We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comme si comme sa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #42 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comme si comme sa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Great res and check in. Room 3rd floor ok. Hotel good location. Walk anywhere. Noisy at night from lower courtyard and hallways. Woke up each night from noise. Breakfast very mediocre and gave up 3rd am. Bar smells do bad had to leave. But it was clean and tidy hotel with super staff

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank M31galaxyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, Manager at Dauphine Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to write a review on your recent experience during your stay at the Dauphine Orleans Hotel. We are pleased to know that you found our accommodations clean and tidy and that our staff was most friendly, professional and helpful. We realize just how fortunate we are to be located in the heart of the French Quarter just a block over from the world famous Bourbon St. along with all the other attractions that New Orleans has to offer. I am currently addressing the issues that you mentioned i.e., noise in the hallway after hours, along with the infrastructure opportunities that we face in the historic French Quarter and I am confident that upon your next visit, the areas of opportunity that you mention will be rectified. I look forward to speaking with you upon booking your next reservation in an effort to ensure that your needs are meet and addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,443
    1,088
    287
    106
    55
See reviews for
562
1,318
85
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

From check in to check out the staff at this hotel is amazing! They are soooo helpful and nice! The location couldn't be any better. It is literally one block over from Bourbon Street. Nice pool and really close to everything. Our room was also very clean and nice. Breakfast was great. The hotel bar is really fun and original. The hotel is also haunted and that makes for interesting conversations! I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrookeHerrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
473 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hotel was in reasonable walking distance of a conference - anything within the French Quarter is easily walkable from the hotel. Bourbon Street is a block over, yet this hotel was quiet. Even the hotel bar was nice and quiet with a friendly bartender - a nice break from some of the loud crowds in this town. Room linens are very nice - although this is an older building everything was in good shape. Breakfast was decent. Nice service from the staff. Airport shuttle is easy to arrange and was on time. Free wi-fi and bottled water were appreciated. Overall, would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We drove into New Orleans and called the hotel directly. The phone was answered immediately by a courteous and helpful hotel desk clerk who gave us a great rate. When we arrived, hotel parking attendants were as attentive as the rest of the hotel staff. What a great introduction to New Orleans! We were given a great room in a cozy, quiet, location with a beautifully landscaped garden to walk through on the way to our room. Everything was immaculate and well-appointed.
Even the complimentary breakfast was above-and-beyond good!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_Writer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We loved our stay at the Dauphine and would recommend it to anyone. It is just 1 block off Bourbon Street yet really quiet....which is a plus at 3 or 4 in the morning! Pleasant staff and a great breakfast...although a bit 'samey' after 3 or 4 days. It might be a bit pricey perhaps, but not overpriced considering the location. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We decided to book the Herman House king and unfortunately got placed in what must be the noisiest room in the place.

The Herman House is just across the street from the main hotel, you enter through a gated walkway to a lovely little courtyard. They put us in the room closest to the gate right on Dauphine St. So we had the pleasure of hearing loud talkers, gate slammers and garbage trucks right outside our window at 6:00 am.

Could we have complained? Sure. But we didn't. We figured we could sleep when we get home. Room was clean and lovely with exposed brick walls. Comfy bed, nice pillows, tiny tiny bathroom and closet. Nice place but beware of room 136 in the Herman House if you are noise sensitive.

Complimentary water bottles, wifi and mini fridge were a nice plus. We'd definitely stay again, but would make sure we got a room away from the street.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KBspaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I came to New Orleans for a 3 night stay and we stayed & The Dauphine. From Check In to Checkout the staff was excellent. They took care of our Carriage Ride(was suppose to be Bookits part of the package). They answered any questions, gave us a excellent breakfast recommendation, & had a cab waiting for us the morning of our departure. The hotel was very clean and beds were comfy. The location was awesome!!! I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dbitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,013 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,252 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,963 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#48 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing