We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location/Friendly staff will keep me coming back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #34 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location/Friendly staff will keep me coming back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

After a bit of a rocky start, we were a little unsure of what to expect. We checked in late on a Fri night (about 10:00 pm) and after getting our keys, we made our way up to our room and found that it had not yet been cleaned from the previous guests. Once we made the front desk staff aware, they were very surprised, and couldn't have been more apologetic. They upgraded us to a bigger room for the night (at no extra charge) until the situation could be resolved. The next day, they promptly had our other room ready for us, and we moved there. The location is perfect...one block from Bourbon St., and just a few blocks from Canal St. business district. We were able to walk everywhere. The rooms are really spacious, and the beds are very comfortable. We were on the 2nd floor, and our view was of a brick wall, so if you want a view, ask for a room above floor 2. The rooms that face the street can be a bit noisy...traffic, people talking on the street, etc.
They serve a continental breakfast daily, and it's always fresh and well-stocked. When items needed replacing, we didn't have to wait but just a few minutes. They also offer afternoon tea and cookies. When you check in, you get a free drink voucher from the hotel bar, May Baileys. After the issue with our room, the front desk staff generously gave us extra vouchers. I was expecting watered down drinks since they were free, but this was not the case. The bartenders are very generous when pouring...the drinks were excellent! The pool area is really nice but very small. Think they have only about 6 chairs there, and they were already taken when we went to breakfast every morning (about 9am), so if you want a chair, get there early!
I can't say enough about the staff. The entire hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful. They suggested spots to hit in the city, made reservations for us, and even helped reserve tours. Everyone from the front desk staff, houskeeping, valets, doormen, etc. were so friendly. Every evening when we got back to the hotel the valet staff would always "welcome us back home". We will definitly be checking into Dauphine Orleans again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Dauphine Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi James F,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are delighted to hear that your experience with us was great. We take customer service very seriously, and feedback is important to us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,187
    922
    237
    87
    41
See reviews for
450
1,076
67
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucedale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have stayed in many hotels in New Orleans, and the Dauphine Orleans is our favorite so far. It is located in the heart of the French Quarter and has a unique New Orleans feel. Our room was clean, the amenities were outstanding, and the staff was exceptional from the bellman to the servers at breakfast. We will most definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahowardgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in the Herman house which was quiet and nicely appointed. We didnt know when booking however that the pool and main hotel area is across the street. Its not a big deal unless you want to go back and forth to the pool a lot which we did not care about.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snapnout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

1st time in NO and very glad we selected the Dauphine Orleans. Great location, decent complimentary continental breakfast, friendly and responsive staff. We were in the carriage house, so it was a bit rustic (musty) but the room was cozy with jacuzzi tub and walk in shower. Bellman/doorman (Mervin?) was very helpful and provided useful information with Southern hospitality. Would have been better if smoking were banned in the small, enclosed area around the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful and quiet hotel one block from the craziness of Bourbon Street. Large rooms...clean and comfortable. Loved the staff! Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Very convenient to everything in the French Quarter. We were able to walk everywhere we went. Will visit again!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel has character but it is old so it does have a musty smell. The staff is friendly and helpfully. Housekeeping was there daily. The breakfast in the morning was refreshing. Jade who works in the dining area was extremely friendly and helpful. The pool area was lovely. The atmosphere in May Baily's was relaxing. I will gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay a few days to get the entire feel that NOLA has to offer. It was my first time there. And I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaBusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spanky3940
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary and really loved this place. The service was outstanding and the employees were very helpful answering all of our questions about New Orleans and the surrounding areas. We got there a little later than expected but great at the front desk by a very nice young man. He explained to us that they had booked to many rooms like the one we requested but said he was giving us an up grade to a suite. I told him that was even better because it was our anniversary and that made us feel special. We then left to go out and eat after we delivered our luggage to the room and when we got back they had delivered us a comp bottle of champagne. We really loved this place and will go back for sure.
PS We did not eat at hotel so we did not rate room service or restaurant.

Room Tip: Try the suite in the Herman House, it is very comfortable and has all the luxuries of home. The AC w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spanky3940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,143 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,229 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,815 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#22 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing