We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful stay in The Big Easy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #41 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Huatulco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Delightful stay in The Big Easy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had stayed in the Dauphine Orleans in 1983 & remembered it fondly so decided to give it a try again for our stay in April of 2014. We weren't disappointed. It is still a small hotel with charm & has a wonderful courteous & helpful staff. They gave us maps & directions, recommendations when we asked & even managed to get us an extra night's stay at a favourable rate during a major festival. We stayed in Herman House across the street from the main hotel this time & were pleased with our king room, loved that it has a vanity outside the main bathroom, ample closet & a spacious main guest room with a feature brick wall. Some outside noise can be heard due to the slatted window shades but it is just in the courtyard as people move around & is not street noise or that from Bourbon Street. Convenient location one block from Bourbon Street & with many attractions & restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Extravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,395
    1,051
    277
    105
    55
See reviews for
534
1,276
82
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

A very nice experience for my first time stay. The staff was wonderful...all very friendly and helpful. Having May Bailey's next door was fun. Has a nice standard breakfast buffet, and mattress made for a nice sleep. Loved the balcony and sitting out there to watch the world go by, but the street noise could get a little loud late at night. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: 2nd floor facing street can be a bit noisy late at night and early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Republic of South Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Dauphine is one block away from Bourbon St. at Conti, and it's a lovely hotel. The staff was very nice, and the beds were comfortable. There was a fine, standard breakfast buffet in the morning.

It was very quiet at night - too quiet for our lively group. After a night on the town, the group of 13 of us were hoping to wind down with a drink at the hotel bar. Alas, it closes early and so does the courtyard. So there really was no common area for the group of us to hang out and chat.

It would be a perfect place for those looking for peace and quiet after 10pm.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PHXtoCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

My wife and I loved the location, but it ends there. The rooms in the Hermann House side were very average and hotel like. We were supposed to get the "premium king room" but I saw nothing premium about it unless you count the ice machine by our door as a bonus (LOL). After witnessing a couple of good sized rats in the courtyard by the hot tub at night we decided to go in. I am sure they are not the only location that has that problem that close to bourbon street though to be fair. Decent continental breakfast, and nice staff.

Room Tip: Hermann House side is more romantic, main side is like a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

A block away from the chaos and madness of Bourbon Street the Dauphine Orleans offers peace and comfy beds too. It is spotlessly clean with pleasant and helpful front desk staff who are always ready with knowledgeable suggestions. Loved the "enhanced" continental breakfast of waffles, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, juices, etc. Only suggestion is to offer real maple syrup with the waffles. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler3835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was my first stay at the Dauphine and it was a very pleasant one. I arrived earlier than the rest of my party since I was transferring from another hotel (Jazzfest will do that to you) to do the check-in but didn't want to be checking on my friends every half hour, so I arranged at check-in to get them their room keys when they arrived. That worked flawlessly.

The room had a nice size, everything was clean, the beds were comfortable enough, the bathroom had a good size and there was not much noise coming from the hallways.

The location is a block away from Bourbon St. on a safe area, and very accessible to either Bourbon, Canal or Royal St. There were a couple of good restaurants around.

When I come to the French Quarter I usually stay on the other side of Bourbon St. but this was a very nice choice and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We just spent 5 nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was awesome and the rooms were really clean & well maintained. It is in a convenient location a block off of Bourbon Street, which was very convenient to a variety of great restaurants and entertainment venues. We travel very frequently and would recommend this facility highly.

Room Tip: The cottages are a nice option and worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,872 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,199 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,064 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing