We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location,Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location,Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed on the 2nd floor at the Hermann house rooms. Inside of room was very nice,outside needs a little work but was acceptable. Bar was nice but did not have much Character. Breakfast was average.Noice was not an issue when we where there. Room was very clean and staff was very helpful. Location was great,being 1 block off of Bourbon Street, but was not noicy.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGuthrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,573
    1,161
    307
    121
    58
See reviews for
627
1,428
92
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

First, the location is excellent - just two blocks from Bourbon Street in the French Quarter. The hotel itself is made up of many buildings; we stayed in the Hermann House across the street from the lobby. Originally we were given a room at the back of the building but it was plain, small, and lacked none of the charm that was shown in the photos on the website for this upgraded room. We were given the option to move to a larger room with exposed brick and wood beams located at the front of the building on the ground floor, facing the street. This was exactly the look of the room I anticipated based on the hotel's booking site. We were warned that it might be "a bit loud" with the street noise, but took our chances. It wasn't so much the street noise that bothered us throughout our stay but rather the constant slamming of the gate to get into the building from the street. The gate is connected to the outer wall of the room and it is LOUD. This could be easily rectified with a small sign asking guests not to slam the gate. Yes, there will be some street noise, but if you're a light sleeper the big problem is the garbage trucks. I'm back at home currently listening to one outside my bedroom window so it's a sound I'm used to. I can imagine it really bothering other people though.

At first glance the room is beautiful, but as you look a little longer you notice it's getting long in the tooth and is ready for a remodel. The bathtub - a deep soaking jacuzzi tub - looks like it was found after hurricane Katrina and installed from the street. The amount of scratches, dings, gouges, and stains should be embarrassing to the hotel. Yes they give you a soaking tub but it's kind of disgusting thinking about taking a bath in it, especially as housekeeping doesn't seem to fully wash out whatever detergent they use to clean it each day (I'm pretty sure it's a spray & go job). Our shower liner had black dots all over it that I'm pretty sure was mold.

Outside the bathroom is a sink area. This was fine, unless you happened to drop something on the floor and had to bend down to get it. This is when you'd find water damage to both the wood, carpet, and door ... not to mention something very sharp poking out of the vanity area where it meets the rug.

The bed and pillows were very comfortable, but the white linens looked like they could use a thorough bleaching or to be replaced. Our duvet cover had a few stains on it that looked like they came from shoes being on the bed. Not a huge deal, but it still takes away from the overall impression.

If this room had been $175/night, I might have taken this all in stride; however at $296 + tax I really think the hotel needs to up their game in the cleanliness department. Thee are cheaper hotels in the quarter where you can find historic rooms that are on par with what we got.

All in all, I don't think I'd stay here again myself, but I wouldn't discourage anyone else from staying her either.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becky-in-Oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Loved this place. Great location for walking around French Quarter. Staff were all really friendly and helpful to hold luggage and call cabs. Great time there!! We loved the room which had a really nice rustic feel to it. We had the brick walled room with wooden beams. We really like that there was a gate into the rooms that locked. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2014LANDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

What a great staycation! My husband & I stayed in carriage house room 104. Great king room with private stairs, and balcony. Staff was great. Complimentary breakfast and welcome drinks. Felt very French Quarter. WILL stay here again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank WarrenVaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Great res and check in. Room 3rd floor ok. Hotel good location. Walk anywhere. Noisy at night from lower courtyard and hallways. Woke up each night from noise. Breakfast very mediocre and gave up 3rd am. Bar smells do bad had to leave. But it was clean and tidy hotel with super staff

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank M31galaxyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, Manager at Dauphine Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to write a review on your recent experience during your stay at the Dauphine Orleans Hotel. We are pleased to know that you found our accommodations clean and tidy and that our staff was most friendly, professional and helpful. We realize just how fortunate we are to be located in the heart of the French Quarter just a block over from the world famous Bourbon St. along with all the other attractions that New Orleans has to offer. I am currently addressing the issues that you mentioned i.e., noise in the hallway after hours, along with the infrastructure opportunities that we face in the historic French Quarter and I am confident that upon your next visit, the areas of opportunity that you mention will be rectified. I look forward to speaking with you upon booking your next reservation in an effort to ensure that your needs are meet and addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

From check in to check out the staff at this hotel is amazing! They are soooo helpful and nice! The location couldn't be any better. It is literally one block over from Bourbon Street. Nice pool and really close to everything. Our room was also very clean and nice. Breakfast was great. The hotel bar is really fun and original. The hotel is also haunted and that makes for interesting conversations! I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrookeHerrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
498 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hotel was in reasonable walking distance of a conference - anything within the French Quarter is easily walkable from the hotel. Bourbon Street is a block over, yet this hotel was quiet. Even the hotel bar was nice and quiet with a friendly bartender - a nice break from some of the loud crowds in this town. Room linens are very nice - although this is an older building everything was in good shape. Breakfast was decent. Nice service from the staff. Airport shuttle is easy to arrange and was on time. Free wi-fi and bottled water were appreciated. Overall, would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,306 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,154 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
4,545 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#35 of 163 in New Orleans
2,262 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing