We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #46 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is authenic French Quarters style hotel. It needs some TLC. We had spiders in our room. The restroom needed to be renovated. Lots of mirrors in the restroom. When we asked to check-out a day early -- they charged us $75.00. What we did like about it -- great breakfast and the bed was comfortable. Good location to Bourbon Street. If I every go back to New Orleans - I will spend the extra money and stay on Canal Street at a more expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house and save your money on upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,279 - 2,285 of 3,575 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

Friendly staff. Rooms are adequate. Location is convenient.Not luxurious but I wasn't expecting the Ritz. It's a perfectly acceptable place but I think their sister hotels are nicer for the same price.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fls1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Really great experience staying here. 30 seconds from Bourbon street. What I liked most about the room was the outdoor patio.

The only thing is that it's very loud outside and since the door to the patio isn't sound proof, you hear all the noises.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Beautiful property very conveniently located in the French Quarter. I am usually in New Orleans at least 3 weeks a year, this property has become my favorite
Great free breakfast and courtyard pool.
Daytime doorman is the best possible ambassador for the property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodservicepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

First off, like most Trip Advisor reviewers, I will start off with comments about other reviews. This hotel is in the French Quarter, so I was prepared for street noise and an older location. If you want a quiet, brand new room ...stay in one of the high rise hotels near Canal street. Yes...the TV kicked on both nights at midnight. I think they do that intentionally and I am just going to ask them to spare me the next time I'm there.

Great location and easy to get to off of I-10. I especially love not having to drive across Bourbon and other busier areas to get here. Very easy to park and get car out of Valet. We stayed in the Superior Carriage House King and boy did my wife love the charm. Room is interior on the grounds and the wooden staircase leading to the room only led to our room.
A little noise from a neighboring room's (behind us) TV late at night was annoying, but I brought ear plugs knowing I was staying in a building older than any relative I've ever known. Room had cold AC which is a must in New Orleans. Staff was great and friendly. the free drink at May Baileys was cool. Great fresh fruit for breakfast (breakfast was fruit, cereal, muffins and waffles...but who cares...go get a Beignet!)

Room Tip: I would book a room interior to hotel like the Superior Carriage House King to help alleviate street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fijidaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed here and I was very happy once again.
The hotel is very clean, lobby, hallways, room especially. The only thing wrong was the toilet wouldn't always flush the first time. Mervin the valet/bellmen was incredibly friendly and always in good spirits. Chris the bartender served us some great cocktails and popcorn in May Baileys. She makes a great Tropical Depression. The breakfast attendants were very nice and kept the dining room picked up at all times. Breakfast is more than just muffins and coffee. There were waffles, sausage, hard boiled eggs, cereal, fruit, yogurt...the list goes on. We stayed for 3 nights so some variety would have been nice but a huge breakfast that's included - I really can't complain!

Josh at the Front Desk checked us in and had some great suggestions for restaurants, bars, lounges, and places to hear jazz. He really makes you feel welcome - tell him you read about him on tripadvisor- he laughs every time. We asked one of the other front desk staff members for a restaurant and she handed us a business card with not so much as a smile. Can't win 'em all I guess!

The salt water pool was very refreshing as it was 90, sunny, and humid every day. There are towels in the pool area and lemon water, iced tea, and cookies around 2:30pm. Claim a spot early because there are only a couple of lounge chairs.

One block behind burbon, a handful of blocks to Jackson Square, 150 times better than staying on Canal St! Oh and complimentary water and coffee in the room! Enjoy the Dauphine Orleans and NOLA!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are louder from the street noise but so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 832erinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great place to stay that is close to everything, but just far enough away to avoid all the craziness & noise from Boubon Street. It is a historical & charming hotel that is a nice retreat after a hectic day of running around the french quarter :) We were within walking distance of everything from this location. Staff are super helpful whether it be calling a taxi, giving restaurant tips, or info on area attractions. This hotel is very clean & well maintained. Fresh iced tea, water w/lemon & ginger snap cookies are put out near the pool each afternoon and there is complimentary bottled water in your room. The relaxing pool area, wonderful breakfast, and May Baily's bar are nice additions that make this a fantastic place to stay. We will definitely return to the Dauphine Orleans on our next trip!

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor but not on street side. We heard there is more noise in rooms facing the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 167 in New Orleans
2,357 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#60 of 167 in New Orleans
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,719 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#51 of 167 in New Orleans
1,633 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#26 of 167 in New Orleans
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $146 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing