We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location at the Dauphine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location at the Dauphine”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was our first stay at the Dauphine in the French Quarter. The location was excellent, close to everything in the Quarter, only a block off Bourbon. The room was nice, quiet and hot showers. The staff was always friendly and willing to help. Very clean and always felt safe. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    1,112
    295
    110
    55
See reviews for
576
1,348
89
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have been going to New Orleans since 1990 and have stayed at many hotels in the French Quarter. For the last 10 years we have stayed at the Dauphine Orleans and it is now the only hotel for us. The location is great, in the heart of the quarter but one block from the noise on Bourbon Street, at the Dauphine we have no problem sleeping whether early to bed or late to rise. The staff if friendly and we like the morning breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzHound2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here during the French Quarter Fest. While we were only about a block from Bourbon Street, the area was quiet. The fantastic Bayona Restaurant was diagonally across the street. Everything seemed clean, the breakfast offered fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, cereals, juices, sweet rolls, yogurt and make-your-own waffles. The staff kept everything running beautifully.
The down side was that our room opened to a courtyard, part of which was charming but part of which was open to the valet parking. There was a lot of noise until about 9 p.m. each night.
The price was good, $143 a night, until the Fest started and the price was over $300 a night.

Room Tip: Try to get one not facing the parking area. Also, some rooms are only accessible by stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Dauphine is the only place we stay in NOLA. Why? Safe, clean, no car needed, quiet (if you stay off the street), nearby excellent restaurants, May Bayle's Tavern, friendly, responsive and helpful staff, continental breakfast, in room safebox, NOLA ambiance! The Dauphine is that "little something extra" to return to after a day or night out and about! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose and Interior court room away from the pool. Street noise dies down after midnight, but picks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I booked this hotel as it had some of the better rates for Jazz Fest weekend. While I tend to like to stay out of the Quarter, this was surprisingly quiet. Interior courtyards were particularly nice, and rooms with balconies - even thought mine didn't face the street it is a nice and open touch. The fact that wi-fi was free, and breakfast was included was just great. The breakfast is extensive and in a big room on the property. Waffles, sausage, eggs, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurts, and loads of breads/pastries. The bed was really comfortable, and everything was very clean. Even has a small fitness room with a few machines, and a pool. I will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I chose the Dauphine because of it's location. I wanted to stay in the French Quarter so we could park the car once and walk or take the streetcar everywhere. It's a very basic, nice and clean boutique hotel. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The continental breakfast was more than adequate. I gave it an average rating because I thought $350 for 1 night was a bit much ( rate, taxes and parking) I know it was Jazz Festival and I paid for the location but I still thought that was expensive. Ate dinner at the Italian Barrel and GW Finns and brunch at the Court of Two Sisters. All were excellent. WWII museum was interesting. Cafe Du Monde was very disappointing...Beignets were tough and rubbery and coffee was terrible. Pat O'Brien's Hurricane is way over rated too....it's made from a drink mix.

Room Tip: While Dauphine St. is a quieter block, if you have a balcony room facing the street you can still he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWBrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Well, I would have had nice things to say about this hotel except that my wallet was stolen out of my suitcase in my room by the maid service. My friend warned me prior to staying here that a check had been stolen out of her suitcase while she stayed here and was used. It is very difficult to get in touch with a manager.

Room Tip: Take all your valuables with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, Manager at Dauphine Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

As per our conversation, it is with deep & sincere regret that your wallet was taken out of your luggage at some point between departing the hotel and baggage claim at the airport.
Here at the Dauphine Orleans Hotel, for your safety and convenience, we provide safes in ever room to ensure that all of your valuables are secure in addition to safety electronic key locks and safety latches.
I also apologize if contacting me was difficult. Upon receiving your voicemail, I immediately returned you call and I will call again to follow-up if perhaps your wallet was misplaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,095 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,358 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#50 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing