We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #44 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We wanted to stay in a hotel with character in New Orleans, and the Dauphine fit the bill. It is a lovely historic hotel, located a block off Bourbon Street in the French Quarter. Everything in the French Quarter is within easy walking distance. We stayed in a room with balconies overlooking the parking garage - did not hear a sound all night until garbage pickup at 6:30am. The room was not luxurious, but clean and the beds were comfortable. The small pool is clean and well maintained, and the courtyard lounge chairs look comfy - unfortunately the weather did not cooperate while we were in town! The breakfast has a good selection - options included boiled eggs, croissants, make your own waffles, and surprisingly good orange juice. The tea and cookies in the afternoon were also a nice touch. We were able to check in a little early, although not as early as we had hoped (and were originally told). We arrived around 9:15 and left our luggage with the bellhops. The front desk staff were able to assign us a room, and told us it would be ready in about 45 minutes, but it was still not ready when we returned at 10:30. We were finally able to check in when we returned around 11:45. Just a minor annoyance, but I would have preferred not to be told that our room would be ready in 45 minutes when it actually took 2 and a half hours (they had literally just finished cleaning it at 11:45). If you arrive early, I would recommend just leaving your luggage .and not bother checking back until either they call you or regular check in time arrives. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't rule out rooms overlooking the parking garage - surprisingly quiet and peaceful!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shopaholic018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,322)
There are newer reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,120 - 2,126 of 3,324 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. We loved the bar, May Bailys, a quiet oasis from the noise of Bourbon Street. The bartenders were all knowledgeable about the Quarter.
Our room was clean, the housekeeping staff were great.
When we go back the Daulphine will be our home base in New Orleans, no more searching, we found the perfect place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Dauphine is the perfect location for a short break in the French Quarter. Sitting just one street back from Bourbon St it's close enough that you can head for a night out with very little travel time and walk home safely after. But it's quite a large block so the hotel itself is quiet and peaceful. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble for them to help with. The wifi was reliable and the computer with free printing in the reception area made booking tours a breeze. When I return to New Orleans (and I will return) it will be straight back to the Dauphine

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed in room 103 and the walls were so dusty. Aldo door knob didn't work and had to use key to shut the door bedside it wouldn't latch. Extremely frustrating. Also vacuuming isn't a priority. They did offer a nice breakfast and great location.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I was so pleased with every aspect of my visit to Hotel Dauphine Orleans! Every member of the staff address you and made you feel welcome. I never wanted for anything. The location is central to everything. I will visit this place every time I spend personal time here, without fail.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank N2SPIKIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent facility and location in the French Quarter. Perfectly combined the charm of the quarter with modern conveniences. Our family totally enjoyed our visit. Big pluses were the breakfast, parking and service. The front desk was very responsive and made excellent suggestions of things to do to truly make our stay exceptional. It is our hotel of choice the next time we visit New Orleans!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you may want to request a courtyard room! The trash trucks hit the stree...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Dauphine Orleans is an exceptional hotel. Lower in price compared to other hotels in the French Quarter. The pool area may be small and the bar may smell a bit, but the hotel is incredible! A continental breakfast that isn't anything out of the ordinary but trust me, it beats paying a lot for breakfast at a cafe. AND you can still eat it in a beautiful setting. But most importantly the staff is incredible! The front desk staff was so friendly and incredibly accommodating. Josh would remember us every time we came downstairs and made suggestions of places to go. Other staff would consistently say hi and ask how our stay was so far. If you're visiting New Orleans I highly suggest the Dauphine Orleans.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaci K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,425 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 165 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 165 in New Orleans
5,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 165 in New Orleans
1,917 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 165 in New Orleans
528 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#33 of 165 in New Orleans
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $141 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing