircon panel in the ceiling leaked. The first time it happened it was an inconvenience, these things do happen, but we did not expect it to happen again on the next evening. Despite these things, which could easily be improved by the hotel, we would stay again as the good outweighed the bad.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are a bit noisier, but great if you have a balcony and can watch the world go by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseananne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Second time and just as wonderful as the first time. I travel to NOLA monthly for work and try a different hotel everytime. But I just might be making this a favorite more often than not. Everyone is professional and friendly... the breakfast ladies are a ray of sunshine (Gwendolyn and Caroline) as are every single staff member from valet to desk clerk to maid. Makes being away from home a little less bearable!

Room Tip: I've stayed here in the past and the rooms are very quiet especially in this locale where the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Hotel staff was excellent, the bellman,my room was nice,
when i checked in the front desk the Ladies was Professional & Ready
Great location to stay, Breakfast!! **Love Josh Friendly Personality**

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRENDA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We went on this trip to New Orleans with our to teenage boys. They stayed in a room on the third floor overlooking the street in the main hotel and we stayed in a first floor room facing the courtyard across the street. Both our rooms were perfect. I recommend the courtyard for adults as is quiet, romantic and the rooms are larger. Beds were very comfortable and rooms were quiet.

The front desk was very helpful and it was nice to have the option of valet parking. There were a couple of bachlor/bachlorette parties going on while we were there and I had to ask the front desk to have the pool area cleaned up - which they did very quickly.

The location is fantastic. You're a block from Bourban Street and steps from several great restaurants and sights. Considering the traffic gets pretty awful in the French Quarter, it was nice to be on the upper edge where it's easier to skirt around the traffic and get to other areas.

Room Tip: Get a room on the courtyard across the street from the lobby. Make sure they don't put you in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amyg225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Dauphine Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi Amy G,

We are glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us! You are correct, our courtyard rooms are typically quieter, and perfect for guests wanting to take a break from the hustle and bustle of the city! We hope to serve you again on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

we stayed at the Dauphine Orleans hotel in June, it was perfect for our three day stay. The staff were really helpful, the room was clean and had everything you would want. The pool was small but functional. It has a lovely bar but unfortunately due to a serious flood a few weeks earlier it did have a really musty smell, the staff did their best to cover it up with scented candles and I must admit after a few G&Ts it wasn't too bad!! The best thing about this hotel was the location, just one street back from Bourbon Street. I would have no problem recommending this hotel to my friends or family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffymarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

After a bit of a rocky start, we were a little unsure of what to expect. We checked in late on a Fri night (about 10:00 pm) and after getting our keys, we made our way up to our room and found that it had not yet been cleaned from the previous guests. Once we made the front desk staff aware, they were very surprised, and couldn't have been more apologetic. They upgraded us to a bigger room for the night (at no extra charge) until the situation could be resolved. The next day, they promptly had our other room ready for us, and we moved there. The location is perfect...one block from Bourbon St., and just a few blocks from Canal St. business district. We were able to walk everywhere. The rooms are really spacious, and the beds are very comfortable. We were on the 2nd floor, and our view was of a brick wall, so if you want a view, ask for a room above floor 2. The rooms that face the street can be a bit noisy...traffic, people talking on the street, etc.
They serve a continental breakfast daily, and it's always fresh and well-stocked. When items needed replacing, we didn't have to wait but just a few minutes. They also offer afternoon tea and cookies. When you check in, you get a free drink voucher from the hotel bar, May Baileys. After the issue with our room, the front desk staff generously gave us extra vouchers. I was expecting watered down drinks since they were free, but this was not the case. The bartenders are very generous when pouring...the drinks were excellent! The pool area is really nice but very small. Think they have only about 6 chairs there, and they were already taken when we went to breakfast every morning (about 9am), so if you want a chair, get there early!
I can't say enough about the staff. The entire hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful. They suggested spots to hit in the city, made reservations for us, and even helped reserve tours. Everyone from the front desk staff, houskeeping, valets, doormen, etc. were so friendly. Every evening when we got back to the hotel the valet staff would always "welcome us back home". We will definitly be checking into Dauphine Orleans again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Dauphine Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi James F,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are delighted to hear that your experience with us was great. We take customer service very seriously, and feedback is important to us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,365 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 164 in New Orleans
2,590 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#33 of 164 in New Orleans
2,275 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
4,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing